1) PR kids automatically get PR when their parents obtained PR, thus makingOriginally posted by qpicanto:in another word, PR kids -male are not granted auto citizenship unlike other countries, not even PR status.
trying to get it right -
1) first they will be offered PR status when they signed up for NS at 18, provided they give up their citizenship they inherited from their parents at birth.
2) with PR status they joined army.
3) completed army - option given for citizenship, if not taken up still keep PR status - still got reservist/ippt
4) if they did not sign up for army, dont have PR status, continue to assume parents citizenship. cannot remain in Singapore - to be confirmed
but for PR female kids they will inherit their parents citizenships if applicable, should be holding dependent pass, at working age - work pemit .
so conscription rule is applicable to PR kid with PR status ?
thks.Originally posted by will4:1) PR kids automatically get PR when their parents obtained PR, thus making
them second generation PR liable for NS.
2) Correct like the locals.
3) Correct n still got reservist.
4) PR forced to given back to govt as they refused to serve NS n will have to go back to their original countries.
But mindset different. I did not know being a prostitutes is a way of better life and opportunies now. Time is really different nowOriginally posted by Gazelle:the main reason for migranting to Singapore 100 years ago and today is still the same. ie. to look for better life and opportunities.
You mean you are a great grandson of a prostitute? may I know which history book teach give that Singapore is a prostitute town in the past?Originally posted by sunnytv:But mindset different. I did not know being a prostitutes is a way of better life and opportunies now. Time is really different now
Singapore had prostitution problems since the 19th century. It was no secret that it was an R&R stopover for GIs in the 1970s too.Originally posted by Gazelle:You mean you are a great grandson of a prostitute? may I know which history book teach give that Singapore is a prostitute town in the past?
Aiyo, u did not read my early post. Being a prostitute now is a willing party, PRC or other foreigners in geylang.They have a choice, right, if being force, they can report to police.Originally posted by Gazelle:You mean you are a great grandson of a prostitute? may I know which history book teach give you the impression that Singapore is a prostitute town in the past?
And why do you think immigrant wants to be singapore citizen? TV, clean water and electricity?Originally posted by sunnytv:Aiyo, u did not read my early post. Being a prostitute now is a willing party, PRC or other foreigners in geylang.They have a choice, right, if being force, they can report to police.
In the past, where got choice, they will be threaten or force by gang or whatever. No history said it a prostitute town, that mean no one want to go to another country to become prostitute to have better life or better opportunities.
Now, mindset, working environment etc not the same anymore. So do u see couple kissing in front of u in the past, do u see someone typing computer like u & me in the past, carry small handphone etc. I don't think so. Show me a photo of what I mentioned.
there is a difference between a country with prostituion and a country that force immigrant to be prostitute.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Singapore had prostitution problems since the 19th century. It was no secret that it was an R&R stopover for GIs in the 1970s too.
It's just plain stupidity to talk about history. Past and present is different cause in the past, the local welcome the foreigners as Singapore there are abundant jobs opportunities. Singapore is growing back then and they really need the foreigners which was our ancestors. At the end of the day, everyone was happy.Originally posted by Gazelle:Your grand or great grand parents used to be like them before, so I dont see why you should discount them.
Haha, I think the gov getting very desperate to meet their unrealistic goal. Should have taken my suggestion in the earlier post and just let anyone who want to become Singaporean submit the application thru internet lor.Originally posted by sunnytv:Yes, my friend had seen some of them become citizen and come back to shown off and tell my friend. Some are those lazy brats, even come back to tell friend in rude and loud manner because he scold them before for not coming to work and demand paid.
Some workers with permit will disappear without a trace.
I dont quite understand why your ancestor is fit to be a Singaporeans and not exisiting FT living in Singapore.Originally posted by royston_ang:It's just plain stupidity to talk about history. Past and present is different cause in the past, the local welcome the foreigners as Singapore there are abundant jobs opportunities. Singapore is growing back then and they really need the foreigners which was our ancestors. At the end of the day, everyone was happy.
