No I don't think they lack those knowledge...Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:The Sadder truth, is that idiots like that deranged zebra, and that mad bull, and that parasitic mushroom, is that they have a sore lacking in knowledge of basic economics, and there is such a thing as a povety line, and as such, there is a % of the population who can barely make ends meet. Just because they are hiding in their HDB flats does not mean they have basic necessities like power and water.
Originally posted by HyperFocal:It might surprise you that despite some singaporeans being poor they still have a roof above their head.
[b]"You go down New York, Broadway. You will see the beggars, people of the streets...Where are the beggars in Singapore? Show me."
Lee Kuan Yew
The Tuth About Poverty
I guess when you are paid to do a job, you have to do it no matter how stupid you are going to look.Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:The Sadder truth, is that idiots like that deranged zebra, and that mad bull, and that parasitic mushroom, is that they have a sore lacking in knowledge of basic economics, and there is such a thing as a povety line, and as such, there is a % of the population who can barely make ends meet. Just because they are hiding in their HDB flats does not mean they have basic necessities like power and water.
Yes, roof over their heads to die under in poverty...Originally posted by Gazelle:It might surprise you that despite some singaporeans being poor they still have a roof above their head.
And please dont keep recycling back the same article here, we have read it a thousand times liao.
We are talking about homeless isnt it? switching topic?Originally posted by HyperFocal:Yes, roof over their heads to die under in poverty...
Recycled because they were usually not admitted to, or simply side-stepped...
No, was following your topical deviations...Originally posted by Gazelle:We are talking about homeless isnt it? switching topic?
This thread isn't about New York, or about dick sucking or any color...Originally posted by Gazelle:Please stop attacking Singapore like a white di.ck sucker leh...lets talk about NY lah..
1) Picking empty cans is a ways of make a living, not begging, please dont look down on these people. They are not as useless as you.Originally posted by maurizio13:Hyperfocal:
Does picking up aluminium drink cans, selling tissue papers, begging in hawker centers and begging outside heartland shopping malls count as begging?
I think those PAP propaganda agents have blinkers on when they walking along the streets.
1) Now scavenging empty cans in the rubbish bins is a profession?Originally posted by Gazelle:1) Picking empty cans is a ways of make a living, not begging, please dont look down on these people. They are not as useless as you.
2) Havent you heard of fake beggers in Singapore?
3) Could you direct us to a place where you will often see beggers?
No, these people are desperate, and have no other means to make a living - lacking both in financial resources as well as education...Originally posted by maurizio13:Hyperfocal:
Does picking up aluminium drink cans, selling tissue papers, begging in hawker centers and begging outside heartland shopping malls count as begging?
I think those PAP propaganda agents have blinkers on when they walking along the streets.
Yah, begging, selling tissue paper, scavenging for aluminium drink cans, scavenging the garbage dump for cardboard all also make money, so it's profession.Originally posted by HyperFocal:No, these people are desperate, and have no other means to make a living - lacking both in financial resources as well as education...
And here in SG, WHATEVER you do that makes you some money, you have to be Taxed for it. So whoever they can't Tax for income, is deemed Begging, Illegal Hawking and such...
The rules are: If you MAKE, THEY must MAKE too...
If he is a true follower of the MIW, yes of course he will...Originally posted by maurizio13:Yah, begging, selling tissue paper, scavenging for aluminium drink cans, scavenging the garbage dump for cardboard all also make money, so it's profession.
Last night I was at a heartland shopping mall, outside there is this elderly lady sitting on the pavement selling tissue paper. I wonder if Gazelle is going to report her to the authorities to ask her apply for license or fine her.
What sort of pri.ck will claim that selling tissure paper and collecting empty cans is begging?Originally posted by maurizio13:Yah, begging, selling tissue paper, scavenging for aluminium drink cans, scavenging the garbage dump for cardboard all also make money, so it's profession.
Last night I was at a heartland shopping mall, outside there is this elderly lady sitting on the pavement selling tissue paper. I wonder if Gazelle is going to report her to the authorities to ask her apply for license or fine her.
