what i meant was dengue has the same symptom as fever.Originally posted by ifish:isnt dengue a fever too?
note: thats only a guideline..Originally posted by dragg:they have recently lifted the guidelines for consultation fee.
i only see them charging more, not lesser.
general practitioner aka doctorOriginally posted by ghimpheng:hello what is GP ?
haha.. funny lei uOriginally posted by reddressman:What I try to say is maybe GP fees could be lowered since they could not tell what problem you are really having for general cases I mentioned. Maybe many other examples exist.
Medical service should be to help people, not profit from them.
is a persons worth / life measured only in $$$?
Exactly. I think the TS is a little naive in this...Originally posted by kaoya:haha.. funny lei u
nowadays, ppl pay more than $50 to cut hair, pedicure... wat not
u eat outside at food court oso $5, watch movie on sat also $9.50
den fall sick, go see doc so stingy
in life where got gurantee one
u pay money to stockbroker, also don't gurantee stocks sure go up
u pay money to insurance agent, also don't gurantee ur life
hey dude, u muz understand why u go see doc mah
they dun make a certain diagnosis
they juz make sure u aren't having anything more serious lah
if not have to go hospital
some ppl see doc to get mc lah
if u want exact diagnosis also can,
u go n pay $200 to do all e test each time u got flu lah
if u not willing to pay, can always go polyclinic $4 mah
doctors oso normal ppl leh
need to get married, support their parents, pay children's school fee
still need to pay rent, pay high insurance
u tink charity issit??![]()
You know, there is a reason why they are known as general practitioners.Originally posted by reddressman:Should such consultation fees be lowered since they cannot tell what is the actual problem ? Kenna Dengue but prescribed fever pills?
Or would you suggest consultation fees be adjusted and lowered?
personally, i think GPs are a redundant profession. times have changed in that medical information for treatment of illnesses is free available on the internet. in other countries, europe etc... where there are proper pharmacists, most ppl can buy the medicine for common illnesses instead of having to visit the doctor.Originally posted by reddressman:Hello,
I like to discuss about GP and medical fees.
Generally, fever / cold / flu are common illness.
When a person has high fever, the doctor prescribes the usual medication.
When a person seems to have flu like dripping nose, they prescribe the usual medication.
Such patients still pay for the GP's consultation.
When I asked the GP, how sure he is that it is flu, he cannot reply.
When I asked him what exactly is the virus, he cannot reply.
Bacteria, virus cannot be identified by the naked eye or the symptoms.
This is why GPs can only base on their 'experience' and prescribe.
I am not sure if now there is such device that identifies immediately if a fever patient is suffering from dengue , but I think if its dengue a person is having, the doctor will initially not know its dengue and prescribe fever pills.
So, what I am saying is GPs based on symptoms and experience and what they studied. When it comes to knowing what is it a patient is having, they can usually cannot say for sure. This is how I understand it based on my experience having seen GPs many times over decades.
Should such consultation fees be lowered since they cannot tell what is the actual problem ? Kenna Dengue but prescribed fever pills?
Or would you suggest consultation fees be adjusted and lowered?
like wad others had stated, there are many common symptoms which lead to a more dangerous illness..Originally posted by Skibi:personally, i think GPs are a redundant profession. times have changed in that medical information for treatment of illnesses is free available on the internet. in other countries, europe etc... where there are proper pharmacists, most ppl can buy the medicine for common illnesses instead of having to visit the doctor.
Unfortunately, the elderly do not know what the internet is. Some of them can't read either.Originally posted by Skibi:personally, i think GPs are a redundant profession. times have changed in that medical information for treatment of illnesses is free available on the internet. in other countries, europe etc... where there are proper pharmacists, most ppl can buy the medicine for common illnesses instead of having to visit the doctor.
Like what TS said, your guess is as good as the doctor's. imo it is probably even better because normal flu and viral flu feel different. when you visit a gp he's going to ask you questions on how you feel etc... if you purposely lie to him i sincerely doubt he can give you an accurate diagnosis. ask yourself how many GP's actually bother to feel your pulse, check your eyelids, look at the tongue, take note of the face colour and skin condition? they just prescribe medication according to what the patient tells them. might as well skip the 3hrs waiting time at the polyclinic or the $25 consultation fee at a normal one and buy ur own medication. if you insist on doing a blood test for SARS everytime you get a flu, im sure its going to cost a whole lot more than $25.Originally posted by ifish:like wad others had stated, there are many common symptoms which lead to a more dangerous illness..
if let say, you have a cough, runny nose and fever, is it just a normal flu or someting else dangerous like perhaps SARS?
yes u can read up all the illness all that. but at the end of the day, when you lying down there with high fever, do u even bother?
firstly, u shouldnt be lying to the gp.Originally posted by Skibi:Like what TS said, your guess is as good as the doctor's. imo it is probably even better because normal flu and viral flu feel different. when you visit a gp he's going to ask you questions on how you feel etc... if you purposely lie to him i sincerely doubt he can give you an accurate diagnosis. ask yourself how many GP's actually bother to feel your pulse, check your eyelids, look at the tongue, take note of the face colour and skin condition? they just prescribe medication according to what the patient tells them. might as well skip the 3hrs waiting time at the polyclinic or the $25 consultation fee at a normal one and buy ur own medication. if you insist on doing a blood test for SARS everytime you get a flu, im sure its going to cost a whole lot more than $25.
This is a free market. Practice what u preach - next time u have a 'general illness', just don't see the GP lah. Nobody forcing you what. If everyone like you, they will all go out of business and lower their prices or close shop.Originally posted by reddressman:As it is clear that some of you also think the same , that GPs are over-rated as in they over-charge, for 'consultation' in my view. I mean, consultation given such that they almost all the time will not know exactly what disease you have?
The 'diagnosis' is general. Thus the term 'General practitioner'?
In this case, an experienced senior nurse can do the same job.
Why pay more for general diagnosis?
Last time GP 'consultation' fee not as high. Now, dunno why so very high.
Like this more 1st world standard in medicine is it?
Same kind of general diagnosis even though more fees charged.
And as I said, they cannot be sure what you having, many of the times.
Drugs given can be those that kill all suspected viruses or baterias rather than just the ones that you are having. This to me means you are eating more drugs than necessary, which means not good for health.
Yes, GPs are humans and they got doctorate. But that is not what I disagree on. I am debating that the fees gp charge are too high.
Patients should not be charged GP consultation fees for common diseases.
This is a wastage of good useful and hardearned money. Also, GPs time should be spent on more serious cases.
You so clever you hire senior nurses and set up clinic lor. Nobody stopping you what. Economics 101 again.Originally posted by reddressman:I suggest using more nurses to take over the common disease diagnosis and leave the GPs to work on more difficult tasks of more value so that they deservingly can charge the high fees.
They already have two rates - one for 'short consultation' and one for 'long consultation'.Originally posted by reddressman:There should be 2 rates to charge for medical 'consultation'.