Not exactly. SIA and MAS were born from the ashes of Malayan Airways (subsequently renamed Malaysia-Singapore Airlines).Originally posted by Ionlytalknoaction:SIA is built up from scratch by MP LEE (My assumption, Correct me if I am wrong).
actually, i do not consider it ok to pay high income tax.. especially when the government takes close to 50%...Originally posted by fymk:It is ok considering I do paid high income taxes as many would point out. Can't complain really.
The only disadvantage is that they cannot afford to change technology as fast as Singapore because Singapore is a user pay system and more money can go into constant upgrading. Australian tech is up to date in the public systems but not exactly latest unless you want to be a private patient . Can't complain much.
Actually, at this point in time, I am not sure whether the people know how to think for themselves at this point, beyond money.Originally posted by fymk:I admire his courage but he behaved like an idiot - there are several ways to get things done if we look at LTK.
As much I don't like the policies of the current government , I don't think I would want to see CSJ in power . This comes from what he did - he spoke very poorly of Singapore overseas in foreign universities (one of which was mine) to foreigners and overseas students. When I heard him , I lost total respect for him as a credible opposition member.
Singapore - I myself know is deficient in a way but telling foreigners to step in and aid ? F**k that. He would have been better placed to at least tell Singaporeans to start thinking for themselves or at the very least put as positive spin on the negatives infront of the foreigners . His whole presentation was reflected that not of a thinker but a whinger.
I watched Francis Seow once on TV and his presentation was to the point. It was directed strategically and very respectable in the way he put forth his arguments. Not bloody CSJ.
Those who really pose a threat , well one phrase : operation spectrum.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Dr Chee is not an idiot for taking people on.![]()
Well, he's actually another Singaporean in Oz.Originally posted by fymk:So shut up if you can easily pick up the pieces and run back to Australia. And btw don't tell me that you gave up citizenship because Australian citizenship can be easily re-acquired back.
Close to 50% .......where did you hear that Australia takes close to 50%? Work here before or is your income above 90k?? If not , I suggest you look at ATO's website.Originally posted by breytonhartge:actually, i do not consider it ok to pay high income tax.. especially when the government takes close to 50%...
Not a permanent resident I gather from the way he spoke about taxes. Either that or he earns more than 90k . But with smart salary packaging and a good tax accountant - he can get off .Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Well, he's actually another Singaporean in Oz.
Dr Chee is being crushed by MP LEE that he is being forced to make a retreat and gather allies beyond SG borders.Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:Originally posted by fymk:
I admire his courage but he behaved like an idiot - there are several ways to get things done if we look at LTK.
As much I don't like the policies of the current government , I don't think I would want to see CSJ in power . This comes from what he did - he spoke very poorly of Singapore overseas in foreign universities (one of which was mine) to foreigners and overseas students. When I heard him , I lost total respect for him as a credible opposition member.
Singapore - I myself know is deficient in a way but telling foreigners to step in and aid ? F**k that. He would have been better placed to at least tell Singaporeans to start thinking for themselves or at the very least put as positive spin on the negatives infront of the foreigners . His whole presentation was reflected that not of a thinker but a whinger.
I watched Francis Seow once on TV and his presentation was to the point. It was directed strategically and very respectable in the way he put forth his arguments. Not bloody CSJ.
Originally posted by Ionlytalknoaction:Francis Seow does a better job than CSJ.
Dr Chee is being crushed by MP LEE that he is being forced to make a retreat and gather allies beyond SG borders.
I do not agree with his method of speaking poorly of sg. However, majority of people voted for PAP( that means majority of them support PAP).
In order to get the majority to change, first Dr Chee needs to get the world to change singapore.
Singapore is a small and yet striving to be globalised island.
If all of the world (foreign people as such) will come together and change.
Then Singapore be the only country left in the world to be different.
Globalisation of the country means we need to keep up with what other people in other countries are doing in order to stay competitive.
That Includes [b]democracy.
(correct me if I am wrong)
[/b][/b]
Absolutely agreed. =)Originally posted by fymk:Francis Seow does a better job than CSJ.
Originally posted by fymk:I know all of this.. but I am not a nurse...
Close to 50% .......where did you hear that Australia takes close to 50%? Work here before or[b] is your income above 90k?? If not , I suggest you look at ATO's website.
It is not 50%, base income tax is 27% on the first tier if you have resident status which I do with first 6k being absolutely tax free. And I got salary packaging courtesy of the employer which reduces my taxes .
If you are not of permanent residency status, good luck - they take alot off you - you the foreigner will subsidise the resident - that's how I see it. I kena full wipe out at 48% for work in Australia when I was an international student. Very big difference.
And if you consider - nurses here are paid at least 42k at the starting point and Singaporean nurses earn half at the same starting point. Now if we equalise the working times - Singaporean nurses work 6 day week while the aussies work 5 day weeks. That makes it less. Plus the aussies get 1.5 * the salary rate on weekdays and 3* the salary rates on christmas and new year's as well as 2* on public holidays. It is easy to make 45K itself - I made 58k before in one year just working part time 3 night shifts per week. And full timers get the perks of an additional day off for every month.
Oh ya Overtime is paid at 2 times the rate. So I was famous for overclocking on shifts - by taking another shift on top of mine if they are short on staff.
Now let's take 42K as base - take 27% off - you get 30.6k then you claim for work expenses ( your stethoscopes, torchlight , even stationary and mobile if you are on call type) registration, and laundry ( 500 dollars per year approx - I know that because I worked as a nurse before) - may be you come back with 31k after tax is refunded.
