ha ha ha!!!Originally posted by Slipshade:I'm just curious how he got to his current position anyway. Is it really through his capabilities or just string-pulling?![]()
U got it the other way round... who dares NOT to scold him. He has to be seen to be subject to the same rules as the rest of us peasants... so who dares NOT to scold him?Originally posted by CoolMyth:Reprimand? Who dare to scold him and break their iron rice bowls?![]()
It's not that hard to get into OCS.Originally posted by Slipshade:I'm just curious how he got to his current position anyway. Is it really through his capabilities or just string-pulling?![]()
Originally posted by lionnoisy:What he did amounts to insubordination and should be charged and thrown into detention barracks but he was just reprimanded. Too light.
who say no.1 family is above all?
Tell me which no.1 family in the world has experience like this?
I am pity for No.1 parent, and especially[b] the grand parent.
July 13, 2007,PM Lee's son in NS reprimanded by SAF,By Sandra Davie Strait Times 13.07.2007,page H4.
courtesy of this forumer
2.MINDEF takes PM Lee's son to task for contravening orders
--http://sg.news.yahoo.com/cna/20070712/tap-mindef-takes-pm-lee-s-son-to-task-fo-231650b.html[/b]
Don't look down on Signals.Originally posted by LazerLordz:It's not that hard to get into OCS.
Secondly, he's just a signals officer.![]()
I think only the JC and the poly grads with at least silver for nafa test get into BMT for commanders, who then go on to OCS or SISPEC. So you are either in or out, don't think there is anything anyone can do if they don't have the qualification or the fitness to begin with.Originally posted by LazerLordz:It's not that hard to get into OCS.
Secondly, he's just a signals officer.![]()
What Second Lieutenant Li Hongyi did was to complain through improper channel about a supervising officer who made a wrong judgement.Originally posted by anonymouscoward:What he did amounts to insubordination and should be charged and thrown into detention barracks but he was just reprimanded. Too light.
I had a NS mate who could not complete his Outbound and what charged and throw into DB. It's not his fault but he was weak and had to drop out.
Comparing the two; plus he is an officer....
They are just trying con the public who has not done NS if they are trying to show they are just.
If it was my son or your son.we would be asked to collect the remains of our son's backside (torn beyond recognition)Originally posted by CoolMyth:Reprimand? Who dare to scold him and break their iron rice bowls?![]()
Don't think it is that serious. A senior cadet, one batch before me, wrote a letter directly to Mindef to complain about the behavior of some instructors in OCS, also got reprimanded, but still passed out as an officer. He was not any important people's son, as far as I know. Guess the important thing is whether his complaint was valid or not.Originally posted by Short Ninja:If it was my son or your son.we would be asked to collect the remains of our son's backside (torn beyond recognition)
LOLOriginally posted by ORIGAMIST:Wayang wayang only la..![]()
Oh I'm not dissing Signals. I'm putting it in context because those chaps think that it is a real challenge to enter OCS or get posted to Signals, comparatively to being posted to DSO or JID.Originally posted by mancha:Don't look down on Signals.
To be a signals officer you need good knowledge of how the entire defence force, land sea and air, is organised, and their communications needs, and their command and control structure.
Our first general, Winston Choo was a Signals officer
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Yes,good point and I overlooked that.....but still backside kena koyak first and then reprimanded
Guess the important thing is whether his complaint was valid or not. [/b]
I was one of his company instructors during BMTC, and I trained him for the time he was a recruit.Originally posted by Slipshade:I'm just curious how he got to his current position anyway. Is it really through his capabilities or just string-pulling?![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:frankly, we should just ignore all the nonsense that the dynasty is doing.. and ignore them during the next GE...
and keep ignoring them...
that's my personal opinion...
to keep harping on their actions is to give them credit where it is not due
Good to hear that. There are positives after all, aren't there?Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:I was one of his company instructors during BMTC, and I trained him for the time he was a recruit.
What I can say is that he's a good soldier, does not put on airs or wayang, and was well liked by his platoon mates (he even allowed them to make fun of his ultra-White Horse status). He was also not afforded any special treatment and in fact often had to do MORE things that some recruits could have avoided (like weekend guard) during his BMT for the simple reason all bases had to be covered to avoid allegations of special treatment.
In fact, our encik made it clear that he did not want to see any special treatment. We solded the chap when he screwed up, and knocked him down when it was required. If there was anything special then it must have been the extra attention the whole BMTC paid towards safety (and it already is anal about safety compared to your usual unit) while he was there.
So was he a capable soldier? He probably had to live up to his reputation as the PM's son and hence did not slack in NS. He was a pretty average grunt who could lead when it came to it, and certainly within the capabilities for command school.
In my personal opinion however, I felt he was better in SISPEC then OCS, but then again HQ had other ideas. But if had to ask, I felt he was a good chap.
entire mindef personnel email received it how to cover up sia.....Originally posted by browniebaobao:im surprised this is not being covered up.
I did not say that the judgement made against my NS mate was wrong. In fact, I told him to accept it as this is military.Originally posted by sgdiehard:What Second Lieutenant Li Hongyi did was to complain through improper channel about a supervising officer who made a wrong judgement.
What you are doing here is also questioning the judgement made by the officer on your NS mate.
Why do people like the two of you think you can question the decisions of superior officers? Is it the guts of young people or the arrogance of the naive?
"...broadcasting his letter of complaint to many other servicemen - almost all of whom were neither directly under his command, nor in an official capacity where they could deal with the matters contained in his letter of complaint..."Originally posted by sgdiehard:Don't think it is that serious. A senior cadet, one batch before me, wrote a letter directly to Mindef to complain about the behavior of some instructors in OCS, also got reprimanded, but still passed out as an officer. He was not any important people's son, as far as I know. Guess the important thing is whether his complaint was valid or not.
buat bodoh lah!Originally posted by duotiga83:entire mindef personnel email received it how to cover up sia.....![]()
Good to hear that there was no special treatment.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:I was one of his company instructors during BMTC, and I trained him for the time he was a recruit.
What I can say is that he's a good soldier, does not put on airs or wayang, and was well liked by his platoon mates (he even allowed them to make fun of his ultra-White Horse status). He was also not afforded any special treatment and in fact often had to do MORE things that some recruits could have avoided (like weekend guard) during his BMT for the simple reason all bases had to be covered to avoid allegations of special treatment.
In fact, our encik made it clear that he did not want to see any special treatment. We solded the chap when he screwed up, and knocked him down when it was required. If there was anything special then it must have been the extra attention the whole BMTC paid towards safety (and it already is anal about safety compared to your usual unit) while he was there.
So was he a capable soldier? He probably had to live up to his reputation as the PM's son and hence did not slack in NS. He was a pretty average grunt who could lead when it came to it, and certainly within the capabilities for command school.
In my personal opinion however, I felt he was better in SISPEC then OCS, but then again HQ had other ideas. But if had to ask, I felt he was a good chap.