Well, well, you said it, you brought up very good points. Precisely my sentiments as well.Originally posted by turdkenstien:Well there is a greater co-relation between law and politics than medicine and labor economics, eg Dr Ng.
What I am trying to say is that many of our ministers are in politics by virtue of them being government scholars and not because of their previous track record.
While I agree with your point that one does not have to necessarily read politics to become a politician. Most of the presidential candidates in the democrat party in the US hold law degrees as well, Hilary Clinton, Obama Barrack, John Edwards etc. In my opinion, the skills that are learnt from being trained in law definately is more relevant when one decides to embark on a career in politics.
That being said, would you agree with me that someone with a rigourous training in economics would be a better fit to head the Ministry of Labor?
14 out of 40 will come back sooner or later. What about the rest?Originally posted by Gedanken:The big question is why the government's putting so much elbow grease into this cattle drive. With all the rhetoric about economic prospects and home being where the heart is, one might expect this kind of thing to sell itself.
Somehow, I'm reminded about the one time I got strong-armed to attend an MLM presentation. There was this guy on the stage, showing off his 1000-acre property, telling everybody about his cars and private jet. When he said, "once you get it all up and running, you don't have to work for your money anymore". I thought, "Well, that being the case, what the f*ck are you doing here?", got up and left.
Why did they call this shindig Confluence anyway? If it was supposed to be an amalgamation of Con and influence, they don't seem to have done very well at either.
They wanna have the best of both worlds.Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Shows that the Singapore government is not doing what it is supposed to do,eg. creating a more economicably feasible nation.
Do you think that's possible?Originally posted by qlqq9:They wanna have the best of both worlds.
Judging from LKY's comments about other countries, Singapore looks like a gerbil fancying itself an elephant rapist. Do you honestly think the powers-that-be are particularly concerned about what's sane, much less what's possible?Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Do you think that's possible?
Which countries u refering to?Originally posted by Gedanken:Judging from LKY's comments about other countries, Singapore looks like a gerbil trying to rape an elephant. Do you honestly think the powers-that-be are particularly concerned about what's sane, much less what's possible?
They did attempt to try.Originally posted by Gedanken:Judging from LKY's comments about other countries, Singapore looks like a gerbil trying to rape an elephant. Do you honestly think the powers-that-be are particularly concerned about what's sane, much less what's possible?
Not possible at present, unless they do something to change. Lower the cost of living, come out with incentives for these to come back, change the way they run Singapore.Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Do you think that's possible?
I have a colleuge in NS graduated from Ivy leauge university n he awol upon being marked by our superiors. I rememer some of the bond breakersOriginally posted by qlqq9:Not possible at present, unless they do something to change. Lower the cost of living, come out with incentives for these to come back, change the way they run Singapore.
So far they have not changed anything to suit the people of Singapore, and I don't think they ever will. They will change to suit their own selfish desires and wants but not change for the people. Really, if I am able to, I will leave. It is stifling to live here, and this is one of the reasons why singapore overseas students don't wanna come back.
ha ha ha! If he has better offer why come back.Originally posted by will4:I have a colleuge in NS graduated from Ivy leauge university n he awol upon being marked by our superiors. I rememer some of the bond breakers
refused to come back n the companies which hired them offered to pay the school fees to the govt.
Precisely in here there is too many limitation at the most the local can buy HDB flat compared to what they can get in other countries.Originally posted by qlqq9:ha ha ha! If he has better offer why come back.
Originally posted by turdkenstien:Put statistics aside for a moment, and try and appreciate what you have here from a physical and experience standpoint.
going by the statistics that someone posted(http://www.benbest.com/lifeext/murder.html), singapore has a murder rate of 4.3/100,000 people and new york city has a murder rate of 6.6/100,000 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crime_in_New_York_City).
A comparison of these two statistics show that Singapore certainly [b] IS NOT as safe as some people on this forum claim it to be[/b]
fair enough..Originally posted by BillyBong:Put statistics aside for a moment, and try and appreciate what you have here from a physical and experience standpoint.
Say what we like about our gahmen, we have to agree that some measure of safety and personal well-being can be guaranteed if you walk the streets of Singapore at any time of the day.
