somebody's trying to start a flame war... come now, lets put things back in their proper perspective. u don't make a point by disagreeing with everyone.Originally posted by tripwire:bionix???
sar21??
...... wat you blabbering about now??
wat non-millitary organization to help millitary orgainization??? wat you trying to say??? how is this statement linked to sar21 or sar32 and bionix or bibinix???
Waaahhh..... eh.... your english is really impecable leh!! i think your screw is loose.... muahahahaaaaaa.....
oh yea??? then how come you dont say it properly??Originally posted by duotiga83:tt is wat i wanna say
Projecting the image of a capable and aggressive army does make negotiations and relationships more favourable.Originally posted by asdfg2:so read the newspapers? the best way for Singapore to fall is go to war. Period. Does projecting an image of an aggressive army makes negotiations and relationships more favorable? U decide.
first... please write in a reasonably understandable comprehensible english.... its the key to put forward your position, ideas and thoughts.....Originally posted by duotiga83:Quote from tripwire:
quote :
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by asdfg2:
Now I am certain that tripwire is a stupid and childish adolescent passing off as a biotech and econs major. If every Singaporean was so devoid of brains like you, there would be nobody going to university.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
if everyone is as naive and as stupid as you... i will be your emperor!! hahahaaaaaa.........
BOW DOWN DOG.... muahahaa,,.......u think u are the most clever 1?
quote:
Originally posted by duotiga83:
oh well oh well.....i do read the post from head to tail of it.....and i juz wan to say that u put too much empahasis on military technologies and neglected the econs of the country. Regarding all those so call terror war, i have make my stand. U need a balance of it. STRONG N BRAVE. get it?
BURP!!!!
wat did your asshole just spewed out??
OH.... you read all the post from head to tail?? then how come your reply seems to make no sense one???
obviously...... then your english must be sibeh jialat ........
simply read and read again until you really understand......
[This message was edited by tripwire on 2002-09-19 22:26:30.]n again is ur brain is so clever that you know everithing on the tip of ur head?
quote:
Originally posted by duotiga83:
how do u explain the creation of bionix? sar21? and so on n so forth. u need non-military organizations to help military organizations 2.
bionix???
sar21??
...... wat you blabbering about now??
wat non-millitary organization to help millitary orgainization??? wat you trying to say??? how is this statement linked to sar21 or sar32 and bionix or bibinix???
Waaahhh..... eh.... your english is really impecable leh!! i think your screw is loose.... muahahahaaaaaa.....4 the 3rd time, are u the most clever 1s in the world? i thought u say this forums is to c the views of other ppl.
[/quote]
Fine with mi.....well i am nuts on econs, i admit it but pls i stress again.....dun let the current issue on terrorism issues cloud ur mind. To any1 else ..i give u a priveliged to flame mi all u wan( which includes u)....i juz want to b a fundamentalist not an idealist. dun b so proud when nxt time the stock market will come crashing down in the years to come.
Since u are clever...wat are ur proposal? n would u send ur comments to the press? or even to the government?
theory??? wat theory??? ai yo yo..... CX merely rephrase your position and then subsequently think that you are WRONG!!... and you support his 'theory'????Originally posted by duotiga83:ook. 1 question: you wan to start a flame war with mi?
yes i admit my english is bad....since u say until like tt i have nothing to say......i not piggyback some1 comments, i jus support his 'theory'.
i look down on your command of words??? or am i merely stating a fact?Originally posted by duotiga83:fine with mi since u look down on pple's commands of words.
Originally posted by asdfg2:"its not a zero sum game: we need a strong military to survive politically and economically. "
Strong or expeditory? Yes it does become a zero sum game when monies is used to purchase foreign equipment. Does it create local employment or does it develop any local-owned industries?
Thus it is NOT wrong to ask whether increased miltary hardware spending and not miltary spending itself. If miltary spending is part of a Keynesian effort to boost the economy and it works, then great.
I would not deign to say Sg makes efficient arms procurment. Prove it and not just iyho. Uncorrupt yes.
