they dun work for one hour u will die is it?Originally posted by leo-kun:i have no problem for whatever they wan to do during lunch time but not during office hours!
Well TS, thereOriginally posted by Wreckers:The time for the prayer (which include the sermon) is between 1pm to 2pm.
If you ask why, i will just answer Muslims have been doing it at this time since 1400 years ago. Not because of tradition or anything, but because we were told to do so.
Peace.![]()
Sabbath for Muslims is Friday,Saturday for the jews and Sunday for ChristiansOriginally posted by leo-kun:why must they go for prayers on fri noon when they only come back after lunch time?
why cant they pray on sat or sun?????
T.G.I.F.Originally posted by elindra:Their Sabbath is on Friday.
To the Muslims, I believe they were informed that Allah decided that Friday should be their Sabbath.
Also Friday is a special day for Muslims because:
Allah created Adam on Friday. Adam entered paradise on Friday. He and his wife Eve landed on this planet earth on Friday. He died on Friday.
Friday is a blessing and a sacred day. The doors of Heaven are open of Friday white the doors of Hell are closed. Prayers and supplication (Du 'a') are accepted on Friday. The day of Friday is a day of Peace where all animals, birds and insects say "Peace" on that day.
They also believe that Judgement Day will take place on Friday. Non-Muslims made their own decisions as to Saturday and Sunday.
out of topic and putting kerosene into a small fire.Originally posted by simnatic:Christians park illegally too during their church days, and the church bells always ring on those days. The muslims do not make a big deal out of it, why do you have to ask such thing? In a multi religious and racial society, it is a case of tolerance, give and take.
i dont think he is adding to the flame, but to put things into perspectivesOriginally posted by Short Ninja:out of topic and putting kerosene into a small fire.
no, dun agree with u. it's a legitimate argument.Originally posted by Short Ninja:out of topic and putting kerosene into a small fire.
Companies can do it like schools which have early dismissal on friday, i.e. a longer lunch break on friday.Originally posted by mancha:There are Muslims and there are Muslims.
What I have noticed, is that there are Muslims who will readily declare that they can't go for prayers because of work constrains. They will go when work the work load eased and they can be excused. I appreciate them.
Then there are the ones who "must pray", and go regardless. These are the ones that causes unhappiness among the staff, including other Muslim staff.
The friday prayer must be in the mosque? 'cos you mentioned "sermon".Originally posted by Wreckers:The time for the prayer (which include the sermon) is between 1pm to 2pm.
If you ask why, i will just answer Muslims have been doing it at this time since 1400 years ago. Not because of tradition or anything, but because we were told to do so.
Peace.![]()
Ok I agree but lets all be careful here.Originally posted by laurence82:i dont think he is adding to the flame, but to put things into perspectives
The 'I must pray' Muslims, I can understand them. Because Friday prayers are the only time which need to be done in a mosque. The other prayers can be done anywhere.Originally posted by mancha:There are Muslims and there are Muslims.
What I have noticed, is that there are Muslims who will readily declare that they can't go for prayers because of work constrains. They will go when work the work load eased and they can be excused. I appreciate them.
Then there are the ones who "must pray", and go regardless. These are the ones that causes unhappiness among the staff, including other Muslim staff.
Originally posted by Wreckers:You could've just ask the lecturers to give you a different time slot... I did that... they re-arranged my time table so the friday time slot was free (for that lesson only I joined a different class)... but then my Thursday time slot was packed...
The 'I must pray' Muslims, I can understand them. Because Friday prayers are the only time which need to be done in a mosque. The other prayers can be done anywhere.
I faced this problem when I was in poly. I had lecture/lesson from 1pm to 2pm. What i did was to go for prayers once every 3 weeks, meaning 2 weeks go for class, 1 week go to mosque. But I make sure i tell my tutor.
Maybe to be fair to all, Muslim men on Friday can either start work 1 hour earlier or end 1 hour later (like start at 8am instead of 9am or end at 6pm instead of 5pm).
I'm a Muslim. I know some Muslims are just bochap abt this.
Yeah i asked for a different slot, but he showed me his timetable and most of the time it clashed with my other modules.Originally posted by MohamedF:You could've just ask the lecturers to give you a different time slot... I did that... they re-arranged my time table so the friday time slot was free (for that lesson only I joined a different class)... but then my Thursday time slot was packed...
Don't think so... muslim officers are allowed to go to friday prayers... unless of course got something big happening at the same time...Originally posted by Wreckers:Yeah i asked for a different slot, but he showed me his timetable and most of the time it clashed with my other modules.
Hah... i already graduated from poly, now waiting for NS, maybe i will face this problem again...
I have a religious question here. Why must it be done in a mosque?Originally posted by Wreckers:The 'I must pray' Muslims, I can understand them. Because Friday prayers are the only time which need to be done in a mosque. The other prayers can be done anywhere.
I'm not good in this but i will try my best to give you the best possible answer.Originally posted by Icemoon:I have a religious question here. Why must it be done in a mosque?
The whole idea seems a bit strange to me. Jews and Protestant Christians stick to one home church and their community spirit is strong. Catholics can go any Catholic Church, but then the main point why they go church is for the Holy Communion.
Muslims leh? Typically you go to a mosque nearest to your workplace (like those in Raffles place will go the underground mosque there). But then 1 hour how to interact with your fellow Muslims? Is that mosque their home mosque?
Or is the friday prayer like the Catholic lunchtime Mass? Meaning Muslims actually have another home mosque which should be nearer to where they live?
Actually when is the main Muslim "service"? It cannot be on friday noon 'cos the time is too short for any interaction!Originally posted by Wreckers:If one stays in Jurong, and he wants to pray in a mosque in Pasir Ris, it is acceptable. Since Friday prayer clashes with work, of course we should go to the nearest mosque to save time.
We don't exactly interact, since we go there to listen to the sermon and pray. But as you all may know, when Muslim man meets another Muslim man they would offer a handshake, smile and say the 'Peace to be upon you' greetings.
This is the best I can come out with. Maybe other Muslims out there can help. If there is/are mistake(s), pls point out.
Excuse me, but what you just posted is very much like lighting up a bon-fire in the middle of an Oil Refinery....!!!Originally posted by leo-kun:why must they go for prayers on fri noon when they only come back after lunch time?
why cant they pray on sat or sun?????
not that bad lah .. at least he allows them to pray.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Excuse me, but what you just posted is very much like lighting up a bon-fire in the middle of an Oil Refinery....!!!
This religion is sensitive as Hell....
i really dont surf sgforums during office hoursOriginally posted by jeg:so you dont surf sgforums during office hours?