Normally those that resort to begging are the elderly and the handicapped.Originally posted by HyperFocal:No, these people are desperate, and have no other means to make a living - lacking both in financial resources as well as education...
And here in SG, WHATEVER you do that makes you some money, you have to be Taxed for it. So whoever they can't Tax for income, is deemed Begging, Illegal Hawking and such...
The rules are: If you MAKE, THEY must MAKE too...
No, not his parents, the government...Originally posted by Gazelle:What sort of pri.ck will claim that selling tissure paper and collecting empty cans is begging?
Maybe your parent has teach you to look down on such people huh?
di.ck!!
The government has a phobia of being made liable to the wellbeing of the people...Originally posted by maurizio13:Normally those that resort to begging are the elderly and the handicapped.
Although I am not rich, but everytime I see those handicapped I always give $10. Quite sad case, due to their disabilities they are not able to find work, but does government care about them, give them social welfare to maintain an average standard of living.
No!!!! Their theory being that we are not a welfare state, if everybody chooses to be like handicap then it won't be fair for those who are working so hard. While the handicap just sit at home and collect welfare checks. I seriously think the government should do more to help those handicap who are begging.
Yah.Originally posted by HyperFocal:If he is a true follower of the MIW, yes of course he will...
It's the RULE, the Law of MIW...
There can be NO free Lunches...!
You think what the government doing is right?Originally posted by HyperFocal:The government has a phobia of being made liable to the wellbeing of the people...
They are more concern with protecting their financia reserves, for God knows what..we don't know...
Originally posted by maurizio13:I'm aware articles of this nature are around in print, but I also know they are conveniently (and rather hastily) labelled as 'One Off' incidences and brushed under their plush carpets with a few token statements that they will look into taking care of the Need / Poor...
Yah.
If they are under the MIW's payroll they have to do what they are paid to do.
You know there is this article in our local propaganda media, about our elderly being malnourished (when clinically tested by doctors) because they cannot afford proper meals, they say the cost of living is too high for them, they have to resort to eating plain rice and bread to make ends meet.
Poverty among Singapore's elderly makes it hard for many to afford good food
By Eveline Gan, TODAY | Posted: 14 June 2005 1114 hrs
SINGAPORE : Two years ago, Mr Lee Yeow Keong was hardly more than skin and bones.
Suffering from malnutrition and mild dementia, the 70-year-old bachelor, who lived alone, got by with food given to him by kind-hearted neighbours or social workers.
While many elderly people often have no idea what nutrition is, Mr Lee understood the importance of having healthy and balanced meals. [b]But with his meagre takings of $25 a day from his part-time jobs at bookstores and newsstands, he could not afford to eat well.
Speaking to Today in Mandarin, he said: "I knew that it was important for old people to eat nourishing food but by the time I paid for other expenses like rent, there wasn't much money left for buying nourishing food."
Despite living in a first world country, Mr Lee is not the only elderly person in Singapore suffering from malnutrition.
With the number of elderly people steadily increasing in Singapore, geriatric malnutrition is on the rise too.
In 2001, 25 percent of patients aged 61 years and above at Tan Tock Seng Hospital were found to suffer from malnutrition.
I guess in 2007 with the increases in cost of living, there will be more malnourished eldery folks.
Geriatric malnutrition can be attributed to changes in lifestyles and habits, medical, social or economic factors, as is the case with Mr Lee.
Ms Anna Jacobs, director of Food and Nutrition Specialists Pte Ltd, said: "The elderly are particularly prone to malnutrition because they may experience a decreased sense of taste and smell, loneliness, physical and mental handicaps, immobility and chronic illnesses that lead them to consume an inadequate nutritional diet."
Another factor contributing to the rising geriatric malnutrition phenomena is the traditional perceptions towards food that some elderly folks continue to have.
Ms Jacobs said: "Many of the elderly believe that some foods are 'cooling' or 'heaty'. In their search for food that does not disturb the yin-yang balance, many stop or reduce consumption of certain foods or avoid an entire food group."
