Originally posted by 4getmenot:Very well said indeed...bravo!
'if u read it from a neutral singaporean point of view, singapore is fast becoming a trulely global city'
[b]was there a poll to conduct that a neutal singaporean point of view is as you said there are? Dun assume that a neutral singaporean point of view is likewise as you said..maybe you need to go out more and listen more to whats going on...So being a global city at the expanse of the local citizens is excusable?
'In any country , there will always be a poor and lower income..hence if u think singapore is f.ucked, then every country in the world is f.ucked"
Again u assume, from your statement, if whatever s'pore does is f.ucked, it won't work anyway else. The world doesn;t evolve around s'pore alone. i agree that a country will always have its rich and poor, tats a fact. but we aren't talking about some 3rd world.. we're talking bout s'pore where the gahmen constantly preaches its first world stand and its doing what it can to help the poor but yet all it does it raise the price of living even more with its monopolised market system. No, every other country in the other world is not f.ucked, becuz they have the right of choice to make changes, to air their view, their rights..wat do u have in s'pore? [/b]

Originally posted by Gazelle:Neutral Singapore point of view?
It really depends how you look at this article. If you choose to read it from a wannabe "fight for the poor" perspective, anything about singapore will be fcuk. However if you read it from a neutral Singaporeans point of view, you might sense that singapore is fast becoming a truely global city.
However please remember that in any country there will always be poor and lower income group, hence if you think singapore is fcuk, every country in this world is just as fcuk,
Originally posted by Atobe:Fantastic rebuttal...!!!
Neutral Singapore point of view?
Neutral means to be blank white?
Is there any sense in any views coming from someone with a ''neutral point of view'' - which basically is [b]''NO view'' ?
It is a fact that every country has poor and lower income group, and different governments will handle it differently, but none has out-performed the Singapore Government in passing the buck to personal charity, and their dead insistence on Singapore being a ''NON-WELFARE State''.
Even Mainland China with a population that is 280 times more than Singapore's 4.5 million - will have its Communist Government being more attentive and concerned with the poor, as they can and will throw the Communist Party out of power.
With the Singapore Government existing as long as the China Government, it has been able to implement its will due to the Singapore's physical size; allowing the Singapore Government to adopt Communist Strategies in coralling Singaporean's political freedom, while using Capitalist Techniques to efficiently suck away Private Wealth to fund their Communist style of Government.
How long will the expats stay in Singapore when they will realise that there is NO INDIVIDUAL Political Freedom, and that they will be working for the benefit of the State only ?
How many expats will take up permanent Citizenship, and how many will subsequently give up the Singapore Citizenship and return to their original land of domicile with their Original Citizenship still intact ?
Singaporeans are losing political power with each passing year that the Ruling Party continue in Government. Legislations have been passed that will forfeit Singaporean's Citizenship if they are away from Singapore for more then ten years without making any return trip.
While this legislation has been targetted at some of the exiled political figures, Singaporeans' birthright has also been threatened in the process.
The expats remains more privilege than local Singaporeans with their dual citizenship that gives them more political mobility than Singaporeans.
Yeah I do not disagree with finding quality of life in little things..I have found mine in Sillypore....but for the longer term and survival....other countries seems a better bet...and so I have joined the ranks of the many ex-Sillyporeans...besides we have also found our quality of life in the little things...like plucking apples from an orchard in summer...trekking in the Rockies with no one for miles to disturb you....and looking at the native wildlife in Alaska and pondering about life....these are little things too...Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Most people can find quality of life in little things. I don't need to drive flashy cars, live in luxurious apartments, dine in swanky restaurants. All I need is a Government who can touch their hearts and said that they've truely and sincerely put the interests of the less fortunate before their own interest...
I would expect you to add weight to your post. Explain how it is beneficial for Singaporeans in general, instead you have chosen to disappear and post another topic.Originally posted by Gazelle:It really depends how you look at this article. If you choose to read it from a wannabe "fight for the poor" perspective, anything about singapore will be fcuk. However if you read it from a neutral Singaporeans point of view, you might sense that singapore is fast becoming a truely global city.
However please remember that in any country there will always be poor and lower income group, hence if you think singapore is fcuk, every country in this world is just as fcuk,
Doctor can mean surgeon making $50-60K per month or a fresh grad MO doing his national service. Are you sure you are comparing apple to apple?Originally posted by foomwee88:PR Docs have S$1000 house allowance but Local sinkapore Docs have Nil and who had to serve NS some more!!!!
Who you want2 be? Sporean or PR???![]()
Poor sillyporeans!!!!
Pls check it out yrself from the Docs in Public Hospitals!Originally posted by Gazelle:Doctor can mean surgeon making $50-60K per month or a fresh grad MO doing his national service. Are you sure you are comparing apple to apple?
Originally posted by Atobe:I think many foreign professional especially those with son will not likely to take up PR cause of NS n personally many of them still retain their
Neutral Singapore point of view?
Neutral means to be blank white?
Is there any sense in any views coming from someone with a ''neutral point of view'' - which basically is [b]''NO view'' ?
It is a fact that every country has poor and lower income group, and different governments will handle it differently, but none has out-performed the Singapore Government in passing the buck to personal charity, and their dead insistence on Singapore being a ''NON-WELFARE State''.
Even Mainland China with a population that is 280 times more than Singapore's 4.5 million - will have its Communist Government being more attentive and concerned with the poor, as they can and will throw the Communist Party out of power.
With the Singapore Government existing as long as the China Government, it has been able to implement its will due to the Singapore's physical size; allowing the Singapore Government to adopt Communist Strategies in coralling Singaporean's political freedom, while using Capitalist Techniques to efficiently suck away Private Wealth to fund their Communist style of Government.
How long will the expats stay in Singapore when they will realise that there is NO INDIVIDUAL Political Freedom, and that they will be working for the benefit of the State only ?
How many expats will take up permanent Citizenship, and how many will subsequently give up the Singapore Citizenship and return to their original land of domicile with their Original Citizenship still intact ?
Singaporeans are losing political power with each passing year that the Ruling Party continue in Government. Legislations have been passed that will forfeit Singaporean's Citizenship if they are away from Singapore for more then ten years without making any return trip.
While this legislation has been targetted at some of the exiled political figures, Singaporeans' birthright has also been threatened in the process.
The expats remains more privilege than local Singaporeans with their dual citizenship that gives them more political mobility than Singaporeans.
With half the lot here barely understanding the significance of a Constitution and the responsibility entrusted on those empowered to amend it, it's pretty hard to drive home the message of what "inalienable rights" mean.Originally posted by Atobe:
Spore is definitely a safe place to work but to not to retire in.Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:The TS has pointed out a very interesting issue, are local born and locally bred Singaporeans suckers?
Well yes, in a sense, it is a Sweat House...Originally posted by will4:Spore is definitely a safe place to work but to not to retire in.![]()
Little wonder many PR still liked to keep their citizenship but they also cannot their CPF money with the latest ruling.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Well yes, in a sense, it is a Sweat House...
and we're all enslaved by all their Money Sucking Policies...
I think it is better to migrate cause need to learn from US in the present conflict in Iraq many anti conflict protester moved to other countries.Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Is there nothing we can do except resign and admit defeat? It is so freaking fustrating! Is there any hope at all?