But times has changed. Yes, we do need FT now but only in some jobs. We should welcome the foreign talent but we also need to be selective so that there's no conflicting interest. If there are enough local talents for some jobs, I don't see any needs to get more FT in to compete for the same pie. In doing so, only the employers will benefits as both the locals and foreigners have to lower their expectations to get that job. In the long run, the locals (common Singaporeans) will be the losers, having to lower their wages to match that of foreigners, yet living in the ever rising living standards with little or no saving to support them during retirement.
The FT can just pack and leave when they have earned enough, but the locals have to stay and depends on their CPF to last them till their grave (plus not expecting any help from the no welfare gov).
1. I didn't say Singapore is not growing. I mean Singapore is not growing as fast as in the pastOriginally posted by Gazelle:I dont quite understand why your ancestor is fit to be a Singaporeans and not exisiting FT living in Singapore.
Can you say for sure that your ancestor has never got the intention of going back when they first landed in Singapore?
What makes you think that Singapore is not growing anymore and we have enough skilled labour to fill the jobs?
Singapore is formed by the remnants of the PRCs(and the natives) who came to this country long time ago ... How can they be considered FT ?Originally posted by Gazelle:I dont quite understand why your ancestor is fit to be a Singaporeans and not exisiting FT living in Singapore.
Can you say for sure that your ancestor has never got the intention of going back when they first landed in Singapore?
What makes you think that Singapore is not growing anymore and we have enough skilled labour to fill the jobs?
You forgotten about the malays who have been living in Singapore when its call still called Temasek?Originally posted by Trump_Card:Singapore is formed by the remnants of the PRCs(and the natives) who came to this country long time ago ... How can they be considered FT ?
I believe the influx of these FTs is in excess alrdy ... To have many takers for a rice bowl is simply unnecessary ...
No ... The word singapore derives from the malay word " singa-pura" ... I onli mentioned that singapore was formed by some PRCs , the Indians and the native ... I did not deny the fact that the malays were the group that originally reside here ...Originally posted by Gazelle:You forgotten about the malays who have been living in Singapore when its call still called Temasek?
I think beside clean water n electricity, other thing have to put into consideration subsidized HDB flat, cheaper school fees for their childrenOriginally posted by Gazelle:And why do you think immigrant wants to be singapore citizen? TV, clean water and electricity?
U right in the sense it is only money, the strong $S which is attracting people from the neighbouring countries to be PR n later go back to their countries.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Let’s not kid ourselves, no matter how we look at it, the way we are going will ultimately end up with Singapore having more “PUSH” then “PULL” factors working for it.
The problem is this: we are a small nation that cannot offer many of the things other countries have, no matter how we try to reinvent ourselves we will never have the large sprawling landscapes or seasons like other countries, nor a unique, vibrant culture or all those other things that might attract people to a nation.
The only real thing we have going for us is MONEY, and that is the main reason why we attract people to come here. Our system has made the ground as welcoming as possible for people looking for an opportunity to make a sum to come in. This is our greatest PULL factor.
Unfortunately, money and economic opportunities itself will not make many people set down their roots in here. Once the money part is settled, people will look to other things like quality of life and the sort, and realize that they donÂ’t really like what they see here.
In a sense our current FT or PR policies are a short-term solution, we can attract people to stay for the time being but itÂ’s another thing to make them actually stay. Worse, our emphasis on pragmatism over identity and culture and made any emotional or sentimental link with the nation for our visitors very weak and it doesnÂ’t help that the kind of people we attract tend to be opportunists at the same time who tend to view moving to Singapore more of a business transition then actual nationhood.
The problem is this, we can blame the Singaporeans leave as much as we want for being tame cats or quitters, but as long as we don’t have a national identity beyond “anything goes to survive for the time being” you can only expect this trend to continue, or having a local population with little love for the land.
After all if you are duty bound to fight and die for your land, only to discover not only do you have this duty, you are given no real leg-up to make a proper living alongside imported talent, the people making the policies shouldnÂ’t be too surprised to have a population that eventually become disillusioned with the whole concept of nationhood or give it up entirely.
Singapore owes nobody a living, it is so often said… but nowadays people are starting to ask “Since when did WE own Singapore a living?”