Australia is not bad, nearer, slightly cheaper than the US(most cities) and UK.Originally posted by Zelphon:Ya...
Heard Canada not bad..
But do THEY NEED EnGINEERS ?
ahhaa
I am just a lowly paid engr..![]()
Originally posted by hloc:Ya lah... I am a TYPICAL SINGAPOREAN..
Hehehe..... isn't this the typical way S'porean behaves
[b]I want everything but don't want to pay for it......
I want FREE service but service must be World Class....
I want Freedom of Speech but don't want to be held accountable for it....
I want to migrate but is unable to do so (no $$$, will, capability...etc)....
I want a change of Govt but don't want to get involve.....
I blame everyone (foreginer, PR, expat... etc) but myself......
Ooh.... my FAV![]()
I threaten to migrate everytime i'm unhappy but still here after all these years.[/b]
No lah... There will always be poor people in any country...Originally posted by hloc:Ooh..... forgive me.... u mean that there isn't any poor people overseaNo homeless ppl sleeping on the streets
State Benefits 'help' everyone
And there isn't any 'poor', 'slum' area even in US of A
Err...... then who are all those sleeping at the streets of AUST when I was there![]()
Must be some damn FOREGINER right ....
Waaa....now this is someone who has his eyes set on migrating to Australia...Originally posted by Jontst78:Oh and finding a job there first and then applying PR in Australia is not the way to go. Or rather not the recommended way to go, unless you have substantial savings to last you at least half a year of unemployment while job hunting there.
Its a labor law there, that an employer must give jobs first to citizens and PRs, only after being unable to find suitable person for some time, then they(the employer) can justify to the government, to permit hiring a foreigner.
The recommended way to go is to apply for PR here. Do the points test, if you think you qualify, try for an application. Do this while in Singapore. You can get it approved and receive it while being in Singapore the whole time.
http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-skilled-migration/136/index.htm
Alternatively, you can use an agent. Dun get conned tho. Dun go to an agent that ask for more than 4k (excl govt fees). And go to one that is registered with the Australian immigration authority. Usually you will get a free initial consultation to check your eligibility.
Ya...Originally posted by googoomuck:You are the one who ask how to migrate and now you say you are too poor?
Then you said you are an engineer.
You make up your own mind lah.
Hi GazelleOriginally posted by Gazelle:I think you have been badly misinformed by the whiners in this forum.
1) Do you believe that they get more benefits than they pay? The only time you get more than you pay is when you are low income earner or out of job. If this is what you want to be in life, please go ahead. Plus most of these countries are financing such benefit with debt, and debt cost money and people pay for debt.
2) Public services in most developed countries are all privatised
3) Public transportation cost in other developed countries are alot higher than Singapore.
4) Are you sure that Singapore pool make about $50b of profit a year? Which whiner told you this?
My advice is to stop believe all the bull crap the whiners are writing in this forum becauseOriginally posted by Zelphon:Hi Gazelle
1) I read somewhere in papers which stated that Singaporeans are the higher savers in the world and yet cannot retire early... 20% of our salary goes to CPF and it is being managed by the govt and they give out of 2.5% returns per annum... so damn low...
I believed Temasek uses all the pool of CPF to invest in various ventures but profits made do not go back to out CPF pool... else why a meager 2.5%?
Look at the recent price increase and pay hike for ministers? Do u really believe that the average pay increase in Spore now is 4.1% ? How many actually get that kind of increment ?
we pay taxes for so many things and yet we do not have something like a state benefits scheme..
2) Other countries are much bigger than Spore...thus they can have more competition by having many different companies providing the same Public Service..
Spore is so damn small... Privatised for wat ? For example Channel U and Mediacorp.. a few yrs a go they are 2 diff companies.. then they merged together saying not big a market to have 2 differ kind of companies offering free-to-air channels...
Look at SMRT now...they are privatised and yet keep posting record profits and yet keep asking for more fee hike... Is it really neccessary for them to be privatised in the 1st place ?
3) Yeah...I agree... But the their cost of living is also higher and they salary is also higher...high enough to compensate the high cost of living..
How abt spore ? Only Minsters get super high salary increase and those in public and banking sector... Do most people really get 4.1 % increase in pay ? Are Singapoerans actually getting richer on a whole (i.e. richer as in increasing in purchasing power..) Has increment in pay matches or rise above the increase in cost of living ???
4) I read that somewhere in the Speaker's corner..
Some guy did some homework and calculated that 50b figure...