Also read the newspapers? the best way for Singapore to fall is go to war. Period. Does projecting an image of an aggressive army makes negotiations and relationships more favorable? U decide.
papers??? who said that.. a human right?? its not GOD right?? so.... read it with a ton of salt ......i wont deny nor accept such a possibility....Originally posted by asdfg2:"its not a zero sum game: we need a strong military to survive politically and economically. "
Strong or expeditory? Yes it does become a zero sum game when monies is used to purchase foreign equipment. Does it create local employment or does it develop any local-owned industries?strong and expeditory..... isnt the two the same?? being strong does give one the ability to be expeditory... likewise... how to be expeditory if one is not strong?
zero sum game..... between military spending and economic spending??? well... the resource are finite... no doubt about it... but it must be understood that a strong military does in forms or kinds helps to boost the local economy if not at the very least provide the local economy the security to conduct its day to day buissness.... the world that we live in are not merely measured in terms of economy, there are political factors to be considered and where politics is involved... military are usually part and parcel of it.
secondly... millitary spendings does result in employment of a large number of singaporeans in the form of soldiers, pilots, sailors and blah blah blah... these people will through the ripple effect pass down their salary to others when they purchase goods and services in the market.... and as such forms a critical source of customers for many industries and firms.... in short... the military is part of the local economy... if the govt remove the millitary portion in its fiscal policy and shuts down the army... many non military personnel together with military personnel would loose their jobs as well due to a sudden lost of demand for certain goods and service.. and the ripple effect could be so great that the economy could literary shrunk!!
you see.. the problem is that you make a mistake in looking at the govt expenditure based on a particular ministry.... the govt expenditure needs to be seen in its totality... because eventually... whether the govt spends the money through MOH, MOE, MINDEF or MOM or LTA or wat noughts.... these money would eventually filtered downward to the rest of the economy creating demand, jobs, opportunity and economic growth....
in times of financial crisis... the govt maintain spending on defense is effective a form of fiscal economic boost to the local economy by enabling the SAF to continue to purchase goods and services from local firms as usual, thus at least the people under SAF employement or any other govt dept employment would still have their salary and they will continue to demand their usual goods and services from the local economy, thus ensuring a certain level of local support for the local economy... this is something that we must understand. its a keynesian model...
now we come to purchasing of foreign equipment... this question should be resolved economically through efficiency rather than through nationalism... it is through trade that the economy of nations flourish as we exploit each other's comparative advantage... if the french can build warships cheaper and more efficient than our local shipyard... that we should buy french... this is the economic position (INTERNATIONAL ECONOMIST)... the alternative is to have everything build locally, design locally and have every screw and nuts produced locally even if its gonna cost us 10 times more... that my friend looks stupid, but its a belief that some economist insist is correct (the DEVELOPMENT ECONOMIST) especially the moronic professors from London school of economics.... which even LKY call their theory BULLSHIT.... i agreed with LKY.
Thus it is NOT wrong to ask whether increased miltary hardware spending and not miltary spending itself. If miltary spending is part of a Keynesian effort to boost the economy and it works, then great.since you understood that millitary spending as a whole actually is part of a fiscal measure to boost or at least sustain the local economy... i am glad...
but i need to stress... IF every nation only trade within their own borders... you and I in singapore would be eating grass and chewing concrete.... we need trade... trade to exploit each others strength and comparative advantage... by this... it would imply that where the local firms are less efficient... the jobs should be taken by a foreign yard...but understandably... under the same system... of comparative advantage... singapore will also build some of the same goods locallly.... and hopefully with the foreign purchase... will come transfer of technology and skills that will enable the singapore firm to move their CA upward.
I would not deign to say Sg makes efficient arms procurment. Prove it and not just iyho. Uncorrupt yes.how do you expect him to prove something like this?? bring you through an actual procurement exercise?? well.... i think the best you will get is a statement from some connected source as vindication of that.
Also read the newspapers? the best way for Singapore to fall is go to war. Period. Does projecting an image of an aggressive army makes negotiations and relationships more favorable? U decide.
and wat about the part where he thinks that you are wrong and you so conveniety longkang yourself into the sewer???Originally posted by duotiga83:5 words to describe u: U are way too much
to CX, thanks 4 rephrase my thoughts.
its times like these that i wished i had just kept quite and not posted anything...Originally posted by tripwire:and wat about the part where he thinks that you are wrong and you so conveniety longkang yourself into the sewer???![]()
Weapons have never been produced by Military organizations, unless they are of a erm, highly secret, all-powerful kind. Steyr who produces military rifles for armies all over, is NOT a military organization is it? Heckler and Koch is not owned by any military, nor Colt, nor Smith and wesson, no, not even lockheed martin is actually owned by the US Government.Originally posted by duotiga83:how do u explain the creation of bionix? sar21? and so on n so forth. u need non-military organizations to help military organizations 2.
i seem to have heard u quote tim huxley more than once... at least 3 times in fact...Originally posted by kY|e-_-o:well said...i agree with you shotgun..
as quoted in Tim Huxley's book... 'we are the Israel of Southeast Asia'.