it will, in fact, make us singaporeans and PR or foreigners in Singapore to leave.Originally posted by zix1:If Singapore continues to have the epidemic - dengue fever for many years to come, this may deter foreigners to come here and then the govt will have difficulty reaching 6.5m.
Obviously, a larger populace will give them MORE TAX to collect, as well as more new supporters for them in Elections...Originally posted by will4:I cannot understand their obsession with increasing the population until 6 million.
Is it because many local leaving n no PR like to become citizen?
you listed very obvious points. think people never though of them.Originally posted by robertteh:Hotel New World collapsed due to poor design, failures to check structural calculations, twisted foundation piles (non-alignments of pile caps to piles) and lack of proper oversight by BCD.
That was history.
However, the same problem was repeated in Nicol Highway where the structural calculations were not checked and approved by BCD before permit to commence work fulfilling relevant critical structural requirements spelt out in regulations.
When questioned by me during a seminar in 2006, Head of BCD only gave the excuse that LTA and HDB have internal BCD unit to monitor such regulations but were unable to comment further on the Nicol Highway collapse, which did not fulfill the requirements relating to the structural checking by BCD.
Is this excuse acceptable?
Now after Nicol Highway collapse, it is found that HDB flats because of lack of compliance with fire safety and structural regulations are experiencing many problems like structural cracks, spalling concrete and dropping windows etc.
Latest inefficiency is clearly seen in the dengue control. Only late last year there was already one serious dengue outbreak. Minister should have taken sufficient measures to stop and preempt another outbreak especially when he is one of our limited talents which can only be counted on the fingers of one hand.
Why what there not an effective process management set up to monitor actions taken on samples/location and condition/supporting breeding on weekly basis by our superscale officers with accountable and transparent reports submitted publicized and corrective actions taken. Many public buildings and their premises were left unattended with rampant breeding conditions found but none of their officers were willing to admit problems.
Instead the whole of the ministry is trying every means to shift responsibility by putting the blame on the citizens.
Indeed if dengue is not well controlled here, it is going to pose as a problem when the population reach 6.5m. Can the govt manage a population of 6.5m? This is a question, I think Lee hsien loong will have to address. I am not sure if he is that capable to deal with this, oh never mind – he has SM and MM to help him or he can rely on his ministers to help him. Let the one who push for the population to reach 6.5m come out with solutions on how to manage.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Obviously, a larger populace will give them MORE TAX to collect, as well as more new supporters for them in Elections...
Also, they supposedly assumes, more foreigners will become citizens here...
But with anything they do, have they or are they, looking into HOW they can "provide" for in many aspects, a population of 6.5 million peoples? Already hospitals are often lacking of beds, the MRT trains are packed Sardine Cans EVERYDAY, people are murdering each other at every opportunity and reasons, suicide rates have gone up but unreported...
What makes them so farking sure, they can manage 6.5 million? What makes them so smugly confident that people, local or foreign or PR holders, won't as well start to leave when the basic infrstructure starts to creak and moan under the weight and strain of 6.5 million???
Did we hear them talking about how they are preparing for a population of this size??? Or are they as usual, wait till Sh|t Hits The Fan then lifts their asses up from their plush high chairs and say; "bleah bleah bleah, and lets move on.." ???
If you cannot understand why 6 million, just understand TWO THINGS -
MONEY and POWER.
What does this two equates to? I don't need to say...
Both govt and the people have a part to play where control of dengue fever is concerned. Govt has not been thorough in taking measures against dengue fever. For eg, nothing has been done to clear the still drain water in the big drains near my house. The drain water is orange and it has been there for very long. Nobody from the authority/NEA cares about getting rid of the still water. Govt donÂ’t bother, then why put the blame on the people? It is beyond what we can do to clear the still drain water. DonÂ’t they train the cleaners to clear dirty drain water? So in this case, who is to be blamed?Originally posted by robertteh:Hotel New World collapsed due to poor design, failures to check structural calculations, twisted foundation piles (non-alignments of pile caps to piles) and lack of proper oversight by BCD.
That was history.
However, the same problem was repeated in Nicol Highway where the structural calculations were not checked and approved by BCD before permit to commence work fulfilling relevant critical structural requirements spelt out in regulations.
When questioned by me during a seminar in 2006, Head of BCD only gave the excuse that LTA and HDB have internal BCD unit to monitor such regulations but were unable to comment further on the Nicol Highway collapse, which did not fulfill the requirements relating to the structural checking by BCD.
Is this excuse acceptable?
Now after Nicol Highway collapse, it is found that HDB flats because of lack of compliance with fire safety and structural regulations are experiencing many problems like structural cracks, spalling concrete and dropping windows etc.
Latest inefficiency is clearly seen in the dengue control. Only late last year there was already one serious dengue outbreak. Minister should have taken sufficient measures to stop and preempt another outbreak especially when he is one of our limited talents which can only be counted on the fingers of one hand.
Why what there not an effective process management set up to monitor actions taken on samples/location and condition/supporting breeding on weekly basis by our superscale officers with accountable and transparent reports submitted publicized and corrective actions taken. Many public buildings and their premises were left unattended with rampant breeding conditions found but none of their officers were willing to admit problems.
Instead the whole of the ministry is trying every means to shift responsibility by putting the blame on the citizens.
Have you alerted the authorities on this matter? If yes, and nothing is done, then it is the government's fault.Originally posted by zix1:Both govt and the people have a part to play where control of dengue fever is concerned. Govt has not been thorough in taking measures against dengue fever. For eg, nothing has been done to clear the still drain water in the big drains near my house. The drain water is orange and it has been there for very long. Nobody from the authority/NEA cares about getting rid of the still water. Govt donÂ’t bother, then why put the blame on the people? It is beyond what we can do to clear the still drain water. DonÂ’t they train the cleaners to clear dirty drain water? So in this case, who is to be blamed?
