X5894984894984Originally posted by binarynwitz:This is something slightly different from the rest of the topics here- it isn't exactly a topic about the political scene in Singapore.
More sociological, if anything.
------
We can clearly see how one-sided the political situation in Singapore is- it's probably in the hearts of the majority, if not all, of Singaporeans. It seems like the only way for us to change this situation, is to count on the youths today.
They are the ones who would be making a difference, tomorrow.
But looking at them today, especially when I am also part of them (hence allowing me deeper insights), it makes me wonder, not once or twice, how Singapore can rely on them.
Nonchalance in the current affairs, coupled with a lack of understanding in the situation in Singapore. Obviously, I wouldn't dare make the claim I know the situation, but seeing some of my peers, I do count myself more knowing, in that aspect.
Censorship, political suppression, legalised corruption, it is definitely up to us to resist these, and to attain a true state of democracy. The Mr Brown incident, the recent GST hike, the ministerial pay hikes, all of these tells of a same tale - the blight our society is in. My lecturer once said, "It is up to you all now, to make a difference, and to attain a truly free country, without those stupid laws and regulations".
I agree, but how can we count on the youths today? The current affairs, to them, is nothing of interest- "When is Britney Spears going to have her next baby" is more important!
The nonchalance, and ignorance, of the youths today on the current affairs. Your take?
"But we either believe in democracy or we do not. If we do, then, we must say categorically, without qualification, that no restraint from the any democratic processes, other than by the ordinary law of the land, should be allowed... If you believe in democracy, you must believe in it unconditionally. If you believe that men should be free, then, they should have the right of free association, of free speech, of free publication. Then, no law should permit those democratic processes to be set at nought, and no excuse, whether of security, should allow a government to be deterred from doing what it knows to right, and what it must know to be right... "
"If we are to survive as a free democracy, then we must be prepared, in principle, to concede to our enemies - even those who do not subscribe to our views - as much(sic)constitutional rights as you concede yourself."
"Let us get down to fundamentals. Is this an open, or is this a closed society? Is it a society where men can preach ideas - novel, unorthodox, heresies, to established churches and established governments - where there is a constant contest for men's hearts and minds on the basis of what is right, of what is just, of what is in the national interests, or is it a closed society where the mass media - the newspapaers, the journals, publications, TV, radio - either bound by sound or by sight, or both sound and sight, men's minds are fed with a constant drone of sycophantic support for a particular orthodox political philosophy?
That is the first question we asked ourselves. I would like to see minds stimulated and debate provoked, and truth refined and crystallized out of the conflict of different evidence and views.
I, therefore, welcome every and any opportunity of a chance to agree, or to dissent, in order that out of thesis comes synthesis - thesis, anti-major premise, anti-premise, synthesis, so we progress... I welcome every opportunity to meet members of the opposition, and so do members of my party, over the radio, over the television, university forums, public rallies. We never run away from the open encounter.
If your ideas, your views cannot stand the challenge of criticism then they are too fragile and not sturdy enough to last. I am talking of the principle of the open society, the open debate, ideas, not intimidation, persuasion not coercion...
Sir, the basic fundamentals we asked ourselves...is whether the duties of the Minister of Information and Broadcasting are to produce closed minds or open minds, because these instruments - the mass media, the TV, the radio - can produce either the open minds receptive to ideas and ideals, a democratic system of life, or closed and limited. But I know that the open debate is a painful process for closed minds...
But let me make this point: that 5 million adult minds in Malaysia cannot be closed - definitely not in the lifetime of the people in authority. It is not possible because whatever the faults of the colonial system, and there are many...they generated the open mind, the inquiring mind."
Originally posted by Atobe:Honorable Atobe, you always cut down to the bone with every posting...
The deplorable situation described has been the purposeful objective of LKY from Day ONE when his colleagues allowed him to take the PM's chair and accepted his Political Philosophy of - [b]''Fill the stomach, and dull the mind.... ''
During the 1950s, Singapore was still under Colonial Rule with not so many Singaporeans being without basic education, and making a living was not too difficult, with life was more leisurely with opportunities for anyone with the wit and resourcefulness.
Under those 1950s conditions, LKY would even venture to cry out so eloquently in the Legislative Assembly Debates April 27, 1955 :
Why will LKY change his views about democratic principles and individual freedom after Singapore was evicted from Malaysia in 1965 ?
It began with the shackling of student activists in the University of Singapore - Political Science Faculty, and its 'Students' Political Society' and the NUS Student's Union. Nantah and its alumni were not spared and bore the brunt of the early suppressive work by ISD aided by the draconian ISA.
Students hoping to enter NUS had to obtain ''Eligibility Certificates'' to ascertain one's political backgrounds - and with a tight quota to limit too many learned minds that the economy cannot support and end up as political threats.
