Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:And if u do not have enough for your old age?
I can tell you what is crap. What you said is pure crap. Why don't you say that they should scrape the CPF all together since it is no use, anyway we can all pick cans and flip burgers till the day we die... since we are so full of spirit!
The CPF is our money, if I want to use [b]MY CPF for MY CHILD so that he or she can have a good future, it is MY DECISION. You go babysit your own freaking child and LEAVE MY CHILD'S FUTURE ALONE OK?!
What crap![/b]
I believe the govt has good intentions here. The repayment with interest is meant to ensure as if your parent's CPF has never been touched. This helps one towards the accumulation of retirement funds.Originally posted by _Aaron_:But seriously, even if we do take a loan from our parent's CPF, why on earth do we need to return it with Interest? I mean, isn't it our parent's money? We should know what to do with our CPF instead of the govt running it for us..
this is the most ridiculous thing i have ever heard.Originally posted by Rock^Star:I believe the govt has good intentions here. The repayment with interest is meant to ensure as if your parent's CPF has never been touched. This helps one towards the accumulation of retirement funds.
The issue is that people used to be able to take out their funds at 55, and that parents can choose to waive the repayment component of the CPF education loan when they reach 55.Originally posted by Rock^Star:I believe the govt has good intentions here. The repayment with interest is meant to ensure as if your parent's CPF has never been touched. This helps one towards the accumulation of retirement funds.
very good point but what happens when u depleted your savings and your children is unable to return or does not want to return.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Let me say it once and for all.
Do not presume to tell people what they should do with their money. That goes for those in support as well.
So what, now everyone wants to play policymaker is it? Since when did everyone started caring?
If I make the choice to pay for my kids, and I am willing to risk they not paying me back, what gives you the holy-assed right to tell me that I'm a doofus and that I'm a parasite by association?
Idiots.
WEL SPOKEN!Originally posted by Rock^Star:I also believe that the govt has to play a part in managing CPF funds for Singaporeans. Not everyone is financially savvy. I hear a lot of talk that it's "our money" but seriously, if we are able to take our CPF contributions and put it in our bank accounts, can we ensure a tidy retirement amount in our golden years? You may but not everyone can.
Bank accounts tend to fluctuate in order to meet short and long term expenditure. Forced saving is the way to go for those not financially or investment savvy.
However, there are a few ways that the govt has abused this authority to manage CPF funds.
1) Raising retirement age. Singaporeans do not have such a long life expectancy yet for the age to be raised to 65.
2) If HDB prices were not so high, then surely more Singaporeans can meet the minimum sum by the age of 55.
Instead of acknowledging that HDBs are overpriced, which in my opinion is the chief reason for many not achieiving their minimum sums, they rectify error with error by attempting to raise the retirement age.
Perhaps instead of raising the age, the govt should invest money to educate retiring Singaporeans on how they can park their money in bonds and funds, so that they shall have more cash for their golden years.
But what does the govt do? Increase age to 65. Simple. Hassle free. I have to shake my head in disagreement here.
You do not pay yourself interest.Originally posted by dragg:this is the most ridiculous thing i have ever heard.
paying myself interest!!!![]()
can't do that already? WTFOriginally posted by LazerLordz:The issue is that people used to be able to take out their funds at 55, and that parents can choose to waive the repayment component of the CPF education loan when they reach 55.
Originally posted by LazerLordz:The issue is that people used to be able to take out their funds at 55, and that parents can choose to waive the repayment component of the CPF education loan when they reach 55.
Can we trust the government to have the right to take this fundamental choice and liberty of decision from the parents? I think not.
This option to withdraw at 55 will also be gone in a few years, possibly as early as 2009.Originally posted by LazerLordz:The issue is that people used to be able to take out their funds at 55, and that parents can choose to waive the repayment component of the CPF education loan when they reach 55.
Can we trust the government to have the right to take this fundamental choice and liberty of decision from the parents? I think not.
if you withdraw money out from the bank do you put it back plus interest?Originally posted by Rock^Star:You do not pay yourself interest.
