By "Metaphorical"]That why I say, you all har, never go listen mp talk & teach! No wonder, ask this type stupid thing & question!
Ok basically this is how:
If gov now say: ok, stop hospital now & sell hospital land.
You all know how many many many moneys gov can earn or not? Joe, sg land price not cheap ok! You got see sgh hospital how big or not? If sell sgh hospital land you know how many money gov can take or not?
Like my mp say before, if gov stop do hospital business, gov can earn 2 side money:
1. sell the land got money
2. stop hospital meaning no need waste money!
so since gov never stop hospital for you all, of course you all must compensate gov back abit lah! Fair what like this! If no compensate, then gov better sell whole hospital & land give people build shopping center & earn more money! Simple as that!
ok after you compensate gov land price, if you poor people, then gov can give you discount depend you class c, b or A. If class A meaning you rich, so little discount. If class c meaning you poor so give you 80% discount. Must take care poor people mah! Simple as that!
Like you always like to say, it is as simple as that - government has never subsidized medical cares for senior citizens or the sick or public housing since Minister Mah Boh Tan changed the housing pricing formula from development costs to market values in the 1970s.
Because by making monies he could get a better career advancement but he forgets that he did not make monies for the whole country from outside but only from the people.
How good can a government be if that government only knows how to make monies from its people and not create bigger cakes for the economy like selling more Toyota cars to the world?
So my answer to your so-called 80% subsidy is as simple as that - there is no government subsidy.
If you insist that the government will lose monies by developing hospitals instead of some other commercial complexes or there is a government subsidy of 80%, answer the following questions first :
(1) What is a government - is it a developer like Far East or Li Ka Shing definitely must buy and sell lands to make profits?
(2) What are the taxes like GST collected for - is it to keep as surpluses or reserves?
(3) Why when it comes to port Pelepas or SIA, MM Lee has to change policies and really lower land costs in order to retain PSA's position so as not to be overtaken by mass migration of major shippers.
(4) Why did the parliament pass the Housing and Development Act and Land Acquisition Act - was it not to provide low cost housing to the people?
(5) Were the lands acquired at cheap prices under the LAA by HDB and all the government departments and hospitals not for the purpose of public use including essential medical services people pay taxes for ?
(6) Why did the HDB not tell the truths about the so-called housing subsidy?
(7) If government already made windfall land profits why not plough back part of such profits to lower the rising costs of living and increase our business competitiveness for the whole country instead of squeezing people's CPF or increasing more GST.
(

In presenting GST increases this year, why didn't PM tell the parliament how much windfall profits government has been making ( he should be aware NKF problem is exactly of the same nature) and is still making on the land acquisitions and HDB flat sales (at market prices forgetting to mention land profits already made when flats in the first place are supposed to be built in these acquired lands without profiteering)
If minister Lui or Mah insists to counter cyber postings or engagint people in robust debates as challenged then he should give people here substantive and factual replies to the above-stated 8 questions at least to clear the air. (remember they are the talents worth millions of salaries)
With such issues put away we can then begin the build the nation. If they can satisfy people with good answers then I am sure people will accept their talents and wisdom and will not trouble them with these issues about HDB or hospitals profiteering again.