While it is important for the elderly to be comfortable with their food choices, they should also be provided with nutritious options in a form that they will consume, she said.
According to Dr Stephanie Chee, a geriatrician and healthcare management consultant with Geylang and Toa Payoh Senior Citizen's Health Care Centres, it is relatively easy to spot a malnourished elderly individual.
"You can determine whether an elderly is malnourished by doing some blood tests, but usually you'll know by looking at the person," she said. An example would be Mr Lee, who, by a twist of fate, was referred to Geylang Senior Citizen's Health Care Centre by a social worker after being diagnosed with cancer of the stomach.
"When he (Mr Lee) first came to us, it was obvious that he was undernourished. He looked very frail and his movements were very slow due to lethargy, one of the symptoms of malnutrition," said Dr Chee. To prepare him, the centre's staff increased his nutritional and caloric intake by putting him on a structured meal and nutrition program.
He was also given additional nutritional and vitamin supplements.
One and a half years later, Mr Lee is nothing like his frail former self. Despite his illness, the sprightly old man has put on some weight, is able to take leisurely walks using his walking frame and is always in high spirits.
Ultimately, Dr Chee feels that combating malnutrition amongst the elderly should not be a one-off approach. Besides supplying the elderly with a healthy and balanced diet, caregivers should also ensure that they are kept mentally and physically healthy.
"Malnutrition is only one of the growing problems amongst the elderly in Singapore.
"Care for elderly should be holistic. Generally, if they're happy people, then such problems would not exist anymore," she said.
A nutritious, inexpensive diet for the elderly consists of:
Normal diet
Breakfast 1 cup coffee/tea prepared with milk or 1 cup nutritional supplement 1 whole meal bread sandwich with peanut butter Snack 1 small raisin bun Lunch 1 bowl noodle soup with fish slices and green leafy vegetable 1 wedge watermelon Snack 1 bowl red bean soup Dinner 1 bowl meat and vegetable soup 1 bowl cooked rice 1 palm-sized portion chicken 3/4 cup cooked vegetables 1 apple
Soft diet
Breakfast 1 glass soy milk 1 bowl oatmeal porridge prepared with milk Snack 1small bowl tau huay Lunch 1 bowl mee sua with minced fish and chopped spinach 1 wedge papaya Snack 1 cup nutritional supplement Dinner 1 bowl meat and vegetable soup 1 bowl rice porridge 1 palm-sized portion finely minced chicken/meat 3/4 cup minced vegetables, 1 banana - TODAY
Source: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/health/view/152643/1/.html[/b]
Well, you said it... it's the unspoken fact although they deny its the reality and the truth...Originally posted by maurizio13:You think what the government doing is right?
Letting the poor, elderly and disabled live less than average life. Maybe because of the harsh living conditions they will pass away ealier, therefore becoming less of a burden to the government.
This is not a welfare state!! It's the survival of the fittest!! If you are not fit, you should die early and not be a burden to the government!! The government is not going to take more from the rich to help the poor!! If you can't afford to sustain yourself, then MRT tracks or HDB is the best alternative.
They will always deny the existence of such things, because they want to portray Singapore as the land of the rich, no poor people around. They want to brainwash the people into thinking that no such things exist to further their own self interest.Originally posted by HyperFocal:I'm aware articles of this nature are around in print, but I also know they are conveniently (and rather hastily) labelled as 'One Off' incidences and brushed under their plush carpets with a few token statements that they will look into taking care of the Need / Poor...
It's fast becoming a raging forest fire.... and they toss a cup of water into the direction of the fire and calls it dousing the flames....
I don't see the point of Temasek having hundreds of billions when they can't even give out money to help these poor and needy people.Originally posted by HyperFocal:Well, you said it... it's the unspoken fact although they deny its the reality and the truth...
Like I've said, they are just afraid to lose money taking care of people... money is more important to them...
Who are they kidding so far? It takes all kinds to make this world work...Originally posted by maurizio13:They will always deny the existence of such things, because they want to portray Singapore as the land of the rich, no poor people around. They want to brainwash the people into thinking that no such things exist to further their own self interest.