Originally posted by tankee1981:I am not sure if you had already breached some by saying this...what you see, is not meant for open discussion on net...even discussing in a vague manner.
Recently I have spotted a couple of new platforms. One of them is (what I suspect) the replacement for our old workhorse of Armour--AMX13SM1.The other looks like a missile launcher on a M113. I wish to know more about these two new weapon systems. I am aware of the security implications concerning this topic so i strongly urge anyone out there who know anything about this be cautious when you post a reply.As for myself I will describe the vehicles in a vague manner to prevent breaches of security.Another question is how does these 2 weapon systems work in our current doctrine, simply said is what is the role they play in the SAF. Any information and replys is deeply appreciated.Thanks. ps. no flaming please![/b]
Think is AMX-10P.Originally posted by EXCO:During AOH this year I saw a tank which can hold 4 troops, has a large caliber gun and has a board across its front. If I didn't see wrongly I think its an AMX, but not 13. Its not a Bionix either.
AMX-10PAC to be exactOriginally posted by wombat:Think is AMX-10P.
Source : Jane's Tank Recognication Guide
I saw that tank at Army Open House this year, I even spoke to the tank commander and have 3 photos of it. That IS public domain. Its the first time I saw that tank however.Originally posted by CX:this thread is going nowhere because everyone is grasping at straws!
no public domain info available, no official press release and not allowed to trade inside info.
sian lah! why not sit tight and wait for press release...
If it is the AMX-10PAC we are talking about, then it is really bo big deal as it is public domain news already. However, if we are talking about "a new light tank" ST Engg is developing, then perhaps it is only going to be pure speculation. Janes has reported that ST Engg is building a new light tank most likely for SAF and probably based on a Bionix chassis. However, till now, we haven't had concrete news about the program. Like the Bionix which went through a thorough testing and initial deployment within the army before it was made public, we won't see the light tank in public places until Mindef decides that it should be announced.Originally posted by CX:this thread is going nowhere because everyone is grasping at straws!
no public domain info available, no official press release and not allowed to trade inside info.
sian lah! why not sit tight and wait for press release...
Well, like I said, I have never seen that tank before. Yes, its an AMX-10 (confirmed by my friend's photo, which had the designation and description plate in front of the tank.). What is its role in the SAF? I don't recall seeing it at NDP 2000 mobile column. Will post the photo once the scanner is available to me.Originally posted by Orcishwarrior:Well i didnt go to the saf open house.
There is something i m sure if the particular tank u are referring is a new vehicle.Its highly unlikely that foreign defense sources have no information on it.Since it was displayed to the public i doubt its a new kid on the block.
If u have a scanner maybe u should scan it and post it in this public forum.
Could it be another variant of the Bionix? I haven't heard of any thing for a new tank.Originally posted by tankee1981:The vehicle which I saw is definitely not the AMX-10. The AMX-10 is quite old news already is you follow the defence affairs of Singapore closely. The chasis of the vehicle I saw is about the size of the BX . However the turret is much bigger. The machine is wrapped with a plastic sheet so I can't be very sure... But it will be very exciting to know how well the replacement of the SM1 will perform as compared to its predessor.![]()
Don't be so excited over the amx-10 APC. They are old liao and their armor's as weak as the M113.Originally posted by Orcishwarrior:Well i didnt go to the saf open house.
There is something i m sure if the particular tank u are referring is a new vehicle.Its highly unlikely that foreign defense sources have no information on it.Since it was displayed to the public i doubt its a new kid on the block.
If u have a scanner maybe u should scan it and post it in this public forum.

Originally posted by Silenthunter:Aiyah, no need so secretive lah.We all know (especially the Indonesian Marine) that these vehicles can swim very well.... Not a secret leh.
[b]
Don't be so excited over the amx-10 APC. They are old liao and their armor's as weak as the M113.
But They have special abilities that the m113 and BX cannot preform well in. Shhh........
AMX-10PAC90 to be more exactOriginally posted by Joe Black:AMX-10PAC to be exact
The role of AMX 10 is primary for amphibious ops for XX Div. I know where they are store but dun think it too convenient for me to reveal the location.Originally posted by EXCO:Well, like I said, I have never seen that tank before. Yes, its an AMX-10 (confirmed by my friend's photo, which had the designation and description plate in front of the tank.). What is its role in the SAF? I don't recall seeing it at NDP 2000 mobile column. Will post the photo once the scanner is available to me.
Alemak onli 22 are ordered, they can do wat cock?Originally posted by Seant7:The role of AMX 10 is primary for amphibious ops for XX Div. I know where they are store but dun think it too convenient for me to reveal the location.
Never neglect our oldies just bcoz there are equipment out there in the SAF. Want to spit on an AMX-13? if you can withstand it's blast then you're fit to spit on itOriginally posted by Orcishwarrior:that is not a bad idea,at least we are different from most nation who follows US trend of making the attack helo part of the army body.
Anyway dont worry u will get to see it sooner than expected since mindef requested US for early delivery back to singapore and the response has been quite positive.
Guys ! maybe we should cease posting about singapore presnt tanks ahya !!see also sianz !!! boring
when i see the AMX-13 i really want to spit on it hehehehehe that is really disrespectful to the army
In my opinion, a suitable turret could be any of these:Originally posted by tankee1981:In my opinion a 105mm gun is a suitable gun as a replacement for the 75mm. The mating of a foreign turret to BX chasis is applicable as well as practical. The BX is designed to be able to accommodate various types of turrets such as 40/50,25mm Bushmaster and other 'turrets' like bridging equipment as in the BLB. Can anyone suggest what 105mm turret is suitable for the BX? Thanks![]()