I'm not exactly sure why their ego will be inflated when the report ranks them 1 above N.Korea in terms of democracyOriginally posted by ShutterBug:What Hell Good will all these Rankings and Numero Uno status do for us??
... besides inflating the egos of the government?
I don't know if it makes a difference, if you get an F9, it's a failure, does not matter if you have 1 point or 49 points. Maybe it has some consolation effect on one's ego.Originally posted by wisefool83:Fine, I was wrong about their methodology then. My apologise.
However, after I've read the link you directed me to, I'm still not satisfied with their methodology. Primarily because of their division method. At this point, you will have to excuse me for using Malaysia and N.Korea again as an example, for even though you are a resident in neither states, but gathering from what we can from all sources of news, not just ST which you may despise, there should be sufficient confidence that Malaysia is comparatively more democratic than N.Korea. Even the report's own data showed that Malaysia scored better in all three comparable statistics. But because of the division method used, it's democratic ranking is below N.Korea. At this point in time, my previous eg of the A levels scores with the PSLE scores is still relevant. Even though Malaysia scores better in both political and civil liberties, it's under the same divison as N.Korea. It's like somebody scored 44 for a test and another score 2, yet both get the same grade of F9. This also means that a state which scores better in political and civil liberties by a bit which pushes them up the next grade would be better off than whoever is below irrelevance of both it's freedom of press and corruption scores. Clearly, this is an inaccurate manner of ranking.
and with regards to
Taunting? Which part of my statement is taunting you?Originally posted by wisefool83:And please stop utilising languages with taunting tone, for it provokes men even of the mildest temper into an exchange of words rather than ideas
Geez!Originally posted by wisefool83:I'm exactually sure why their ego will be inflated when the report ranks them 1 above N.Korea in terms of democracy
I am saying blind dogs like you are barking up the wrong tree.Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:This is a weird way of arguing. So you are saying the dead dog is dead, so we should join the dead dog and be dead too?
No, I am saying that the status quo has served us well and there is no need for you to prostitute yourself to western liberals just to be accepted into their beds. You are still a whore, albeit a westernised oneOriginally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:LOL, that's a nice retort.
No offence to the ladyboys, but it's like saying that they are perfectly happy after having gone through the operation, so why should OM think he should be unhappy after operating on himself?
Maybe OM should try stocking up on brains instead of one-liners instead.![]()
Somehow i find it ironic that pro-PAP morons despise democracy when it was democracy that brought the PAP to power decades ago. Either they are not students of history, or they are so focused on the present, that they quietly hope that history does not repeat itself, for some inane reason for which I will not bother to fathom.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:I am saying blind dogs like you are barking up the wrong tree.
You Are Indeed A "Wise" Fool... ....Originally posted by wisefool83:I'm exactually sure why their ego will be inflated when the report ranks them 1 above N.Korea in terms of democracy
I thought you were the one claiming to be working in the UK for the Anglo-Saxon, eating their food, sleeping in their beds, sleeping with their men, women or dogs (which ever suits your preference).Originally posted by oxford mushroom:No, I am saying that the status quo has served us well and there is no need for you to prostitute yourself to western liberals just to be accepted into their beds. You are still a whore, albeit a westernised one![]()
The fool only cares about money, and regards the people and the system tools. What else do we expect out of this materialistic moron?Originally posted by maurizio13:I thought you were the one in UK working for the Anglo-Saxon, eating their food, sleeping in their beds, sleeping with their men, women or dogs (which ever suits your preference).
So now you call yourself a westernised wh0re?
Hmmm.....
But they did consider what, it's one of the factorsOriginally posted by Gazelle:It only goes to show that people outside Singapore no longer see democracy as an attraction anymore and that is a reason why many people are moving their base to Singapore instead of those countries that ranked higher than Singapore.
Honestly I see no point in judging a country democracy without considering corruption.
