Originally posted by ShutterBug:Suggest that Tan request that the same 3 strokes be returned to Jayakumar, after all the error was committed by him. Seriously, between the choice of getting $3 million and giving back the same 3 strokes back to Jayakumar, I'd rather choose the latter.
This matter only goes to show that if there's anything the gov can do to get away with any mistakes on their part, THEY WILL..
In relation to this case, another convicted man was given upto 48 strokes (way over the legal numbers of strokes of 24) at one go, is also taking legal action against the government.
We shall see, just how "transparent" and "corrupt-free" or "World Class" they are, in owning up to such LIABILITIES...
They must remember well, that the world is watching.... a world that thinks Singapore, is clean, transparent, corruption free, and a World Class Judicial System...
PAP, please walk your talks...
======================================================
[b]Prison authorities withheld letter from man given extra strokes
Man's lawyer says he is trying to obtain the letter from prison officials.
By Irene Ngoo
Jul 4, 2007
AsiaOne
The prisoner who was wrongly caned by an extra three strokes had written to his family informing them of the mistake but the letter was withheld by the prison authorities, his lawyer alleged today.
"I was shocked when the family told me this. It appears that the authorities wanted to cover this up totally. I am trying to obtain a copy of this letter," said Mr Joseph Chen, who is representing the family of Dickson Tan Yong Wen, 20, who was given eight strokes of the cane instead of the five he was convicted for abetting an illegal moneylender to harass a debtor.
Mr Chen said this latest revelation provided further grounds for the family to seek punitive damages and to pursue criminal charges against those who made the mistake.
He believed the prison authorities have a record of Tan's letter which never reached his family.
The caning was carried out on March 29 and the authorities said prisons officers observed all procedures relating to the administration of the caning, including verifying with Tan that the number of strokes of caning was correct.
The government has since said it regretted the error which was made by a court clerk who had added three more strokes to the punishment when he was preparing the paperwork for Tan's commitment to prison. The clerk has since resigned.
Deputy Prime Minister S. Jayakumar, who is also the Law Minister, said yesterday that the government takes the caning error seriously and that the courts and other authorities have put in checks and balances to make sure it does not happen again.
Prof Jayakumar said that when the caning mistake was discovered, officials from the Attorney-General's Chambers went to apologise to Tan and his family.
Tan's mother, Madam Ho Gee Lin, 52, a housewife, has insisted that her son had alerted two prison officers of the error prior to the caning and said Tan was prepared to undergo a lie detector test.
Mr Chen said that the family is seeking compensation for the mistake and a mediation hearing has been scheduled for July 13.
Tan's family had initially asked for $150,000 but raised it to $300,000 when advised by the lawyer that there are "aggravating factors" to support their claims.
Mr Chen said his client is willing to settle for a "reasonable" compensation which, he said, "should not be under $300k and unreasonable".
If an acceptable compensation is not reached, Tan's family will take the case to court to sue the government for causing "grevious bodily hurt" to Tan, and for " failure to carry out or fulfill official duty", which are both criminal charges, said the lawyer.
When it comes to that course of action, they will be asking for $3 million, and donate $2.7 million to charity. The government has rejected their demand.
In an interview with The New Paper on Sunday, Madam Ho said: "I want to sue not just because of the money, but because I want justice for my son.
She claims that her son, who is on home detention until the end of August, is suffering from stress and trauma.
"He's still so young. I don't know how long he'll take to recover," she told TNP on Sunday.
oi! if prison officer found to be doing that on purpose, he can be charged in court and get canning for causing grievous hurt with a dangerous weapon one, you noe?... I hope you not prison officer...Originally posted by crazy monkey:knn farking a long kia. if lim peh is prison officer i give him ten strokes till his backside open. knn![]()
x 2Originally posted by maurizio13:Suggest that Tan request that the same 3 strokes be returned to Jayakumar, after all the error was committed by him. Seriously, between the choice of getting $3 million and giving back the same 3 strokes back to Jayakumar, I'd rather choose the latter.![]()
justice must be servedOriginally posted by AndrewPKYap:oi! if prison officer found to be doing that on purpose, he can be charged in court and get canning for causing grievous hurt with a dangerous weapon one, you noe?... I hope you not prison officer...
wat? ah long bad but prison officer anyhow cane people is good meh? Like that oso can meh?
*haiz*Originally posted by crazy monkey:justice must be served![]()
Let him have a taste of his own medicine, only by physical experience of the lash will he know the inhumanity of using such forms of corporal punishment.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:x 2![]()
Originally posted by crazy monkey:justice must be served![]()
Originally posted by Jontst78:That's a very disturbing assertion. Such propositions have been used to justify numerous heinous crimes against humanity, from political killings to genocide. Such a view is really no different from moral relativism and anarchism, where power determines "right" and "wrong".
Then again, a former Chief Justice once said : Paraphrase
that any Law which deprived a person of his life or personal liberty was valid and binding as long as it was validly passed by parliament. The courts, he said, 'is not concerned with whether it is also fair, [b]just and reasonable as well.
So erm... justice in Singapore Courts.. hmm maybe occasionally, by accident I guess. [/b]
Better to be in a country with a longer life cycle....i always sayOriginally posted by Coquitlam:Hmmm...every country will always do this kind of silly thing...Sillypore is no exception....but looking at things from another country now...I would say that Sillypore's cracks are starting to show....40 years of phenomenal progress will slow down....eventually leading to decline....just like a product cycle huh....the cycle will be faster as this little red dot is small.....I would say Sillypore would not last beyond 50 years....just like how the US or some western country would not last beyong 150-200 years....
Better to be in a country with a longer life cycle....i always say
Hmmm, the haze is back to cloud Sillyporeans....hah I'm outta here
Both, Singapore will be in the class of the cucaracha.Originally posted by mistyblue:singapore will then be in the class or the la cucaracha?
la cucarachas survive well since dinosaur times.Originally posted by maurizio13:Both, Singapore will be in the class of the cucaracha.![]()
Hmmm.....Originally posted by ShutterBug:Cucaracha... I like that... spanish for C0ckroach...hehehe..
actually hor... cucaracha they are very resilient leh... after millions of years, they still retain their original form...
but personally, u can throw one at me and I'd die of outright TERROR...
Britain abolished the death penalty because the last man to be hanged was convicted under controversial circumstances.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Lets hope they don't hang someone by mistake as well...
and then say; "such a mistake is REGRETTED..."