Were there any foresight of the long term effects of these policies, which were also exacerbated by the Family Planning ''Stop At TWO'' Program.
Other activities of the Government Thinking of the 1960s that bore the present day results of a cynical youths included the gearing of all Singaporeans towards supporting the industrial efforts which depended on Multi-Nationals Corporation search the globe for cheap labor, cheap land, cheap tax, and cheap government that do not demand extra-ordinary fees.
The government decision to play the part of a direct central player in restructured Singapore's economy resulted in the creation of Government Linked Companies to compete with private enterprise - big or small.
Private bus companies were merged and re-merged to form SBS, and which later allowed another government linked player in CCS to emerge, and much later TIBS to appear on the scene.
Similarly, taxi operators soon also saw their licences suspended, allowing only Government Linked Taxi Companies to run the public roads.
NTUC branched out into Supermarket Operations, then into Insurance, Taxi Services, Pharmacy, and into the Travel and Leisure Industries.
All private enterprises from big companies such as Cold Storage and Hong Leong to small neighborhood provision shops were affected by the Challenge.
With the Government involved in everything, and making decision on almost every aspects of Singaporeans' Life and Lifestyle, is there a need for the Youths of Today to take their Life more seriously ?
How will the Government or the Singapore Police react to the Youths being more political active ?
Will the Ruling Party aka the Government then use the ISA and the ISD to force confession out of Singaporeans suspected to be communist enthusiasts - similar to those Catholic Church activists accused of being members of an underground Communist's Cell ?
Can we expect the Youths of Today to be less cynical and more participative towards those in Politics ?
Are we still living under Colonial Rule; or are we in a modern Singapore of First World Standards ?
Should Singaporean not be MORE entitled to those Rights that LKY had so eloquently cried out during the Colonial Days ?
why are your children brought up by the government? why did you let your children be brought up by the SS?Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:X5894984894984
Anyway, i blame it on the SS textbooks propaganda.
For them to be thinking sg is a country with fantabulous gov, and is filled with democracy.
I'm already planning my migration, to be executed by 30 years of old..Originally posted by :You think too much lah......
Singapore no future? Migrate lor!Loyalty not worth a dime these days.......
With the Government involved in everything, and making decision on almost every aspects of Singaporeans' Life and Lifestyle, is there a need for the Youths of Today to take their Life more seriously ?Yes, put simply, many youths do not find the need to take their life seriously. They are too comfortable with their cosy little comfort zone - why try to make a difference when it doesn't concern you, they ask.
One word: awareness. The same few people can do everything they need, but if none or few are going to be aware, it's a losing battle.But how can we increase awareness when those involved aren't even interested?
I ish student leh.Originally posted by sgdiehard:why are your children brought up by the government? why did you let your children be brought up by the SS?![]()
What are parents teaching their children at home, or do they teach at all?
You expect government schools in Singapore to teach our kids that singapore is not democratic?
You expect the american schools to explain to their children why OSAMA is doing what he did?
You expect school in China to teach their children communism has not future in a modern society?
get real,
if you have children, its your responsibility to teach them. If not, ask your parents why they didn't tell you that every damn thing you studied in school are propaganda, and that gives you all the reasons you need to fail all the exams.![]()
STFU pro pappyOriginally posted by kilua:Having youth being aware of general affairs is not a good thing. They become more aware of what is being dished out by the state controlled press is filled with govt propaganda. The price of having youths interested in current affairs could be losing power for the ruling party.
Although you are right, I prefer to think it in another way. Since there's no interest to talk about, there's no point in trying to focus on it to generate awareness for it.Originally posted by binarynwitz:But how can we increase awareness when those involved aren't even interested?
Past, present or future. You decide. If it's first two, I give up.Originally posted by kilua:Having youth being aware of general affairs is not a good thing. They become more aware of what is being dished out by the state controlled press is filled with govt propaganda. The price of having youths interested in current affairs could be losing power for the ruling party.
I remember in a survey taken last year among the youth, majority of them thinking of migrating to other countries.Originally posted by Mat Toro:I agree. Atobe and Hyper shld indeed not waste their time but migrate.
Gospelic truth.Originally posted by Trump_Card:Today's youths are so callous ... They just thought politics is something that does not concern them and they think its a taboo topic to talk about ...
The latter, of course. But when the targeted market is so poisoned, what can we do?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Although you are right, I prefer to think it in another way. Since there's no interest to talk about, there's no point in trying to focus on it to generate awareness for it.
Rather, it might be easier to generate awareness to make them interested in it, or at the least, get more youths to be interested in today's current affairs once they know about it.
Think of it this way: Why do we advertise? To create interest for a product and therefore know about the product or to generate awareness for a product to get someone interested in it?
i agree with this.Originally posted by googoomuck:It's very fortunate for those in power that the youths today are nonchalant and ignorant.