correction, it is the master of the academy of medicine not the chairman, the top person of the academy. don't think there is chariman, there is chairman for the committes, but the overall in charge is the master. it is the master I meant to mention above.Originally posted by qlqq9:May be he is speaking in his capacity as a Finance Minister? Notice he engages in money talks most of the time if not at all times.
Oh yes, now that you mentioned about that chairman of academy of medicine, ya, i know his existence - not a good person. I have unpleasant encounters with him. He is another heavy weight in the medical field. Involved in matters related to gahmen. so . . . . .. !?!
if u notice whatever it is, most of the time in the contents of his speech $$$$ matters.Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:If he is, he's doing, as usual, a bad job of putting forward his points.
Who the heck is his speech writer anyway? Or does he even have any?
he talks as if doctors are blind, not taking necessary precaution and so on to treat patients. don't treat drs like idiots. Doctors know best when to and when not to. Who is he to talk about such matter? He has no medical background.Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:I have a feeling our dear PM is going to force doctors to make a decision when the patient is deemed too ill to treat and ignore the concerns of the immediate family members.
This sounds more like forced euthanasia rather than euthanasia with choice.
It makes no sense for the PM to "advise" them to not prolong their life unless he is intending to resort to some measure to force them to comply.
Has he decided when to declare when one should die and one not?
And Crazy Monkey, those euthanasia cases in countries where it is authorised are decided upon by either patient or the immediate family, and if I am not wrong, the patient must consent to it.
erm.. when he is ill in future, his hospital bills are covered.. dun forget..Originally posted by qlqq9:he talks as if doctors are blind, not taking necessary precaution and so on to treat patients. don't treat drs like idiots. Doctors know best when to and when not to. Who is he to talk about such matter? He has no medical background.
When in future, if he is terminal ill, we shall say to him don't waste the hospital's time, $$$ and resources, please opt for blah blah blah to release him from pain on earth!
Let's just wait and see if he makes euthanasia a must for terminally ill patients, unless the patients opt out.
I mean if - if in future he instructed hospitals to make it such euthanasia is a must for terminally ill patients unless patients opt out, like what they do to the organs of the dead currently, then we shall say to him happy euthaniasia to end his suffering.Originally posted by 4getmenot:erm.. when he is ill in future, his hospital bills are covered.. dun forget..![]()
Originally posted by Devil1976:ppl shd have a right to choose. one day if your love one is suffering terribly and wish to end it would you want to see them suffer ?
No wonder our society has turn more and more heartless... Funny when we were constantly told we should contribute and help each other... That Singaporeans should be more caring when words like these are coming out from our leaders... Yup... 'Solving' of society problem by setting the 'norm'. Always easier said by the people on top than to be carried out by the people below... Because ultimately guess who would be the ones being stabbed...? Also, the reason why people are no longer willing to produce for the future of Singapore... If they can say something like this today... Who can guarantee they won't say those who are handicapped or not contributing to the society should be get rid of in the future....? Talk about human ethics... Pouring out and throwing people around like they're jsut statistics and numbers alone ain't gonna work... Each one of them are flesh and blood... And LIKELY CONTRIBUTED for what SINGAPORE [b]IN TODAY....
And CrazyMonkey... Quit spamming the thread with your biased articles... I can find equal number of stories about how people are glad to have their dear ones around till the day they die if not more... This is not about quantity... This is about quality....[/b]
No MRI on weekends, blame it on 'bad luck'
MY FATHER, Ang Teong Hui, was admitted recently to Changi General Hospital, where he was diagnosed with a mild stroke. However, his condition deteriorated and he fell into a coma on the same day.
The doctors did various tests on him and took scans of his brain where they eventually found the cause of his deteriorating condition.
However, the last scan - an MRI - was done a day after he was admitted, after the doctors felt that he might not pull through and needed the scan urgently.
When asked why the scan was not done earlier, the doctor replied that it was bad luck on my father's part as MRI scans were not done on weekends.
After my father was transferred out of the intensive-care unit to a normal ward, we asked one of the nurses why such a piece of state-of-the-art equipment was not used on weekends.
The nurse replied that it was unfair to recall the doctors just to do the scan because weekends were supposed to be their rest days.
Well, if it was unfair for the doctors to work on weekends, was it fair for my father to be denied treatment on a weekend, especially when the situation was so crucial?
My father died on Oct 8, aged 53, and there is nothing my family and I can do to bring him back. But I would like to make it known to Changi General Hospital and the relevant government departments that attitudes such as those mentioned above were incorrect.
Ang Yu Ying (Ms)
The Straits Times
Oct 29, 2004
Doctor prescribed unsuitable rash cream
I AM writing to highlight a very unpleasant experience I had with Thomson Paediatric Centre at Thomson Medical Centre.
On Feb 1, I brought my then four-month-old baby to see the pediatrician for a rash on his cheeks. The consultation with the doctor was over in about five minutes as he had to rush off elsewhere.
The doctor prescribed Elidel (pimecrolimus) cream 1% for the rash and told me to apply it twice daily on the affected area. Although this cream cost me $50, I did not mind as I thought it should be good for my son. But this was not the case.
