Well, from what I noticed so far and often enough, they'd rather wire millions over to to other countries to help the needies... this is just so they "buy" recognition from such countries they esteemed themselves to have helped...Originally posted by maurizio13:I don't see the point of Temasek having hundreds of billions when they can't even give out money to help these poor and needy people.
It's like a father making millions, but he chooses to use it for his own personal needs, while his other family members end up begging in the streets. But then again, we are not a welfare state, it's the survival of the fittest, if you are weak like the old or handicapped, you don't deserve to live.
Although many feel the same,Originally posted by sunnytv:It is more like importing more foreign workers to fill up the job created and increase the population while S'porean are still jobless. I don't really believe in their statistic anymore. Upgrade program is just a scam to direct people attention. sweeper can upgrade to what, sweeper manager, then sweeper CEO....Not matter how you upgrade, you still a sweeper.....
Since NO ONE can provide an answer to your this question, it is then obvious that MOST of the jobs have gone to foreigners...Originally posted by reddressman:Although many feel the same,
we cannot and will not know until someone raise the question and get the official answer how many jobs created went to non-singaporeans.
My only hope is Opposition.
So far, I have been asking and no one can give me a reply if they have gotten the answer .
What is going on?
What is opposition doing?
What difficulty are they facing and is there anything that can be done to overcome this problem?
All problems can be solved if we put our heads together.
The reports show very glorious picture, like goodnews leh, about jobs.Originally posted by HyperFocal:Since NO ONE can provide an answer to your this question, it is then obvious that MOST of the jobs have gone to foreigners...
No need to query anymore... government don't answer, we shall take it as that...
If this is the case, singapore are really tokong man.Originally posted by HyperFocal:Since NO ONE can provide an answer to your this question, it is then obvious that MOST of the jobs have gone to foreigners...
No need to query anymore... government don't answer, we shall take it as that...
Originally posted by reddressman:... quit? It's more like Run Away...
If this is the case, singapore are really tokong man.
No answer means an answer liao.
1st world.
very solid in everything ah.
Are singaporeans concerned about their own citizens, I begin to have my doubts.
Opposition is the last hope and this is what I get.
I wonder why [b]people quit.
Hello forummers,Originally posted by qlqq9:Silly propaganda practise by the media to mislead people. OLd man Lee is still very much in control of SPH. I know something from reliable source but can't say here as it is kind of sensitive.![]()
click the profile button of the person you want to PM to.Originally posted by reddressman:Hello forummers,
this forum got private messaging facility or not har?
wan to say sensitive things not easy leh.
the door Mat (among a few others) can sabo leh.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Only Time can set us Free. I gave up on Opposition.
Originally posted by maurizio13:So has the Swiss standard of living which this regime shamelessly professed to aspire to fallen to such abject standards that actually command a daily wage of just SGD25?
Poverty among Singapore's elderly makes it hard for many to afford good food
By Eveline Gan, TODAY | Posted: 14 June 2005 1114 hrs
SINGAPORE : Two years ago, Mr Lee Yeow Keong was hardly more than skin and bones.
Suffering from malnutrition and mild dementia, the 70-year-old bachelor, who lived alone, got by with food given to him by kind-hearted neighbours or social workers.
While many elderly people often have no idea what nutrition is, Mr Lee understood the importance of having healthy and balanced meals. But with his meagre takings of $25 a day from his part-time jobs at bookstores and newsstands, he could not afford to eat well.
Speaking to Today in Mandarin, he said: "I knew that it was important for old people to eat nourishing food but by the time I paid for other expenses like rent, there wasn't much money left for buying nourishing food."
Despite living in a first world country, Mr Lee is not the only elderly person in Singapore suffering from malnutrition.
With the number of elderly people steadily increasing in Singapore, geriatric malnutrition is on the rise too.
In 2001, 25 percent of patients aged 61 years and above at Tan Tock Seng Hospital were found to suffer from malnutrition.
I guess in 2007 with the increases in cost of living, there will be more malnourished eldery folks.
Geriatric malnutrition can be attributed to changes in lifestyles and habits, medical, social or economic factors, as is the case with Mr Lee.
Ms Anna Jacobs, director of Food and Nutrition Specialists Pte Ltd, said: "The elderly are particularly prone to malnutrition because they may experience a decreased sense of taste and smell, loneliness, physical and mental handicaps, immobility and chronic illnesses that lead them to consume an inadequate nutritional diet."