I reiterate: "The repayment with interest is meant to ensure as if your parent's CPF has never been touched."
Well, the government has shown that every time it meddles, crap happens.Originally posted by boka:very good point but what happens when u depleted your savings and your children is unable to return or does not want to return.
Yes,u wouldn't mind them not returning but your problem has become the society concern because the people will not be happy that their tax goes into paying your expenses in the age home.
The government has to set in and clear the pile of mess.
As if we do not have homeless people running about the streets,the society as a whoole do not wish to be weight down by more of such social problems.
Would a better way not be your son putting aside few years of prudent savings,borrow a little from you and the bank?THEN actually bite a hug amount off your CPF at one shot?
look,we all have to undestand that the ageing population is a growing concern.
A bank account's primary aim is to hold money for income and expenditure purposes.Originally posted by dragg:if you withdraw money out from the bank do you put it back plus interest?
this is silly. why do i have to top up the interest when i am using my own money?
Khaw Boon Wan has mentioned the "3 safety nets" for Singaporeans: Medisave, Medishield and Medifund.Originally posted by LazerLordz:That's an adequate response to this whole shebang. It's mighty time the government shifts towards a more equitable national insurance system if it's really worried about an aging population. Many of my peers feel that it's time that we increase our income taxes in return for a social welfare scheme for retireees.
Secondly, are you so sure that there isn't a rising number of Singaporeans who prefer higher income taxes and a consequent strong safety net in their old age? Your assumption that people will not be happy, is very similar to the lines that the Ministry loved to spout for decades. You should not assume that society thinks A or society thinks B.
how much do you think the interest is? do you seriously think it will make a difference to your retirement status?Originally posted by Rock^Star:I believe the govt has good intentions here. The repayment with interest is meant to ensure as if your parent's CPF has never been touched. This helps one towards the accumulation of retirement funds.
And that amount used for education, is actually not a large sum in comparison to the amount you will actually need for retirement.Originally posted by dragg:how much do you think the interest is? do you seriously think it will make a difference to your retirement status?
they use the money for investment purposes!!!
you comparing banks ( profit orientated organization) to your lao bei lao bu (your parents) on money loans? u idiot or what?Originally posted by boka:I'm going to say u don't have a choice under such circumstance.
because if you are going to keep emphasizing such scenarios,it is very easy for me to say why aren't the banks giving me a full pledge loan so i can study through uni instead of working my guts out with a diploma?
wouldn't it be so much better if i can get my degree and get a higher paying job to return that loan?
In life when u don't hve a choice u make full use of what u have to your advantage to acheive what u want.
As said earlier,my white uncle in britatin earns only 5k+ in the uk and he is unable to get a loan for her daughter.
So what did they do?
the daughter flip burgers throught university.
That should be the spirit.
U cant use what u gonna obtain as a reason to convince others to give u wat u need.
Because if that is the case,wouldn't it be a smooth ride to go to the bank asking loans to set up a MNC and telling them your gurantor is the future sucess of the company itself.
What crap!
the interest is little to the individual but a lot to the cpf board, accumulated.Originally posted by LazerLordz:And that amount used for education, is actually not a large sum in comparison to the amount you will actually need for retirement.
If you are at a stage where 20k is almost all you have left for your retirement, then I'd say God bless you because your financial planning when you were alive, was damned shoddy.
Taking bits of interest from each member seems like a move made in desperation.Originally posted by dragg:the interest is little to the individual but a lot to the cpf board, accumulated.
thats why they are so particular about it.
I can easily expose what u dun understand here.Originally posted by bladez87:you comparing banks ( profit orientated organization) to your lao bei lao bu (your parents) on money loans? u idiot or what?
haha
u dont make sense. crap more likely. you mean your success is guaranteed? i didnt say that in my post. dont anyhow infer. please dont twist my words and wack on the twisted meaning.
comparing SG to UK. lol. UK got welfare, SG have?