I enjoyed Australia's life. All countries have their pro and cons...Originally posted by fymk:Alot of Singaporeans can't except for a number of us. How to support my ageing parents with their health problems on top of paying for some govt subsidised hdb flat which costs as much as (if not more) a CBD apartment in Melbourne. So shut up.
Yes all countries have pros and cons ....Singapore to me , have more cons than pros right now.Originally posted by ispyyy:I enjoyed Australia's life. All countries have their pro and cons...
Anyway, I am an ordinary Singaporean. My dad suffered from Heart Attack and Stroke before. And I do not really need to pay much for his hosipitalising bill because most of the bills have been subsidized by the government...
oh... 43 dollars??? so cheap?? How come ???Originally posted by fymk:I don't need to pay anything at all in Australia except 43 dollars for my meds after I spend close to a week in the hospital.
And did you take a good look at your medisave? Money has been known to look like govt subsidy when your medisave is actually deducted.
Medisave exists if you have CPF. If you signed the admission form allowing them to take out from your account for your father , then it is taken out from your account.Originally posted by ispyyy:oh... 43 dollars??? so cheap?? How come ???
I never consider medisave to exist. It has been 5yrs since my father been hosipitalised. I only remember it is affordable. But however, after my father's heart attack, he need to take periodic medication and periodic medical checkup. And those medication and checkup is been subsidized by the government up to 80% (depends on what medicine).
They are not corrupted and you have no proof that they are dishonorable. Be very careful with language *coughCSJcough*. What they do is very legal and that is a factOriginally posted by Sardaukar:Seriously,next time you vote,if you can,do NOT vote for PAP.Time those corrupt men in parliament learnt that they serve the people,not themselves.
Arrogant,corrupt,dishonourable people running policies that have no inclusiveness or compassion for the common man on the street.They get paid so much more than any ministers yet you choose to raise your pay to levels unheard of in the world.They do not know when to keep their mouth shut and 'angkat bola' for countries when there is no need to 'angkat bola'.No pride in ourselves.
oic... quite a nice system in AustraliaOriginally posted by fymk:Medisave exists if you have CPF. If you signed the admission form allowing them to take out from your account for your father , then it is taken out from your account.
Well Australia does have high income taxes but that is to cover medicare and social security benefits for residents.
So basically , medicare card allows me free pass at the public hospitals. Just need to pay for the meds only and I pay Pharmaceutical Benefits Schedule price because my meds are listed on the PBS.
Medicare also subsidises up to 31 dollars for doctor's consultation (short) and if they have medicare bulk billing, they just zip your card and you go off with nothing to pay except for the meds.
It is ok considering I do paid high income taxes as many would point out. Can't complain really.Originally posted by ispyyy:oic... quite a nice system in Australia
Anyway, when I mean I dont consider medisave to exist, means that I dont really care abt that account...
i.e. you are a coward, and so the local strongman has simply bullied you into supporting him.Originally posted by F.raon.I.R:y all vote for PAP.Simple reason-No credible and strong opposition.
Like I said, all these will only be relavant if everybody gets a vote.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Each time those 66.6% kind of locals vote them in, we all suffer more over the next 5 years...!!!
Nah beh lah.. when are you all going to learn? Stop voting out of fear and your Comfort Zones....
This kind of draconian governance must come to an END.. and it will, just either sooner or later that's all...
the more you continue to vote them in, the later they will end...
I remember during the last election,Originally posted by Gallardofever:Like I said, all these will only be relavant if everybody gets a vote.
Demorcracy here??? hahah missqi is gotta be jokingOriginally posted by Spartans:There is almost none (democracy) in Singapore. All the elections are just shows for the International committee to see only.
Originally posted by fymk:Well I think Sillyporeans have very short term memories and that's why I think they come back to power time and again....sometimes, I learnt that the best way to vote is to vote with our feet....
[b]They are not corrupted and you have no proof that they are dishonorable. Be very careful with language *coughCSJcough*. What they do is very legal and that is a fact [/b]
Of course it won't be too late to fix anything once its broken...but do we want to be around to do the fixing??? Not many of us, and therefore I urge those who can, emigrate for your's and your family's sakeOriginally posted by Panache1976:Conventional wisdom tells us that "If it ain't broke, don't fix it!"
It is for every individual to decide whether our system is broken. Apparently, the majority thinks that what we have is kinda warped, but not broken yet, hence the status quo.
Will it be too late to fix when it finally breaks? Only time will tell.
I corrected that part. I would say Dr Chee is a Braveheart. I apologize for it. =)Originally posted by LazerLordz:Dr Chee is not an idiot for taking people on.![]()
SIA is built up from scratch by MP LEE (My assumption, Correct me if I am wrong).Originally posted by fymk:This is an example of what Australians can do without fear of reprisals in protest to outsourcing Qantas jobs.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cp8zPjb1iAU&mode=related&search=
Now imagine if you do it to SIA in Singapore.
Originally posted by Jontst78:Hmmm, my take on this...if the system doesn't change for the better, we move to a better system, need not be perfect...but we choose a system that suits us....not us changing to suit the system...best solution, emigrate I always say
[b]Why do Singaporeans continue to vote for PAP?
"My take? I think this is where they trip. They are not willing to risk the economic future for the checks and balances in government. At the moment, they don't see the perceived "required calibre" within the opposition at the moment, so "hmm ok I'll vote PAP for now till WP/SDA get better people" becomes a common self justification line they use, and then end up voting for the incumbents or PAP. But its not impossible to find capable people isn't it? For instance, even in a coup de'tat like in thailand very recently, they still found people to run the country. But thats far from what we should be doing tho, just saying that its not impossible to find capable people outside the ruling party.
So how will Singapore get a credible opposition in Parliament?
Firstly, a credible opposition doesn't equate to overthrowing the government, or even a revolution. A credible opposition does not mean destabilizing the Government, which what some people fear. Overthrowing the government is not the objective here. Placing a credible opposition in parliament has to start gradually, by taking small steps.... "
Full article here[/b]
I admire his courage but he behaved like an idiot - there are several ways to get things done if we look at LTK.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Dr Chee is not an idiot for taking people on.![]()
my relatives spend max $70 per month if its a chronic illness...as for me, so far so good, but still need to have medical insurance just in case....life is good here...in Sillypore...if you are poor, they rather you die fasterOriginally posted by ispyyy:oh... 43 dollars??? so cheap?? How come ???
I never consider medisave to exist. It has been 5yrs since my father been hosipitalised. I only remember it is affordable. But however, after my father's heart attack, he need to take periodic medication and periodic medical checkup. And those medication and checkup is been subsidized by the government up to 80% (depends on what medicine).