... frightfully COSTLY isn't it?Originally posted by spinsugar:That's not being positive.. that's having your head up in the clouds.... hyping up the good stuff, ignoring the bad stuff and just hoping they'll go away. *shakes head* The way things are being handled now... I am glad I won't be living here in 10 years time.. in a place where you can earn anywhere from $1k - $8k and still be called "middle-class"...
Unbelievably costly. But I was referring to the way we're categorized. When $1k - $8k is middle class, the ones at the bottom end of the range will have trouble convincing people of the severity of their problems and getting assistance because, after all, even living on $8k can be considered "middle-class".Originally posted by HyperFocal:... frightfully COSTLY isn't it?
Personally, I feel that the government is NUMB from being excessively rich through their ever-increasing salaries that they dish out and maintains policies that are OUT OF TOUCH with the REALITIES of locals making a living, and living in Singapore...Originally posted by spinsugar:Unbelievably costly. But I was referring to the way we're categorized. When $1k - $8k is middle class, the ones at the bottom end of the range will have trouble convincing people of the severity of their problems and getting assistance because, after all, even living on $8k can be considered "middle-class".
Right.. sometimes I wonder if our self-proclaimed "top brass" actually know anything out of their dusty textbooks. Any variable outcome not stated in their textbook will just be tai-chi-ed back to the people. I don't fancy our people having to pay millions for seatwarmers.. millions for reading out of a textbook, now that's a sweet deal.Originally posted by HyperFocal:Personally, I feel that the government is NUMB from being excessively rich through their ever-increasing salaries that they dish out and maintains policies that are OUT OF TOUCH with the REALITIES of locals making a living, and living in Singapore...
Last night, I was at a friend's BBQ gathering; and she happened to talk about her son in-law's mother who is in hospital. She says that even though she has 4 sons and 4 daughters, ALL OF THEM, wait for one another when it comes to footing hospital charges/bills... none of them wanted to shoulder the financial burden as her children. Only one of them (her son in-law) bothered to take the lead and make suggestions to the rest in looking after their mother's needs and wellbeing...
This makes me wonder; DOES the government know the VARIABLE outcomes of HAVING children in Singapore?? DO they know that it DOES NOT guarantee one will be taken cared of when one's children grow up?
I say, the government is NOT in touch with the many realities locals face for the past decades they have been "in charge" as a "government"...
I feel the way too.Originally posted by Atobe:111,000 new jobs created ?
How many of these new jobs were taken by FTs ?
Unemployment down to 2.4% an improvement ?
In an IMF country report for Singapore, it showed unemployment was 2.5% in 2005.
Since end-2005 till now, it has been a lapse of nearly 18 months, and the unemployment rate only saw a reduction of 0.1% - even as 111,000 jobs were created.
Are the figures being massaged for a self-congratulatory celebration ?
... *sigh*...Originally posted by Rock^Star:Self praise is no praise. This National Day speech is nothing more than an attempt to gloss over the cracks.
Perhaps a way to justify their raise? with hints of desperation lurking very strongly between the lines....as if there was no better way to achieve their objective than by indulging in self flattery.
A marked difference from previous National Day speeches.
Oh.....the one good thing is that....he did not say Mee Siam mai hum again which betrayed the fact that he has not eaten at a hawker centre for ages.
National Day Rally will never be interesting with someone like Lee Hsien Loong speaking!!!Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:"Raise the value of HDB flats"
"Money to spend in their golden age"..
Why is it they repeat the same nonsense every year and yet never face the reality that such assets are only as useful as one's wishful thinking?
Not only that, the incessant harping on national cohesion keeps people very mindful of themselves and even possibly suspicious at one another as a potential troublemaker.
Have they ever even wondered about that?
And the jobs, they will always hide the important statistics. This is pure... bullocks.
And our resident idiots promised us an interesting speech.This has got to be flat out boring.
If the NDP Rally is going to be this boring, I would rather go sleep.
It will enhance the value of HDB homes and improve the CPF system so they can enjoy a steady income and peace of mind in their golden years.This is one of the stupidest utterations I've heard so far from our esteemed Leader. The value of HDB flat is asset wealth, which is very difficult to transmit into liquid wealth, which is what our countrymen need more. Does our PM expect the elderly to sell their flats and live on the streets on the resulting windfall?
Instead of blaming the children, why not direct the root of the problem to the regime? There can be no social justice without social responsibility - and much as this regime would like to tout, failings like those you mention shouldn't be ascribed to what this regime conveniently labels as Asian Values.Originally posted by HyperFocal:Personally, I feel that the government is NUMB from being excessively rich through their ever-increasing salaries that they dish out and maintains policies that are OUT OF TOUCH with the REALITIES of locals making a living, and living in Singapore...
Last night, I was at a friend's BBQ gathering; and she happened to talk about her son in-law's mother who is in hospital. She says that even though she has 4 sons and 4 daughters, ALL OF THEM, wait for one another when it comes to footing hospital charges/bills... none of them wanted to shoulder the financial burden as her children. Only one of them (her son in-law) bothered to take the lead and make suggestions to the rest in looking after their mother's needs and wellbeing...
This makes me wonder; DOES the government know the VARIABLE outcomes of HAVING children in Singapore?? DO they know that it DOES NOT guarantee one will be taken cared of when one's children grow up?
I say, the government is NOT in touch with the many realities locals face for the past decades they have been "in charge" as a "government"...
Originally posted by qlqq9:It is based on reality, actually - the corrupt tyrant's brand of reality, that is.
PM Lee should start to talk sense base on reality.We don't need a political painter!! Wake up Lee Hsien Loong!
Originally posted by walesa:It is based on reality, actually - the corrupt tyrant's brand of reality, that is.
Really, I don't understand this man! He pays himself such a huge lump sum of salary, doesn't he exercise any conscience, practicality, credibility when he talks to the people of Singapore. He owes us the people of Singapore to be honest in all he says and we don't owe him anything! It is not worth it to pay a sub-standard PM such huge amount of salary.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Something will give one day.. and it won't be nice.
dun be too sure yet....his mai ham, mai ham boo boo is made on the rally. in a week's time or so, we will know if he say `pork chop briyani' or not....Originally posted by Rock^Star:Oh.....the one good thing is that....he did not say Mee Siam mai hum again which betrayed the fact that he has not eaten at a hawker centre for ages.
Personally, I have a little Gastritis..so I avoid watching, or listening to his speeches.... things that he says, aggravates my Gastritis very badly...Originally posted by dakkon_blackblade:This is one of the stupidest utterations I've heard so far from our esteemed Leader. The value of HDB flat is asset wealth, which is very difficult to transmit into liquid wealth, which is what our countrymen need more. Does our PM expect the elderly to sell their flats and live on the streets on the resulting windfall?