Criticism or solution.....which one comes first?Originally posted by PRP:It seems very fun to debate,to criticise.For example,the topic about all out to defame the govt. It has more than 20 pages in a short period of time.
It seems there is no purpose,just talk and no action.Nothing constructive!
Which idea do majority fo the members support?What do u want to see to happen in this country?
Let us see more constructive idea & members pls show your support.Then perhaps the govt would act on it.
Originally posted by Jontst78:Hmm, what I would like to see, I guess you can call it a wish list of sorts
1. Veto powers reinstated to the President of Singapore.
2. Independent non-partisan Judicary Council(including president) to appoint judges.
3. Bring back the Jury system.
4. Abolishment of GRCs
5. Independent non-partisan Elections Committe
6. Article 5(2a) - to be enforced and not held in abyence(which it is at the moment) which makes all changes to presidential discretionary power only amendable by 2/3 majority of a national referrendum.
7. Minimum wage laws.
8. Abolishment of Films Act.
9. Abolishment of Newspaper and printing presses act.
10. Reinstate appeals to the Privy Council
11. Presential pardons for Francis Seow, Tang Liang Hong and all other politcal exiles.
12. Reinstate power of the courts to inquire into detentions under the ISA.
Why wrong topic leh? you asked "What do u want to see to happen in this country?" So the above is what I want to see happen.Originally posted by PRP:A very good political views but u posted the msg under the wrong topic.
"They come to my rallies, listen to my speech, have a good time. Then they go and vote PAP." - J.B.JayaretnamOriginally posted by ShutterBug:Curiously, how old are you guys in here who hates PAP?
Because over the weekend, I visited my old hometown at Tanglin Halt, and met an old Peranakan man of around 60+ who berated PAP non-stop...
It is nice to see you in positive mood again! Were you the one who said you were dying of cancer not so long ago?Originally posted by PRP:It seems very fun to debate,.........
Originally posted by Jontst78very positive contribution!
Hmm, what I would like to see, I guess you can call it a wish list of sorts
1. Veto powers reinstated to the President of Singapore.
2. Independent non-partisan Judicary Council(including president) to appoint judges.
3. Bring back the Jury system.
4. Abolishment of GRCs
5. Independent non-partisan Elections Committe
6. Article 5(2a) - to be enforced and not held in abyence(which it is at the moment) which makes all changes to presidential discretionary power only amendable by 2/3 majority of a national referrendum.
7. Minimum wage laws.
8. Abolishment of Films Act.
9. Abolishment of Newspaper and printing presses act.
10. Reinstate appeals to the Privy Council
11. Presential pardons for Francis Seow, Tang Liang Hong and all other politcal exiles.
12. Reinstate power of the courts to inquire into detentions under the ISA.
The topic is "Members.be positive!"That's what u should talk about.Originally posted by Jontst78:Why wrong topic leh? you asked "What do u want to see to happen in this country?" So the above is what I want to see happen.![]()
Yup Yup,Originally posted by PRP:The topic is "Members.be positive!"That's what u should talk about.
Originally posted by reyes:I think it's the 4 major races here, Chinese, Malay, Indians and Eurasians (or Europeans?)
[b]Take the GRC boundaries. I know this will be a non-stop debate if this is ever started, but this move is nice. Otherwise, Singapore would only be ruled by Chinese despite having other minority races here.
since when did singapore has 6 racial groups that these so call which form the 6 member GRC tag team? if it is really for minority representation, i am all in for it. but we all know, it is not.
whatever that we say here, whether you deem them constructive or not, will still be just talk. action can only come about if you stick your neck out and challenge the PAP at the polls.Originally posted by PRP:It seems very fun to debate,to criticise.For example,the topic about all out to defame the govt. It has more than 20 pages in a short period of time.
It seems there is no purpose,just talk and no action.Nothing constructive!
Which idea do majority fo the members support?What do u want to see to happen in this country?
Let us see more constructive idea & members pls show your support.Then perhaps the govt would act on it.
Originally posted by PRP:aiyo, why you so strict? Take it easy lah!!! Life here is getting tough you know with the silly gahmen making it so tough!! Now you wanna be so strict!! Hey, let your hair down!!
Many members are obsessed with S'pore politics.They don't know where to put their opinions under appropriate topic.[b]They simply can speak out of the topic!So i suggest this forum need not seperate into different topics[/b]
Originally posted by PRP:Set up your own forum then. Speaker's Corner must remain a base to launch constructive criticism.
When all become very critical when participating in this forum,we seem to think we are very smart.But there would be lack of warm feelings in this forum.
[b]So some agreements,achknowlegements,praise & constructive ideas would be good to all.[/b]
Thank you.It is rare to see the msg like yours in this forum.Originally posted by Arapahoe:i totally agreed with you that there are too much negativity in this forum. No constructive message or ideas.
some participation need counseling desperately. They write like they are ready to kill someone.
If u don't give constructive ideas,what are there to be heeded?Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:I would be more constructive. If I know my comments and suggestions are being heeded...