Political stability is important for company to set up headquarter but the worst part is the corruption which caused business to run away.Originally posted by Gazelle:It only goes to show that people outside Singapore no longer see democracy as an attraction anymore and that is a reason why many people are moving their base to Singapore instead of those countries that ranked higher than Singapore.
Honestly I see no point in judging a country democracy without considering corruption.
In their country people cannot travel as they like n they suffering from hunger.Originally posted by ah_kwang:so? are we living like how the north koreans are living? this kinda news appear dunno how many hundred times liao.
HK also no corruption but they becoming the NY of Asia according to a magazine.Originally posted by Gazelle:It only goes to show that people outside Singapore no longer see democracy as an attraction anymore and that is a reason why many people are moving their base to Singapore instead of those countries that ranked higher than Singapore.
I thought in here as long as u say the truth, they will be okay with it?Originally posted by ShutterBug:Here we don't have corruption.
Here, we have "Law & Order", because we are a Non-welfare State where nobody owes anybody a living except the government - we seem to owe them their Million Dollar Salaries. So "Law and Order" is very important; "Law" keeps people's mouth shut, so that "Order" can continue to keep them in power...
Here, we are expected (and unspokenly required) to work beyond 70 years of age, and if possible, till we drop dead while working. And continue to except Lower Wages thus contributing Lower CPF while they continuously increases Living Costs and Health Care Costs.
Here, we don't have corruption. No... here corruption is called "Law & Order". And by many other righteous names, words, and or phrases, such as "Staying Together and Moving Forwards"...
Here, corruption is kept at bay with the government's Self-incrementations of their own salaries. Basically means, if they don't receive a Pay Rise, they will easily become 'corrupted'...
Really, over here... we don't have corruption.. no no.. here everything they do is either Legal or Made Legal - so it cannot be deemed corrupt...
So this is why here, there is NO CORRUPTION...
Okay. as much as i try to agree with you but I bet with these MMC will be off by day break,the minutes some things pop out in the political scene and it will takes years before they even consider of returning.Originally posted by Gazelle:It only goes to show that people outside Singapore no longer see democracy as an attraction anymore and that is a reason why many people are moving their base to Singapore instead of those countries that ranked higher than Singapore.
During Suharto's period as president, he is hated but the good thing is he managed to make the economy good benefitting many people. UnfortunatelyOriginally posted by miserable:Okay. as much as i try to agree with you but I bet with these MMC will be off by day break,the minutes some things pop out in the political scene and it will takes years before they even consider of returning.![]()
A good example will be our neighbour, Indonesia during Suharto regime and the post Suharto time.![]()
The same scenerio too, can be seen in Thailand now.![]()
Taking into these considerations, dun you think a transparent and democratic society will serve a better purpose ?![]()
I hope you can apply this part of your statement to China and India, where corruption is considered widespread. Still businesses and investments are flocking there despite the rife corruption. Is there a peculiarity in your wide sweeping statement or is there a qualification?Originally posted by will4:Political stability is important for company to set up headquarter but the worst part is the corruption which caused business to run away.
It's not that they "cannot travel as they like", it's because economics predisposes them to a certain fate, not political system. How often have we heard of North Korean seeking asylums from China and other countries. If they can't travel, then obviously they can't get into China. The reason for their predicament is that they do not engage in global trade, which allows the transfer of technology, they chose to remain reclusive. They adopt a planned economic system, which creates disincentives to good work.Originally posted by will4:In their country people cannot travel as they like n they suffering from hunger.
In here, it is the oppsoite.![]()
You have to be politically correct, you said the status quo has served as well. I think it should be the status quo has served the regime well, because they seem to be the ones benefitting from it. The "status quo" (I surmise political system) which we adopted is also a western version, not Asian, unless if you want to consider ancient Chinese dynastic systems where succession is passed on from progeny to progeny.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:No, I am saying that the status quo has served us well and there is no need for you to prostitute yourself to western liberals just to be accepted into their beds. You are still a whore, albeit a westernised one![]()