At least the world's worst regime could still boast of the Diamond Mountains...Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:More seriously he can post all the pictures of food and culture he wants, but seriously can he really post any picture in Singapore that can match the splendour of the Grand Canyon or the Angel Falls?
How come no Mee Siam Mai Hum???!!!Originally posted by Gazelle:
then being a man of your own words, you should try to get out. go go go!Originally posted by Kenashi:cos we got government who think they r incorruptable n apathetic singaporeans who think the world revolve only around themselves
need anymore reasons![]()
talk like a clone, act like a cloneOriginally posted by CannotTahan:then being a man of your own words, you should try to get out. go go go!
by saying singaporeans who dont think like you and and dont emigrate, "think the world revolve only around themselves" makes me wonder whether you can survive at all because your attitude is wrong and heavily biased. learn from fcmk. she is admirable.
civilization advances better with humility. even God condemns pride and proud people who say proud things. judge others and you will be judged, from the words of God.
hey, cannot tahan, I really cannot "tahan" your article above. If the figure of the citizens migrating keeps going up, it does not reflect well on the gahmen of Singapore. Besides, they will lose the chances of "earning" $$$ at these people's expense and losing talents as well. So it goes without saying why gahmen is so keen to encourage them to come back.Originally posted by CannotTahan:i dont understand a logic. While I am still a singaporean, what is so scary to know that there will be much fewer singapore citizens around 500K versus 6 mio of residents in the future? People emigrate out does not really matter. Why is PAP so keen to encourage people to stay? Simply open the doors for more immigrants. There is no need to even say anything about it, let alone "quitters" etc. I think "quitters" came out of GCT only and does not really represent the view of singapore government. rather, i think the government's efforts to attract back overseas singaporeans and ex-singaporeans is simply a generous attempt. singapore does not need them, really. they can go if they like. each individual has only one life. he decides what to do with it, how to better its meaning etc.
Another logic, i dont understand. A singaporean emigrates because of many reasons one of which is he does not like foreign talents taking up his jobs in singapore. But at the country he emigrates to, he is a foreign talent there in that country, he will also take up jobs there, naturally the locals there wont be happy with HIM especially during recession when life is tough for everyone including ang mos even with safety nets. when the pie gets smaller, they will ask, why should we subsidize our safety nets for the f..king chings ?
remember indonesia in 1998/1999. there was huge bullying/raping of chinese, both foreigners and locals, by malay majority mainly due to jealousy when times turned bad suddenly. this highlight the danger of being the minority race doing too well in a homogenous society.
i rather see my neighboring countries get developed, very rich, (including australia) and at the same time much fewer singaporean citizens ie 500K versus 6mio working populations in singapore and much harder to obtain singapore citizenship in the future![]()
am i an idiot?
cannot tahan, why do you bring religion into the discussion?Originally posted by CannotTahan:then being a man of your own words, you should try to get out. go go go!
by saying singaporeans who dont think like you and and dont emigrate, "think the world revolve only around themselves" makes me wonder whether you can survive at all because your attitude is wrong and heavily biased. learn from fymk. she is admirable.
civilization advances better with humility. even God condemns pride and proud people who say proud things. judge others and you will be judged, from the words of God.
dont reply to my msg if you want to be provocative. i will ignore it, it wont matter. i dont like to argue meaninglessly. i am here in this forums to exchange ideas not to get into unproductive arguments.
The world revolves around himself (himself)!!! If everyone is like him in Singapore, we will be trampled on by the gahmen. As it is, gahmen is "tian li"!!Originally posted by Kenashi:talk like a clone, act like a clone
is a clone
try to use yr own nick to say this, don't hide behind a mask
i know i can survive, i just wonder where u going to live other than here. just that u can't make it, doesn't meant that others r the same
god?? god my foot
siao kia, u think u r a preacher huh!!
go to yr god-damned god lah, today is sunday
who cares whether u reply or not!!
LEAVE IF U WANT!!![]()
How come you only counting income tax? What about the other stuff that Singaporeans have to pay for besides income tax as well?Originally posted by Gazelle:Australia
Population : 20m
Income Tax Revenue : S$158.6 billion / yr
Income Tax / Capital : S$ 7,928 / yr
Singapore
Population : 4.5m
Income Tax Revenue : S$13.5 billion
Income Tax / Capital : S$3,000 / yr
Difference
S$4,928 per year per capital or
S$216,832 over 44 years (21-65 retirement age)
Australia Annual Health Care Budget : S$850m per year or S$42.5 per capital
Australia Annual School Education Budget : S$11.6 billion per year or S$580 per capital
Free health care and education? Is it a myth or facts?
