Originally posted by _Aaron_:correct i stress the importance of working for it and not relying on borriwng.
Justl like what you said earlier..
[b]I'm in the process of saving 25k within 5 years and yes i'm in poly now.
with my insurance bought by my parents added in and borrowing of 20k from my parents,it will be enough for it to pull me thro overseas uni.
Why borrow 20k from yr parents when you can work for it?
Whether you like it or not, companies gun for people with a university degree for management positions etc.Originally posted by BillyBong:Ah...the wonders of studies....and the $$$ that is sucked along with it.
Our 'dreaded' education system's intent on paper qualifications plagues the heart of Singaporeans. Many still foolishly believes that a degree is the epitome of a solid starting pay and our people proliferate this flawed concept.
No wonder companies here are not paying more for experienced veterans.
I see.Originally posted by boka:correct i stress the importance of working for it and not relying on borriwng.
i'm borrwing but it's merely a partial sum of what i need,probaly 20k from my parent.
What i see most kids doign nowadays are borrowing the entire sum of close to 100k for their overseas studies.
Ok i understand.Originally posted by _Aaron_:I see.
While i understand where you come from, now that you're saying something alone the line of 100k..
Do you understand where i'm coming from when i say i'm only touching on diplomas, not universities?
The sums involved are quite different. This is about 6k in total. Lend 6k from parents CPF, then return when you're able to work and earn more, than what you get from O levels..
I agree with you on that point.Originally posted by boka:Ok i understand.
I do know borrowing and seeking assistance is all needed to accomplish goals.
However,it is when one states that it is their rights that they demanded utmost support from their parents and seeing it as a natrual thing to do so.
It's the mentality.
Originally posted by _Aaron_:This Ng Eng Hen is laughable. Haha. Haha.
13% of students who borrowed from parents' CPF accounts have not paid back money
[b]SINGAPORE: Manpower Minister Dr Ng Eng Hen said Tuesday that 13 percent of students who had borrowed from their parents' CPF accounts for tertiary education have not been able to pay back the money despite the Board's enforcement efforts.
How is this category of young Singaporeans going to start their own family? No wonder we need foreigners to sustain the economy's growth.
He stressed that only 40 percent of active CPF members turning 55 are able to meet their CPF minimum sum.
What but of course! HDB prices are sky high.
Hence, Singapore should help members set aside more CPF savings in the future, instead of allowing withdrawals for more purposes. - CNA/ir
Chee Soon Juan has mentioned this before. Shooting themselves in the foot?
Haha.
You're not alone!Originally posted by LifeIsWonderful:I have got a deep suspicion that Singapore government keeps coming up with these CPF new rules and regulations so that we cannot touch our CPF money is because they invested our CPF money and do not have accessible money at the moment to return us, so coming up with these new laws and restrictions in order for us not to be able to take the money from our CPF accounts.
exact sentiments.Originally posted by LifeIsWonderful:I have got a deep suspicion that Singapore government keeps coming up with these CPF new rules and regulations so that we cannot touch our CPF money is because they invested our CPF money and do not have accessible money at the moment to return us, so coming up with these new laws and restrictions in order for us not to be able to take the money from our CPF accounts.
Ah yes...the 'cheap' solution to high wages - hire freshies to replace experienced and expensive staff, but ironically expect MORE from these untested newbies.Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:Whether you like it or not, companies gun for people with a university degree for management positions etc.
As for more experienced veterans, the problem is that companies prefer a younger employee so that it can pay them less. I suspect this is particularly prevalent in local SMEs, which have a reputation for treating their employees like dirt. The big MNCs, excepting the Asian ones, have less of this problem
Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:go on riot! vote them out!
Well I say screw the government.
It is our money and we jolly well decide what to do with it. If they really "care" so much about the citizens, go do something for the citizens, go do something for the old aged.
Stop torturing the young and the old at the same time.
[b]STUPID USELESS PAP. USELESS CRAP.[/b]
I'm going to say u don't have a choice under such circumstance.Originally posted by bladez87:i think this policy is crap. ya if the family is cpf rich but cash poor, shouldnt they use their CPF. what for keep so much $ for retirement, and suffer now? screwed reasoning seriously.
elites will have enough $ so education for them is more or less guaranteed. however i am from lower income family, if i cant use my parents cpf, how the fvk am i suppose to survive? so while the poor are slogging their guts out to earn $ for education, the elites will be having fun and enjoy. what is the consquences of this policy? driving the income range wider? so that the elites will always be elite while the poor always be poor? dont say what can study and be successful, studying and working is very tedious. and when u r deprived of the chance to study because of some fvking retirement fund for your parents, then what am i going to do? start working at 1k per month so that i can also save for my fvking retirement when i not even sure if i can survive daily until then.
dont give me crap that we can go work before poly. the amount earned before poly lets say , 1k? after poly it will be 1k + . wouldnt it be wiser to study first before working given that i will earn more in the same amount of time?
what for live so miserably just so that we can be "assured" of our retirement fund, what makes u think that the retirement fund will even be used. what if something untowards happen because we cant survive? sure u have read about the man who suicided on the mrt tracks.
seriously think that the government of singapore really needs to be in touch with the working class. maybe a change in government can void all this rubbish policies.
to survive in singapore, you must be FT or elite. working class have no say.
Precisely.Originally posted by _Aaron_:Isn't that the greatest reason why we are allowed to dip into the CPF of our parents for a loan, in which we return later via instalements when we're working?
And i like what walesa said, "Why should the state be allowed to dictate how parents could help their children out with their own money?"
yalorOriginally posted by 798:my parents actually dun mind whether i am repaying them back.
the stupid thing bout cpf is... u spend ur own family money, u have to pay interest back in cash? why cant i use my cpf to transfer to my parents?
afterall cpf is the money we have no idea where it goes to until we can no longer work.
no wonder now the government r increasing so many uni intakes. this is done so dat many of us will be in debt when most of us aint affortable the sch fee.
to dated, i have this cpf loan, computer loan n study loan (ocbc), it will take me a long time to repay back.Originally posted by browniebaobao:yalor
wana go further studies also scared scared..
haven even repay my poly fees.. duno how long then can clear.. dun dare to think abt degree..![]()
I can tell you what is crap. What you said is pure crap. Why don't you say that they should scrape the CPF all together since it is no use, anyway we can all pick cans and flip burgers till the day we die... since we are so full of spirit!Originally posted by boka:As said earlier,my white uncle in britatin earns only 5k+ in the uk and he is unable to get a loan for her daughter.
So what did they do?
the daughter flip burgers throught university.
That should be the spirit.
U cant use what u gonna obtain as a reason to convince others to give u wat u need.
Because if that is the case,wouldn't it be a smooth ride to go to the bank asking loans to set up a MNC and telling them your gurantor is the future sucess of the company itself.
What crap!