I just believe it lah.. In a country where media is controlled and everyone bets on soccer, toto, 4D, horses...etc... I think the figure is not far-fetched considering that Singapore pool is the ONLY legal way to place bets...
U seemed to be not answering his questions.Originally posted by Gazelle:My advice is to stop believe all the bull crap the whiners are writing in this forum because
a) Whiners are faceless and they are not responsible for what they said.
b) Whiners usually cant back up what they claim
c) Whiners manupulate statistic while others are blind
d) Whiners will are like birds, they will fly together if the have same feathers.
It is not how much you earn that make you rich, it is how much you can save. FYI, most people living in USA, Australia, UK are full of debt.
Whiners will sugar coat good things about "their" countries just to make themselve look good.
Just like PAP? They given resorted to giving out candies to make themselves look good.Originally posted by Gazelle:Whiners will sugar coat good things about "their" countries just to make themselve look good.
I will let the whiners do the explaination because they are the one that is corrupting the mind of the people here.Originally posted by will4:U seemed to be not answering his questions.
You'll get used to it. Gazelle doesn't answers questions that he doesn't know how to answer.Originally posted by will4:U seemed to be not answering his questions.
Originally posted by Gazelle:a) Whiners are faceless and they are not responsible for what they said.
b) Whiners usually cant back up what they claim
c) Whiners manupulate statistic while others are blind
d) Whiners will are like birds, they will fly together if the have same feathers.

Sometimes i find it bullcrap for people to say sg is a food paradise.Originally posted by Gazelle:Plus you must be prepared to leave these behind..
Yo yo...Originally posted by bangkokboy:You'll get used to it. Gazelle doesn't answers questions that he doesn't know how to answer.
totally agree on this one. we dont grow much vegetable or rear any live stocks, everything is imported. so how to prepare food that can be compared to paradise without fresh ingredients is really a mystery.Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:Sometimes i find it bullcrap for people to say sg is a food paradise.
I have travelled to like 3~4 asia countries and i say all their food are nicer then sg ones.
Ya..I agree..Originally posted by spinsugar:People all have different needs and characters, so even if person A had a success story in, say, Australia, person B may find it unsuitable for them.. a better question would be "where CAN we migrate to?"
Also, I don't think you should rule China out. One of the good side-effects of travel / migration is that it tends to opens your mind, and alot of myths get dispelled. The PRC myth for example. We Singapore LOOOVE to stereotype PRCs.. Just put a group of Singaporeans together in a "I hate PRC" thread and watch how we quickly define ourselves as Singaporeans. But when you travel / migrate, you're forced to break that barrier, to learn more about other Asians.. maybe one day when you get to really mix with the cosmopolitan Chinese, you may overcome the stereotypes and realise you have so much to learn from each other. Who knows, you may even decide to take a step further, tour the country with a local and fall in love with their differences and cultural depth.
Hope u find a great new home country soon
Intersting..... Mainland Chinese looking down on other Mainland Chinese from poorer area. Much like S'porean lookin down on their own Country.... always S'pore no good this, no good that. We are SOOOOO Alike.....Originally posted by Zelphon:Ya..I agree..
I spent 6 mths in Shanghai, China before..
So I realised that the Shanghainese are the same as us..They speak the same, they behave the same and best of all, they portray themselves with dignity and flair...unlike the rest of the mainland Chinese who are crude and insensitive..
In fact, the SHanghainese do not like the rural mainland chinese as they also find them disgraceful...
mine telling us what sort of food you have tasted overseas and you cant find them in Singapore??Originally posted by :Sometimes i find it bullcrap for people to say sg is a food paradise.
I have travelled to like 3~4 asia countries and i say all their food are nicer then sg ones.
Originally posted by hloc:I find your comprehension of the situation lacking. Rather than drawing the conclusion of Singaporeans looking down on their own country, shouldn't the similarity be drawn at ELITEs looking down and throdding on the PEASANTS?
Intersting..... [b]Mainland Chinese looking down on other Mainland Chinese from poorer area. Much like S'porean lookin down on their own Country.... always S'pore no good this, no good that. We are SOOOOO Alike.....[/b]
Variety of food doesn't equate to quality of food.Originally posted by Gazelle:mine telling us what sort of food you have tasted overseas and you cant find them in Singapore??
Mmm... agree.... My MistakeOriginally posted by bigmouthjoe:I find your comprehension of the situation lacking. Rather than drawing the conclusion of Singaporeans looking down on their own country, shouldn't the similarity be drawn at ELITEs looking down and throdding on the PEASANTS?
Sheesh.![]()