Now Singaporeans nurses - 1.7k per month now right? That makes 20,400 dollars per year. Non taxable except for the 400 dollars. Cannot claim laundry and have to work one extra day. So let's look what happens if they work a 5 day week and equalise the income to a 5 day week - taking this crude formula
1.7K / 28 days (4 weeks ) * 20 ( being the 5 day work week for the month) = around 1.214.
Now do it for the whole year - in effect if you work as a new nurse and only work 5 days in Singapore - you get paid roughly less than half of what Australia pays and you cannot claim much in Singaporean.
So look at this perspective . 6 weeks of paid rec leave if you are a full time nurse in some hospitals ( I worked in one which gave 6 weeks) while in Singapore 3 weeks. Then lets talk health expenses - free in Australia - pay in Singapore.
Still a new nurse will make more in Australia and survive despite the high tax rate. Alot of young ones like to overclock on shifts to work for a deposit on a house.
Of course if you want really fast money as a nurse, abu dhabi in UAE is the place to go - tax free USD 56-70k per year, paid accomodation and free travel back home every year. That one Australia no fight.
If you are a permanent resident and earning more than 90k , opt for salary packaging and get a good tax accountant. Alot of things can be offset through tax.Originally posted by breytonhartge:I know all of this.. but I am not a nurse...![]()
Some facts on SDPOriginally posted by LazerLordz:Dr Chee is not an idiot for taking people on.![]()
Originally posted by ispyyy:And it is only PART OF THE REASONS
[b]Some facts on SDP
1) Registered on 8 September 1980 by Chiam See Tong and Fok Tai Loy, it was once the strongest opposition party in post-independent Singapore
2) GE 1984 election, SDP won 1 seat. Chiam See Tong win Potong Pasir
3) GE 1991 election, SDP won 3 seats.
Chiam See Tong win Potong Pasir
Ling How Dong win Bukit Gombak
Cheo Chai Chen win Nee Soon Central
Dr Chee join SDP in 1992.
Disagreement between Chee and Chiam See Tong, the founder of SDP, led to a split of the party. A new party Singapore People's Party (SPP) was formed. Chiam later left SDP to join SPP. This cost the SDP party dearly, as it originally held 3 constituency seats during 1991-1997, but since 1997, it has not managed to win any seat.
The SDP, headed by Chee, was later sued by Chiam See Tong, for insinuating that Chiam was acting on behalf of the ruling party. SDP lost and was ordered, with others, to pay Chiam damages of $150,000.
The last 2 paragraph are from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chee_Soon_Juan
SDP Website
www.singaporedemocrat.org
After 1991 elections, many Singaporeans have very high hope on SDP. But after the disagreement and a change of leadership, popularity on SDP have been worsen election by election. For those who have studied on SDP(past and current), u will find that it is a pity for such a potential opposition party gone to waste.
This are part of the reasons why when I heard people praise Dr CSJ, my blood will boil... ><
Originally posted by ispyyy:Wait til you hear him overseas. You will spillover.
[b]Some facts on SDP
1) Registered on 8 September 1980 by Chiam See Tong and Fok Tai Loy, it was once the strongest opposition party in post-independent Singapore
Disagreement between Chee and Chiam See Tong, the founder of SDP, led to a split of the party. A new party Singapore People's Party (SPP) was formed. Chiam later left SDP to join SPP. This cost the SDP party dearly, as it originally held 3 constituency seats during 1991-1997, but since 1997, it has not managed to win any seat.
The SDP, headed by Chee, was later sued by Chiam See Tong, for insinuating that Chiam was acting on behalf of the ruling party. SDP lost and was ordered, with others, to pay Chiam damages of $150,000.
SDP Website
After 1991 elections, many Singaporeans have very high hope on SDP. But after the disagreement and a change of leadership, popularity on SDP have been worsen election by election. For those who have studied on SDP(past and current), u will find that it is a pity for such a potential opposition party gone to waste.
This are part of the reasons why when I heard people praise Dr CSJ, my blood will boil... ><
Originally posted by ispyyy:That was some good history.
[b]Some facts on SDP
SDP Website
Originally posted by ispyyy:this wouldn't happen to SDP if CSJ didn't join SDP.
[b]Some facts on SDP
SDP Website
Originally posted by ispyyy:What is the other part of the reason Dr Chee makes your blood boiled?
And it is only [b]PART OF THE REASONS[/b]

Ownage.Originally posted by ShutterBug:I like the question this thread asks...
now see below image..
mine area was also walkover. my family has not seen the voting booth for close to 20 yrs liao.Originally posted by Gallardofever:Before we go into whether to vote for them or not, can we have a show of hands of those who actually got to vote at all? Not me.
Originally posted by Elodan:mine area was also walkover. my family has not seen the voting booth for close to 20 yrs liao.![]()
everytime it's a walkover, walkover, walkover,... public holiday, public holiday.
I watch Francis Seow live during 1988 GE where he fought in Eunos, GRC, he was a great orator, better than LKY, the audience were full that night, but ST did not publish, that time dont have u tube, so nobody knew, newspapers all black out, no report, Francis Seow was voted in as NCMP, but too bad, the parliament underwent renovation in Dec. and soon Francis was charged with no paying income tax. He ran to US, LKW scare of only one person. ie Francis Seow.Originally posted by fymk:I admire his courage but he behaved like an idiot - there are several ways to get things done if we look at LTK.
you know why walk over, oppositions cant win in GRC, as long as GRC exists, the PAP will remain in power for another 100 years i believe, u cant win themOriginally posted by AndrewPKYap:![]()
Yes, very sad that our opposition parties "bu zheng qi"!Originally posted by Ionlytalknoaction:That was some good history.
A potentially good opposition gone to waste.
If only the opposition party had been together with 1 heart and 1 direction.
Then it will not turn out this way.
Maybe if they are still together, we might have a strong opposition party as we speak.
What might have been.................... So sad