Probably Gazelle is exempted from paying tax, ha ha ha!!Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:How come you only counting income tax? What about the other stuff that Singaporeans have to pay for besides income tax as well?
Total Australian government revenue : S$289.9b (S$14,483/capita)Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:How come you only counting income tax? What about the other stuff that Singaporeans have to pay for besides income tax as well?
Can I ask u a question, tax is higher in Australia but how come many local still like to migrate to Australia?Originally posted by Gazelle:Total Australian government revenue : S$289.9b (S$14,483/capita)
Total Singapore government revenue : S$45.5b (S$10,111/capita)
I dont want to become second class citizen in Aus. Singapore is still the best place to liveOriginally posted by will4:Can I ask u a question, tax is higher in Australia but how come many local still like to migrate to Australia?
CannotTahan, whenever it has come to explaining and justifying its decisions and actions, such as NS, GST, ERP and government salaries to name a few, the government has always taken the stand that it bases decisions on necessity. That being the case, why would the Singaporean government try to attract overseas Singaporeans back if it was simply out of generousity instead of necessity? It's simply out of character for them.Originally posted by CannotTahan:i dont understand a logic. While I am still a singaporean, what is so scary to know that there will be much fewer singapore citizens around 500K versus 6 mio of residents in the future? People emigrate out does not really matter. Why is PAP so keen to encourage people to stay? Simply open the doors for more immigrants. There is no need to even say anything about it, let alone "quitters" etc. I think "quitters" came out of GCT only and does not really represent the view of singapore government. rather, i think the government's efforts to attract back overseas singaporeans and ex-singaporeans is simply a generous attempt. singapore does not need them, really. they can go if they like. each individual has only one life. he decides what to do with it, how to better its meaning etc.
I left Singapore in 1994, well before foreign talents became a debated issue. However, if I was to have left more recently, it would be the pull factor of Australia rather than the push factor from Singapore that would have driven my decision.Originally posted by CannotTahan:Another logic, i dont understand. A singaporean emigrates because of many reasons one of which is he does not like foreign talents taking up his jobs in singapore. But at the country he emigrates to, he is a foreign talent there in that country, he will also take up jobs there, naturally the locals there wont be happy with HIM especially during recession when life is tough for everyone including ang mos even with safety nets. when the pie gets smaller, they will ask, why should we subsidize our safety nets for the f..king chings ?
Laddie just want to make a point to you.Originally posted by CannotTahan:lets face it. if your attitude is good, you do well where-ever you are. when you emigrate and cut your roots here in singapore, you are taking the risk that singapore's job market might be too competitive for your children who are too used to an easier way of life and they need jobs which they cannot find at your new country.
I read in a paper Australian also worked more than ten hours a day.Originally posted by soul_rage:Laddie just want to make a point to you.
We only live our life once.
Who is the winner in the example below?
Assume both are grads
1) Earning pay that is low in terms of 1st world standards, and works literally > 10 hours a day, burning weekends and holidays
2) Earning pay that is higher than 1), and having a better life so that work-balance is REALLY true
Note that I used the word 'better', NOT 'easier'. Since we have not worked in Australia, I don't think its fair to label people over at Australia as having an easier life.
Well u can see the govt's effort to bring back locals from other countries by organizing in the big apple but did it succeed?Originally posted by rane:hey, cannot tahan, I really cannot "tahan" your article above. If the figure of the citizens migrating keeps going up, it does not reflect well on the gahmen of Singapore. Besides, they will lose the chances of "earning" $$$ at these people's expense and losing talents as well. So it goes without saying why gahmen is so keen to encourage them to come back.
Who cares if the citizenship in Singapore is not easy to get?? If those who have migrated are enjoying their life there and find that it is better to be there than Singapore , so why worry about obtaining Singapore citizenship in future!!! Mind you, those who have migrated are not coming back to Singapore for good.
It is because of people like you that the ruling party is getting more and more daring to do so much at our expense to please and satisfy themselves!!! Wake up!!!
http://www.abc.net.au/business/mnb/content/s1232103.htmOriginally posted by soul_rage:Laddie just want to make a point to you.
We only live our life once.
Who is the winner in the example below?
Assume both are grads
1) Earning pay that is low in terms of 1st world standards, and works literally > 10 hours a day, burning weekends and holidays
2) Earning pay that is higher than 1), and having a better life so that work-balance is REALLY true
Note that I used the word 'better', NOT 'easier'. Since we have not worked in Australia, I don't think its fair to label people over at Australia as having an easier life.