r u trying to influence us to vote for opposition party irregardless on how they will perform and contribute to Singapore.Originally posted by Sardaukar:My god,are all our fellow countrymen so damn...better not say lah.
Seriously,next time you vote,if you can,do NOT vote for PAP.Time those corrupt men in parliament learnt that they serve the people,not themselves.
Arrogant,corrupt,dishonourable people running policies that have no inclusiveness or compassion for the common man on the street.They get paid so much more than any ministers yet you choose to raise your pay to levels unheard of in the world.They do not know when to keep their mouth shut and 'angkat bola' for countries when there is no need to 'angkat bola'.No pride in ourselves.
Seriously,that's one reason why I want to leave this country and serve another as a soldier or make my living elsewhere in the world.Am I a quitter?
I have served this country.I am disillusioned with it.I am disillusioned with the PAP and the society it has bred.I am tired of the many people here who measure success by the narrow measures of money,academic marks when there is so much more to life.
This country could be so much more,and for that,I am sad.
I truly love this place,it's my home.But I'm just tired of it.I left to live in Sydney when I was 17 to complete high school there.I returned to serve NS.That was 4 years ago.I turned 21 this year.
In those 4 years,I have grown and matured and learned a lot of painful lessons and gone through hardships,lost friends,made friends,disappointed my parents and fought to have some measure of success by the standards of my own family and by the standards of society and myself.I don't know if I have succeeded.
I have learned a lot,and I can say without hesitation that there is so much more to this world and so much more that my nation and its people could be.Make a change and for once,inject new blood into our politics.That is one way of making a change in our people.
Is there some online edition? The US edition has nothing on this (which isn't surprising)Originally posted by ShutterBug:Fellow notable forumers in here should read the article in this issue of TIMES about SIngapore's "New" Look...
It was very well written, fact by fact explanation on why the import of foerigners, and why local top brains are leaving...
Air tight and hard to sue...
There are some foreigners who wouldn't care less about what the Govt does.Originally posted by LazerLordz:But foreigners are not blinded like the average Singaporean.
Agree! . . . and it is during election campaign we will get to see them paying visit to the ordinary singaporeans. Propaganda!Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:There are some foreigners who wouldn't care less about what the Govt does.
However, truth to be told, the ones that do care earn lots of money and don't think about escaping their home country because they can do something about it.
That aside, foreigners do not care about their host country. They just want money even at the expense of locals. Of course, the Govt only cares about its revenue and since when did people welfare matter except at elections?
It's TIME Asia.Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:Is there some online edition? The US edition has nothing on this (which isn't surprising)
Originally posted by ah_tee:in case u guys didnt know, i didnt know too until my colleague told me
hes a US citizen whose workin in singapore now
he tells me, Singapore is considered bery lowly paid, in US, the averge professional like engineers, executives, and middle management workers like our diplomas/degress holders earning 4-5k for starters, 2yrs, u will expect to rake in more than 10k USD a month, this is considered the normal mainstream, i m not talking abt top earners
in US, they dun wack u dry like here (which explains why he has trouble coping in my company) , u r not required to work OT by normal circumstances, if u need to, its a service to the company n u be compensated OT AND time off, yes both, singapore, either u get either one, or most commonly, none
in US, 100k, u get a bery decent house, wif own garden, garage n all, he still wondering why he paid 450k for his executive apartment in pasir ris
n cars, only cost 10plus k, for the avg lancer/ mazda 3 or normal saloons,n u get it on the spot, jus cash n carry.
in singapore context, land is scarce, i understand, but why are houses so darn ex, the controlled conditions now, married couple and 1 hse per couple already set the benchmark for any investments plans (more than 1 hse person)
its like when u buy a place, it seems like u gotta slave the rest of ur life paying for the puny pigeon hole
n public housing are considered contolled by the gahment in this sense,
another thing which i m so curious abt is, why are we, being set such a low benchmark for payroll when our workforce is considered "hardworking" and "technological advanced"
my sister friend, whose jus completed her A levels , migrated to US,shes now currently studying, n working part time as an usher in the local theatre, something like our golden village in plaza sing, jus collects tickets n run the theatre, she is paid $17 USD per hour,
u jus imagine if she work full hours, x8hrs x 20 days, she will take in at least 2.7k USD per mth, which translates to over 4K SGD
4K USD, perhaps only managers here get this kind of pay, when our gahment may my humble self asks, why such low benchmark for us, but our FTs got such cutting edge over us ?
why?
why?
why?