Another factor contributing to the rising geriatric malnutrition phenomena is the traditional perceptions towards food that some elderly folks continue to have.
Ms Jacobs said: "Many of the elderly believe that some foods are 'cooling' or 'heaty'. In their search for food that does not disturb the yin-yang balance, many stop or reduce consumption of certain foods or avoid an entire food group."
While it is important for the elderly to be comfortable with their food choices, they should also be provided with nutritious options in a form that they will consume, she said.
According to Dr Stephanie Chee, a geriatrician and healthcare management consultant with Geylang and Toa Payoh Senior Citizen's Health Care Centres, it is relatively easy to spot a malnourished elderly individual.
"You can determine whether an elderly is malnourished by doing some blood tests, but usually you'll know by looking at the person," she said. An example would be Mr Lee, who, by a twist of fate, was referred to Geylang Senior Citizen's Health Care Centre by a social worker after being diagnosed with cancer of the stomach.
"When he (Mr Lee) first came to us, it was obvious that he was undernourished. He looked very frail and his movements were very slow due to lethargy, one of the symptoms of malnutrition," said Dr Chee. To prepare him, the centre's staff increased his nutritional and caloric intake by putting him on a structured meal and nutrition program.
He was also given additional nutritional and vitamin supplements.
One and a half years later, Mr Lee is nothing like his frail former self. Despite his illness, the sprightly old man has put on some weight, is able to take leisurely walks using his walking frame and is always in high spirits.
Ultimately, Dr Chee feels that combating malnutrition amongst the elderly should not be a one-off approach. Besides supplying the elderly with a healthy and balanced diet, caregivers should also ensure that they are kept mentally and physically healthy.
"Malnutrition is only one of the growing problems amongst the elderly in Singapore.
"Care for elderly should be holistic. Generally, if they're happy people, then such problems would not exist anymore," she said.
A nutritious, inexpensive diet for the elderly consists of:
Normal diet
Breakfast 1 cup coffee/tea prepared with milk or 1 cup nutritional supplement 1 whole meal bread sandwich with peanut butter Snack 1 small raisin bun Lunch 1 bowl noodle soup with fish slices and green leafy vegetable 1 wedge watermelon Snack 1 bowl red bean soup Dinner 1 bowl meat and vegetable soup 1 bowl cooked rice 1 palm-sized portion chicken 3/4 cup cooked vegetables 1 apple
Soft diet
Breakfast 1 glass soy milk 1 bowl oatmeal porridge prepared with milk Snack 1small bowl tau huay Lunch 1 bowl mee sua with minced fish and chopped spinach 1 wedge papaya Snack 1 cup nutritional supplement Dinner 1 bowl meat and vegetable soup 1 bowl rice porridge 1 palm-sized portion finely minced chicken/meat 3/4 cup minced vegetables, 1 banana - TODAY
Source: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/health/view/152643/1/.html[/b]
The problem is precisely exacerbated by that - I'm sure it's not rocket science to figure those who are capable of leaving are hardly the same lot who are in most dire need of public assistance.Originally posted by HyperFocal:Who are they kidding so far? It takes all kinds to make this world work...
.. people these days can't be easily brain-washed, they are now far more educated and opinionated than before....
And being Globally Mobile and at the rate locals are leaving, I say they will soon be rowing this Dragon Boat of theirs by themselves....
... disgusting...!!Originally posted by walesa:The problem is precisely exacerbated by that - I'm sure it's not rocket science to figure those who are capable of leaving are hardly the same lot who are in most dire need of public assistance.
In essence, this regime is keen to retain and exploit the skilled and talented through the promotion of derisory knockdown wages to draw investments, while leaving the uneducated and vulnerable to fend for themselves so as to abstain themselves from liabilities.
So much for social justice...
Wasn't there talk recently that CPF funds should be given to Temasek to manage so as to "achieve better returns" for Singaporeans for their retirement?Originally posted by maurizio13:I don't see the point of Temasek having hundreds of billions when they can't even give out money to help these poor and needy people.
It's like a father making millions, but he chooses to use it for his own personal needs, while his other family members end up begging in the streets. But then again, we are not a welfare state, it's the survival of the fittest, if you are weak like the old or handicapped, you don't deserve to live.