The rich owner of this house hung the flag like this.Originally posted by reddressman:I foresee, as some may have too, that singapore cost of living is ok for the rich but not going to be ok for those less well off.
As the saying goes, the rich will be getting richer while the poor poorer.
I posted in another thread that I also observe all semi-Ds hung the flag while flat dwellers, only a few do.
Not sure if there is any coincidence with Rich-Poor divide.

I happened to pass by an apartment n seen a foreign professional displaying the national flag instead of a local.Originally posted by googoomuck:The rich owner of this house hung the flag like this.
Is he colour blind or what?
I agree to and like what you're saying... but try telling this to our obstinate government, who seems to think the world of themselves and this place...Originally posted by watchdog:The Singaporean viewpoint on this is interesting.
Let's add another dimension to it as I'm a foreigner so here's my take..
Bringing in foreign talent doesn't guarantee they'll stay forever. Foreign talent is borrowed talent, there just doesn't seem to be enough depth for competent overseas people to take root. One of the reason is that the world is bigger than the oyster the PAP has created. I don't need to be a citizen of a country that spoonfeeds & dictates my environment & political leanings. If you're going to try & lock down foreigners they must be given something better than just high salaries. Otherwise we'll come & take up high-paying jobs & be off again in a couple of years.
There must be something special about Singapore, like New York, London or HK. The diversity actually seeps into the livelihood of these cities. There's a creative chaos about them where individualism is the true ideology, Singapore's a little too well-planned & cosmopolitan for anything to take spark. You end up merely emulating but never surpassing.
And hence as citizens you can see that us foreigners merely find Singapore an employment destination. I turned down the permanent residency when offered because I had to be back within the country in 2-3 years to extend it.
Not because I don't like Singapore, it's fine, but I love being in many different places as well. There's too much out there to see & your island doesn't offer everything under the sun unlike London or HK. It's incompatible with what I can get elsewhere. I don't think I'll be adding myself to the population count any time soon.
Maybe he got his foreign maid to hang it up.Originally posted by googoomuck:The rich owner of this house hung the flag like this.
Is he colour blind or what?
..well.. then that's Foreign Talent..Originally posted by gerald_tan:Maybe he got his foreign maid to hang it up.![]()
Its possible to get a few people take a look what is the situation in all parts of the island. Then, we can have a fair understanding how the flags are hanging.Originally posted by HyperFocal:I was driving around yesterday, and largely in the west (particularly Jurong area), there are hardly any flags on display... and even landed property owners aren't displaying any...
What does this say about Public Sentiments?
I think one day, they may have to hire people to go watch NDP hust to fill up the empty seats ...
Muuaahahahahaaaaa.....!!!Originally posted by maurizio13:If you live in HDB flats, the resident committees (RCs) will come and "persuade" you to hang the flag.![]()
Pendejo, it's not that citizens don't appreciate his country. If they are born here, they will want to die here.Originally posted by Mat Toro:all those people who do not appreciate singapore shld just leave.
Whether a citizen drops or keeps his citizenship is no one's business.Originally posted by Mat Tot:all those people who do not appreciate singapore shld just leave.
There are many who do not appreciate Sillypore but do not have the means to leave....so spare a thoughtOriginally posted by Mat Toro:all those people who do not appreciate singapore shld just leave.
How about those people who appreciate Singapore but is fedup with the government? What should these people do?Originally posted by Mat Toro:all those people who do not appreciate singapore shld just leave.
Persuade? Ha...they will just hang it on the common corridor if you live in a 3 room flat.....that's the only area the RCs have access to without even needing to 'persuade' you.Originally posted by maurizio13:If you live in HDB flats, the resident committees (RCs) will come and "persuade" you to hang the flag.![]()
Hmmm....well....they can be as obstinate as they want....as long as you don't let it affect you...Originally posted by HyperFocal:I agree to and like what you're saying... but try telling this to our obstinate government, who seems to think the world of themselves and this place...
They're so full of themselves they can't face the truth!!!
Please lah...do you really think that people will migrate to Canada because of some dumb arse youtube video???Originally posted by Coquitlam:Hmmm....well....they can be as obstinate as they want....as long as you don't let it affect you...
Guess what, I shut Gazelle the other day....he asked if little red dot has intangible benefits...and I said no....none that I can think of....that silly boy....hmm, we actually have people like him around huh...so shallow and full of himself
With all the big talk, are you telling us that you have yet to find yourself a roof over your head?Originally posted by Coquitlam:Anyone considering full withdrawal of CPF???
Best option that many of us are taking is...migrate to another country...set up home overseas first....stabalize yourselves......make sure you are ready for the plunge...then throw the passport back to Sillypore....and make sure do not give yoru sons for NS...that's the only way to get your full CPF out
If anyone has bothered to open their eyes enough, they will realise the entire success in Singapore is built on the idea that we have economic progress only. Other countries have national heroes, great grand long history... etc...Originally posted by HyperFocal:I was driving around yesterday, and largely in the west (particularly Jurong area), there are hardly any flags on display... and even landed property owners aren't displaying any...
What does this say about Public Sentiments?
I think one day, they may have to hire people to go watch NDP hust to fill up the empty seats ...
Every year the same question pops up.Originally posted by maurizio13:If you live in HDB flats, the resident committees (RCs) will come and "persuade" you to hang the flag.![]()
Well said.Originally posted by watchdog:The Singaporean viewpoint on this is interesting.
Bringing in foreign talent doesn't guarantee they'll stay forever. Foreign talent is borrowed talent, there just doesn't seem to be enough depth for competent overseas people to take root. One of the reason is that the world is bigger than the oyster the PAP has created. I don't need to be a citizen of a country that spoonfeeds & dictates my environment & political leanings. If you're going to try & lock down foreigners they must be given something better than just high salaries. Otherwise we'll come & take up high-paying jobs & be off again in a couple of years.
There must be something special about Singapore, like New York, London or HK. The diversity actually seeps into the livelihood of these cities. There's a creative chaos about them where individualism is the true ideology, Singapore's a little too well-planned & cosmopolitan for anything to take spark. You end up merely emulating but never surpassing.
And hence as citizens you can see that us foreigners merely find Singapore an employment destination. I turned down the permanent residency when offered because I had to be back within the country in 2-3 years to extend it.
Not because I don't like Singapore, it's fine, but I love being in many different places as well. There's too much out there to see & your island doesn't offer everything under the sun unlike London or HK. It's incompatible with what I can get elsewhere. I don't think I'll be adding myself to the population count any time soon.
Well, you're just living your life using your noggin and some good old common sense. That's perfectly fine.Originally posted by watchdog:The Singaporean viewpoint on this is interesting.
May I know do you often go around telling people your home country is silly just because you are living overseas?Originally posted by watchdog:The Singaporean viewpoint on this is interesting.
leaving the country doesnt make you silly, it is how to condemn singapore that is making you look dumb.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Well, you're just living your life using your noggin and some good old common sense. That's perfectly fine.
Too bad not many Singaporeans can see beyond the facade, and those that do, get criticised by rank idiots for being silly.