agreed. starhub has been the sole operator long enough.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:What opt out, must bring in new competitors!
Very apparent and obvious,Originally posted by hiphop2009:SINGAPORE : The Consumers Association of Singapore (CASE) said it had already raised the issue of StarHub Cable TV's price hike to the Competition Commission, and would leave it to them to investigate the matter.
CASE President Yeo Guat Kwang was speaking to reporters during the Committee Against GST Profiteering walkabout in Hougang on Sunday.
He said CASE was not against price increases, but companies must justify such increases.
Mr Yeo said: "Lately we see organisations like SCV making adjustments not in terms of percentage, but in terms of multiplying factor. This is something we are quite concerned about, because it is important for the service provider to come up with clear explanations.
"We are not against periodic adjustment per se. As businesses, we know and understand that when costs go up, businesses must make adjustments. The question is transparency, and how positive businesses are actually doing it in terms of giving consumers clear information.
"If the price adjustment is not in gradual terms or small percentages but in multiplying factor like two or three times, I think businesses should respect the choice of consumers."
He called for such businesses to give consumers a choice to opt out of contracts even if the businesses have done nothing illegal.
Mr Yeo said: "Although legally the companies and service providers have the right to do so, I hope they will consider the sentiments of consumers. They should give consumers the right to opt out." - CNA/de
source:
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/070618/5/singapore282847.html
HAHA.
think gahmen owns STarhub or has shares in STarhub, is this true? Initially, when STarhub was set up thought I read that gahmen is/was in it!!Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:What opt out, must bring in new competitors!
Starhub is owned by Temasek Holdings.Originally posted by rane:think gahmen owns STarhub or has shares in STarhub, is this true? Initially, when STarhub was set up thought I read that gahmen is/was in it!!
u all dunnoe meh? whahaha...Originally posted by maurizio13:Starhub is owned by Temasek Holdings.
http://www.temasekholdings.com.sg/our_investments/linked_companies.htm
He probably got a nasty phone call from LeeChing Ho, the PM's husband ordering him to cease and desist or lose his rice bowlOriginally posted by Fatum:Read: "We lan lan cannot do anything ... we've made the pre-requisite noises but in the end, GLC lehz ..... "
......................................................![]()
I know.Originally posted by hiphop2009:u all dunnoe meh? whahaha...
huh, Temasek HOldings, there I know gahmen is in it!!!! price increase for STarhub is no surprise, whatever the gahmen can control, what else has/have not increased?Originally posted by maurizio13:Starhub is owned by Temasek Holdings.
http://www.temasekholdings.com.sg/our_investments/linked_companies.htm
Brings back memories of watching "Legend of the Condor Heroes"(shen diao ying xiong zuan), the character zhou pak tong's kung fu, left hand beat right hand, right hand beat left hand.
Hehehe.....
Oil increase? I thought majority of our electricity is generated from Natural Gas? Was there an increase in Natural Gas too?Originally posted by red_amoeba:aiya act act only lah. what can Competition Counsil do? There isn't any competition per say - what is there to rule?
I don't believe that the Council will say, sorry no raise? And the bull about asking them to justify is also bull. Asking for figures is just like asking them to put up some numbers about cost increase - anyone can do that legitimately. say the oil price increase cause cost increase, blah blah.
at end of day, the gahmen needs to allow for more competition for cable TV. Let the market decide the price structure. If the market feels that the price hike by SCV is reasonable so be it - but when consumers are faced without alternatives, don't come and wayang about CASE and Competiton Council - we all know the decision already.
Remember before the merge between channel U and mediacorpse, old lee said Singapore is small we don't need two TV stations to compete each other. So I believe the same applies to cable service provider. mediacorp under gahmen, Starhub also under gahmen. so maybe one day Singtel, and M1 may also merge!!Originally posted by mistyblue:who dare to bring competition against first family's business?
Were they separate companies? I tot they were wayang only...Originally posted by rane:Remember before the merge between channel U and mediacorpse, old lee said Singapore is small we don't need two TV stations to compete each other. So I believe the same applies to cable service provider. mediacorp under gahmen, Starhub also under gahmen. so maybe one day Singtel, and M1 may also merge!!![]()
channel U was under SPH. Any way may not make any difference, afterall gahmen controls the press, media!! What the heck!!! Really have got enough of all these control. When will they let go!! Control, control, control . . . indicates the gahmen is control freak! Tyrants at work!!!Originally posted by mistyblue:Were they separate companies? I tot they were wayang only...![]()