Imagine my shock when I found out through the Internet that Elidel is not approved for use for children below two-years-old.
The possibility of carcinogenicity of Elidel aside, our Health Sciences Authority (HSA) and the US Food and Drug Administration concur in the recommendation against the use of Elidel for children younger than two-years-old.
In addition, both authorities recommend that Elidel should be used only if other creams have not worked.
It was my baby's first visit to the doctor concerning the rash on his face. Yet he was given a cream that is not meant for babies of his age. The doctor also did not caution me on the use of the cream.
I e-mailed Thomson Medical Centre my complaint on Feb 11. To date, it has not responded.
I am disturbed by the lack of consideration in prescribing Elidel for babies against the HSA's recommendations and the medical centre's slow response in this matter.
Are there any measures to ensure that such strong medication is not prescribed carelessly? I hope the relevant authorities can look into this matter to protect other babies and parents who may be none the wiser about this.
Ruth Tan Yueh Herng (Ms)
The Straits Times
Feb 23, 2006
Sick child waited 1 1/2 hours to see A&E doc
ON THE day the letter, 'Three-hour wait at KK's A&E Department' (ST, March 7), was published, my son too came down with vomiting, diarrhoea and fever.
He experienced excessive thirst but would throw up shortly after drinking water. As he was showing signs of dehydration, my wife and I decided to take him to a hospital after midnight.
Unfortunately, having missed reading the papers that day, we took him to KK Hospital in the belief that we could get immediate help at the 24-hour children's emergency ward. How wrong we were.
Despite being put on the 'priority' list, it was only 1 1/2 hours later that we finally saw the doctor. The check-up was simple and was over in 15 minutes.
We decided to admit him for observation, and for him to get some rest. Then came more drama. The admission process took some 40 minutes. I was asked to sign in some 10 different places, and the staff (whose English was hardly comprehensible) was going back and forth photocopying forms.
Apparently, we could not send our son up to the room before all the forms were completed. It was close to 4am before he got to his bed. My wife fell sick the next morning.
It seems hospitals here take more care of paperwork and payments than of the sick. The fact is that there will always be many cases which, although not life-and-death situations, cannot exactly wait until the next day. What should we do in such cases?
I would also like to know if the Ministry of Health could publish statistics on waiting times in A&E wards. Also, whether there are any guidelines governing this.
Agus Tirtoredjo
The Straits Times
March 23, 2006
Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:High prices for common drugs in HDB heartland
MY CHILD was sick, down with a bad cough, sore throat, runny nose and a slight fever on Feb 16. At 9pm, our family doctor had left so we went to another private clinic - 'Street 11 Clinic' at Block 139 Tampines Street 11.
After a brief consultation, she was given these medicines cough syrup (one bottle, 'Dhasedyl, 90ml'); a packet of 'Danzen' (20 tablets, 5mg) for the throat; 'Telfast D' (10 tablets) for runny nose and antibiotics 'Klacid MR' (five 500mg tablets for throat and nose).
I was astonished when I received the bill. These medicines cost me $80. I am puzzled at the high cost because I believe that my daughter's symptoms were fairly common and she was treated by a locum.
I feel the clinic had either overcharged and jacked up the price of common drugs, or did it give me unnecessarily expensive drugs for a common illness
I asked the receptionist for a breakdown of the cost of the various medicines. To my surprise, the staff informed me that the five antibiotic tablets alone cost $37.
I believe Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan had mentioned that affordable medicines be provided for patients at reasonable prices. Yet the clinic in our heartlands is charging drugs such as 'Klacid MR' at an exorbitant price. This is a worrying problem which I hope can be addressed to benefit the masses.
Gan Siok Wah (Mdm)
The Straits Times
Feb 23, 2006
Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:High prices for common drugs in HDB heartland
MY CHILD was sick, down with a bad cough, sore throat, runny nose and a slight fever on Feb 16. At 9pm, our family doctor had left so we went to another private clinic - 'Street 11 Clinic' at Block 139 Tampines Street 11.
After a brief consultation, she was given these medicines cough syrup (one bottle, 'Dhasedyl, 90ml'); a packet of 'Danzen' (20 tablets, 5mg) for the throat; 'Telfast D' (10 tablets) for runny nose and antibiotics 'Klacid MR' (five 500mg tablets for throat and nose).
I was astonished when I received the bill. These medicines cost me $80. I am puzzled at the high cost because I believe that my daughter's symptoms were fairly common and she was treated by a locum.
I feel the clinic had either overcharged and jacked up the price of common drugs, or did it give me unnecessarily expensive drugs for a common illness
I asked the receptionist for a breakdown of the cost of the various medicines. To my surprise, the staff informed me that the five antibiotic tablets alone cost $37.
I believe Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan had mentioned that affordable medicines be provided for patients at reasonable prices. Yet the clinic in our heartlands is charging drugs such as 'Klacid MR' at an exorbitant price. This is a worrying problem which I hope can be addressed to benefit the masses.
Gan Siok Wah (Mdm)
The Straits Times
Feb 23, 2006