Don't ask why.....just do it...do like what me and many ex-Sillyporeans have done....MIGRATE!!!!
The best solution for Sillyporeans...since we all know the powers that be we still be around for quite a while is to vote with our feet...its no laughing matter but do give serious consideration to packing your bags...Of course not all will make it elsewhere but isn't the risk worth trying...We are all happy in our new countries, certainly much better than here...so I urge those who are sick and tired...think of alternatives....remember, there are many thousands brothers and sisters like me waiting to welcome you over...
Yup...we should try to be as happy as we can be.....but there are alternatives and we should encourage all those who can, to migrate and find a better life for themselves....better life by their own definition. There is a whole world out there beyond this tiny piece of red rockOriginally posted by richong 3216:I have voted in many GE in the past & the following is my comments on the PAP winning ways:
Factors for the PAP
1. PAP doing well (if it aint broke dont fix it)
2. Political apathy/ignorance among the young voters & older uncles &
aunties
3. Silly & nonsensical utterances by "joker politicians" near GE. These
jokers will give the PAP very valid grounds to tell the voters thus:
"Look here, do u want to vote for these jokers & ruin the future of
Singapore?". In some extreme cases of utterances by the jokers,
some can be sued for defamation/libel which will further damage the
image of the opposition.
4. GRC constituencies which the opposition will find difficulty to form a
credible team.
5. Rewards & perks in some forms will be given/promised to voters
before the election.
6. The fear factor of the vote not being secret still exist among the
voters (although voting is definitely secret).
Factors against PAP:
1. The high ministerial salaries have been widely publicised both
locally & internationally & now all the uncles/aunties/everyone
are aware of it. This must swing some voters to the opposition.
Having said all the above - voting for the PAP or the opposition is an
ongoing democratic process & so long as our tiny country can be harmonious,
peaceful & prosperous, we should continue our lives as happy as we can be.
BY all means go if there are greener pasture but for me, being an old man, I'll spend the rest of my days in tiny little Spore - To each his own from each his best.Originally posted by Coquitlam:Yup...we should try to be as happy as we can be.....but there are alternatives and we should encourage all those who can, to migrate and find a better life for themselves....better life by their own definition. There is a whole world out there beyond this tiny piece of red rock
yes I agree with you...I do wish you all the best...try to live the slow pace and don't get caught up with all the re-building activity going on here now....bad for the heartOriginally posted by richong 3216:BY all means go if there are greener pasture but for me, being an old man, I'll spend the rest of my days in tiny little Spore - To each his own from each his best.
In a sense ,yes. But how can opposition gets better without much chances to?Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:PAP is the best option till Singapore can get better opposition parties.
I hate to agree with you but its true....sad state of affairs...and that is why I encourage all those who can and who are not tied down emotionally or financially to consider quitting this little red rock and get a better deal elsewhere....still have to work hard though as in anywhere....Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:PAP is the best option till Singapore can get better opposition parties.
I suppose going to the grave is the better option vs the unknown.Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:PAP is the best option till Singapore can get better opposition parties.
Damn it!Originally posted by morbid4ever:I would say mee siam mai hum
It does show how detached he is from reality though.....Originally posted by ShutterBug:Damn it!
I been hearing this freaky dish for the past several months!
HAS ANYONE tried buying some Mee Siam and then throwing in a couple of freshly boiled Cockles???
Can you imagine HOW it would taste???![]()
Detached? Was he even ATTACHED in the first place??Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:It does show how detached he is from reality though.....
Foresight?Originally posted by breytonhartge:before you want to start criticising the PAP, please take some time to understand the uniqueness of Singapore and our political situation. When you live in another country where the government is incompetent and waste your hard earned tax payers money on social welfare for druggies and alcoholics... you will begin to appreciate the efficiencies of the PAP... and their foresight
"Mr Lee do you know that hawkers raise prices by 50 cents when they start raising prices?"Originally posted by ShutterBug:Damn it!
I been hearing this freaky dish for the past several months!
HAS ANYONE tried buying some Mee Siam and then throwing in a couple of freshly boiled Cockles???
Can you imagine HOW it would taste???![]()