The chances of getting mugged, robbed or raped are negligible as compared to being hit by a car, where driving accidents have spiked in recent years.
I can only name a two countries which i have visited and feel equally safe - New Zealand and Switzerland.
At the end of the day, miss not the forest in your search for trees.
With the greatest respect and looking at safety from purely a perspective entailing crimes, I've never felt safer than I had been in North Korea (and I don't mean this as a pun or a joke) - well, that stands so long as you don't test your luck by doing something that could potentially test the patience of Kim and his minions. That doesn't say much, does it?Originally posted by BillyBong:Put statistics aside for a moment, and try and appreciate what you have here from a physical and experience standpoint.
Say what we like about our gahmen, we have to agree that some measure of safety and personal well-being can be guaranteed if you walk the streets of Singapore at any time of the day.
The chances of getting mugged, robbed or raped are negligible as compared to being hit by a car, where driving accidents have spiked in recent years.
I can only name a two countries which i have visited and feel equally safe - New Zealand and Switzerland.
At the end of the day, miss not the forest in your search for trees.
This regime can offer more than a lot for themselves, as for taking care and offer to the common people, it is really getting worst.Originally posted by walesa:With the greatest respect and looking at safety from purely a perspective entailing crimes, I've never felt safer than I had been in North Korea (and I don't mean this as a pun or a joke) - well, that stands so long as you don't test your luck by doing something that could potentially test the patience of Kim and his minions. That doesn't say much, does it?
That alone hardly masks a clear picture of the grim realities that exist which any individual must take as a package where residency/citizenship issues are concerned - and quite plainly, the deal offered by this regime to the most able and capable is hardly remotely appealing enough to compete with what numerous other countries could offer on the planet.
Yes, without these MIWs Singapore is a wonderful country. If they are so desperate to get the overseas students back, they just need to do them and us a big favour, just get out and let a new party who will work for the good and benefits of the people take over.Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Singapore is a wonderful country, but it is being runned by a government that thinks it is perfect.
PAP thinks it is perfect.
PAP does what it likes.
PAP does not believe in engaging the people in a sensible debate.
PAP does not believe in anymore else other than themselves.
Singapore is a great country to be in, other than the megalomaniac government.
they just do it for "wayang" and collection of data that is all, don't think they will bother to change to suit anyone. When have they ever listen to the voice of the people of Singapore. There is no other voice, theirs is the one and only! We are just here to follow and obey.Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Just received an email from a government portal. Seems they are desperately trying to engage those overseas actively.
Been receiving updates and even a survey on what those overseas people feel about Singapore.
yes, most of them are here just to earn big bucks and go back. so far, I have not come across any of them who study here and stay on forever.Originally posted by will4:I talked to some foreign student n they mentioned they prefer to work here for some years before going back to their countries.
Singapore is not a prime location in terms of migration, compared to other countries in terms of democracy. You won't attract real talents with a draconian regime, only average joes and serfs. Real talents do not like to have their thoughts and experiences restricted.Originally posted by qlqq9:yes, most of them are here just to earn big bucks and go back. so far, I have not come across any of them who study here and stay on forever.
Govt wasting taxpayers' $$$ on the scholarship students from overseas. Let them study and work here, when they earn enough , they will return to their countries.This sicko gahmen could have spent $$$ more wisely rather than spend on these overseas students.
yes, and I always encourage them to stay there if they are given better opportunities for advancement. in fact, almost every of the overseas students I know of have no problem getting jobs there. Instead, I know of a couple of overseas grads singaporeans who come back here to find jobs are having difficulty looking for jobs.Originally posted by luvelle:our gahmen prefers to invest on 'overseas talents', who steal our resources and return to their respective countries once they achieved their goals. these so-called 'talents' come here study/work and push us to the lower end of the bell-curve in terms of academia and work performance. of cos its easier for them cos got gahmen give them more opportunities. how about the rest of the 'average singaporeans' who slog and slog but have no chance to rise 'cos no one ever gave them the chance to show their full potential?
anyway for our own students that study abroad, most of them prefers to stay overseas. however, most of them are sponsored by govt bonds/scholarships. trapped to work for the gahmen forever.![]()