No answers or unwilling to reply?! They made the choice to evade, perhaps evasion is their solutions.
Do u really need to point finger at me and blame me for what I mentioned above? YOu are being very one-sided, you can't for the sake of siding and defending the "good" govt you go on to blame others for the dengue fever. I am in no fault. As it is there are people from NEA going round to check on the environment. If these people are not doing their job, you blame the resident for not reporting. Even if you want to side the "caring" govt, you need not resort to be so unfair.Originally posted by dakkon_blackblade:Have you alerted the authorities on this matter? If yes, and nothing is done, then it is the government's fault.
Otherwise, like what I said earlier in this thread, there is no need to wait for the government to take action. YOU can take the initiative. The government cannot possibly deploy enough personnel to check all the drains in the country. If you happen to spot a potential mosquito breeding site, you can simply call NEA to alert them, rather than do nothing and wait for the NEA to suddenly get the inspiration to come down and check themselves.
Eliminating this dengue threat is not solely the government's responsibility. It's our responsibility too. If there are Aedes mosquitoes breeding in your home or backyard, it's as much, if not more, your fault than the government's. Don't try to push the blame for something which is your responsibility.
Not too far from the truth bah.... anything that needs most of the people's cooperation, they CMI one lah...Originally posted by ShutterBug:Multi-million dollar salaried Rice Bins!
why dun you take so photos and send to stompOriginally posted by zix1:Do u really need to point finger at me and blame me for what I mentioned above? YOu are being very one-sided, you can't for the sake of siding and defending the "good" govt you go on to blame others for the dengue fever. I am in no fault. As it is there are people from NEA going round to check on the environment. If these people are not doing their job, you blame the resident for not reporting. Even if you want to side the "caring" govt, you need not resort to be so unfair.
Don't point fingers at the residents!!!
Of course, the govt has to bear the greater responsibility. I mentioned earlier, nobody from the authority has done anything to the still drain water for long. It is either negligence or they couldn't be bothered. If they are so into taking measures against dengue at all times, they will not neglect or don't bother about this. Surprise I have got dakkon_blackblade said that if I did not alert the authority then it is the govt's fault. hey, they have people going round to check on the environment and if they don't want to do anything, why blame me if I did not alert the authority. It is not my fault!!!Originally posted by Atobe:Both Government and People have a part to play.
Who should bear the bigger responsibility ?
Wednesday edition of Straits Times had reported that a MP from the MIW and his wife were reported to be down with dengue fever.
Was the MP a ''breeder of mosquitoes'' or was he a victim of someone else's carelessnes ?
As this post is being prepared, ChannelNewsAsia reported that a fishing pond operator at Pasir Ris was charged with breeding 600 mosquito larvae in stagnant water at the pump room. According to the report, NEA officers had checked this place a week ago, and found it to be clean.
If I remember correctly the pond was there for quite a long time as part of the Pasir Ris HDB setting, even before the pond was converted for leisure fishing.
Was the pump room based on some building design prior to the lease ?
Is this not the result of another poor building design resulting in the tenant being hit ?
I don't like to go to website that promotes propaganda.Originally posted by crazy monkey:why dun you take so photos and send to stomp![]()
then take photo and post here.Originally posted by zix1:I don't like to go to website that promotes propaganda.
just wait and see how the PM going to do something about the infrastructure and so on to cope with the 6.5m people to come. 6.5m people mean more $$$$ to add to their already super high pay. more people more high pay, it is indeed not bad to be the ruling govt in Singapore. In general, the people of Singapore are so well "tamed" so even they just couldn't be bothered about improving to serve 6.5m, they are also safe in securing their rice bowls.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Already as it is, with a little over 4 million, they repeatedly reasoned that operational costs are high, and thus they need to increase Fees, Fares, Tariffs, etc.
Public Transportations: up to date, bus drivers have been taking quite a few beatings from highly irritated commuters to the downright high strung and unreasonable ones. Why? Are buses comfortable to ride in? Are they on time regularly? Why do old folks fall down while riding on a bus? Do you often find a seat for the fare you pay? Cabs are another sorry storry. With so many Taxi Operators now, it is hard for cabbies not to play hide and let passengers seek to earn that dollar or two more. MRT? It's getting from Sardine Can to Pencil Box status! All the increases in Public Transportation fares, WHERE are the improvements???
Healthcare; this I need not say more. You all know it is getting costlier by the year as well... and more mistakes and carelessness are trivially dismissed as One Off cases... what the hell are we paying Taxes for???
Retirement Age pushed to 65, people are expected to work beyond 70 with lower wages, and CPF contributions for a pittance later when they finally retire by ailment or as much as they can take...
What the fark, kind of country is SIngapore becoming??? And they INTEND to increase population size to 6.5 million???
I say to PAP; "Please wake up your bluddy ideas!" First improve on all the above basic infrastructure before it collapses under tyhe weight of 6.5 million people!!!!
I mean, they can't even solve the farking Dengue problem given the size of Singapore, and yet, dogly gungho about going 6.5 million!
All I can say is, when it hits 6.5 mil., a bowl of Mee Pok will likely cost at least S$5-S$6!!! And they will likely be telling people; "Work beyond 90 - you can do it! Many people in Japan are centurions, you can too!"![]()
what else is not about money when we talk about the govt?Originally posted by mistyblue:at 6.5million : People can only pay more and you get bed. Pay more and you get better service. Pay more for everything just to get basic service.
where's your photo ? how come you havnt postedOriginally posted by zix1:what else is not about money when we talk about the govt?