No nation will be silly enough making its troops swim across a strait regardless of its size 1000 swim less than 100 will survive.Its just suicidal.Originally posted by EXCO:I may be ignorant on that issue... But hell, China would swim their troops across that narrow straits if they have to.
Nah, I wasn't implying that they will do it literally. I am saying that they will do whatever it takes to send their troops across should they wish to. It is quite unlikely that China does not have a viable power projection capability.Originally posted by Mech^O^GATor:No nation will be silly enough making its troops swim across a strait regardless of its size 1000 swim less than 100 will survive.Its just suicidal.
Your " But hell, China would swim their troops across that narrow straits if they have to " Mmmm..quite silly and illogical![]()
Originally posted by foxtrout8:IF they have that much ammo to spare... S-S missiles are not exactly as plentiful as 7.62 shorts...
Basically....i will say China will lauch a head on attack on to taiwan by
1)....lauching massive amount of surface to suface missile in to taiwan ..destroying the beach fortress, airfields, radar station, missile defence , Naval Base and the President Place .
2) massive air moves to gain air superioty in the Taiwan's strait with it's Su 30. The taiwan F-16 and Mirange isnt matchable to the SU. Air bombardment on to the beaches will be done.again, don't underestimate taiwan's AA capabilities. the defender always has certain advantage. i wouldn't write off their air force so easily.
3) Strike they will call. Massive Amphibious will be lauch.....mind u ...they can produce it ..more than a division . With StS missile in to the beaches ..taiwan will be outnumbered 4 to 1.( their amphibious assault quite hot leh.....look at they excersise abt 10,000 at a time......)yes, they have the men, but they don't have the ships to bring them all there at once. china has always been weak in this. muster fishing boats? don't bother... they'll be shot out of the water if they fail to gain control of the air and the sea and it is still questionable if they can do that with 7th fleet between them.
again, assumption. if they're dropped and the beach head fails to materialised, they'll be slaughtered.
4)Commando will clear the way by air drop into middle taiwan.
5)Kilos and their 'Anti-Aegis' destroyer will block all trade route to taiwan from the Phillipines and japan....Kilo will block US support ship to.do we have reasons to believe that a few kilo diesel subs can block 7th fleet? in fact, i see a lot of dead chinese submariners if they should decide to escalate by firing at US ships.
6) massive airdrop along the way into taiwan....surrender form will be send.u drop propaganda pamphlets only if u're winning. they may not win and it will further piss of the taiwanese. psychological warfare is not as simple as dropping leaflets asking your enemies to surrender. timing is everything.
i can confirm something lor....China will not so easy use Nuke one.....i dun think Nuke will be use lor....China want taiwan back.....no a taiwanese waste land..then they can't win and if they can't win, they won't initiate a disaster fully knowing that it will be exactly that.
then the war may not be stage in this Ten years time...Because for the olympics......in 2008...unless no choice ...if US intevent to much....don't be shallow. Beijing is more than willing to tolerate American presence here. lots of noise and table banging but they know they can't do shit about anything until they're stronger and to be strong, u need to engage, not renegade. and how exactly would u define "too much" ? Washington isn't stupid. they didn't give Taipei a blank cheque u know... so all parties are restrained in many ways.
Originally posted by dkhoo:OK, tripwire, you've made yourself clear. I guess we just have to agree to disagreeI simply am less paranoid about our neighbors than you and do believe that they will behave decently (or at least rationally) if any conflict occurs. However, if the situation becomes critical, then I agree that the doomsday machine will have to go into action
my idea... or should i say... position... is that....
we switch on the doomsday machine first... and let the enemy knows... that the war is fast approaching a point of NO RETURN... that should hurry them to the table of negotiation sooner rather then later... and understandably... if they dont come to the table soon... SAF might simply choose to resolve the problem... without them....
Actually, an equally interesting scenario would be SEA vs China, centered around the Spratleys. Right now, this is very unlikely, since China does not even have the power projection capability to invade Taiwan (their probable first priority). However, if this changes, it would be interesting to consider this.ITS also very unlikely... that the 2 most powerful military in SEA (namely singapore and thailand) would wanna get involved in a war with china over the spratelys.. since both nations does not posses any interest in south china sea...
secondly... the islands are not claimed in totallity by all side... other then china... this puts to question.. wat if china attack an atoll claim by pino and china only...?? will RMN or TNI-AL come to the rescue of the pino navy?? i sincerely doubt so...
Yet another interesting scenario is Thailand vs Malaysia. As many of you know, southern Thailand suffers from some unrest since it is a mostly Muslim region in a largely Buddhist nation. If this region decides to secede to Malaysia, ethnic violence flares up, and the Malaysian Armed Forces decide to intervene, such a limited conflict is conceivable. Incidentally, the Malaysian media also use Thailand and even Indonesia as bogeymen, not just Singapore. This is business as usual in most democracies. Dirty business, but still business.a scenario between malaysia and thailand... is not entertaining... becos.. the thais will simply tied MAF up like a bondage girl and pull out the whips.....
The last scenario that is possible is Malaysia vs Indonesia, or Brunei + Malaysia vs Indonesia. This might be the result of the central government in Java losing control, or being toppled in a coup, and the various provinces and islands splintering into many smaller officially or unofficially autonomous bodies. Once such a Pandora's box opens, East Malaysia may be under low level siege from numerous irregulars, and Brunei may get dragged in. Singapore may then pile on, since we are allies with Brunei and friends with Malaysia. This would be a guerilla war with onerous rules of engagement -- Vietnam writ large. This is actually the kind of fight that SAF is really bad at, and TNI is really good at. Again, interesting to consider, even if President Megawati's government seems solid at present.