hmmm....Originally posted by de_middle:there are rental flats actually for the poor which are heavily subsidized but i heard that the gross income must fall below $700 in order for the approval to be granted, a room costs $70 per month.....
Is that what your referring to![]()
not true leh, even if its clean...most public benches have those humps that prevent u from lying downOriginally posted by eagle:![]()
Singapore government do provide relatively cheap healthcare though... And our streets are clean enough to sleep
You mean FI? She's just an idiot....and won't understand much.Originally posted by iveco:Tell that to Dolores Umbridge, not to me.![]()
Ah, you read JK Rowling as well. Is the PAP regime looking like it's being controlled by Death Eaters?Originally posted by Rock^Star:You mean FI? She's just an idiot....and won't understand much.
Some fire escapes do provide a nice play to sleep too... I saw one person doing that before. Made it into quite a nice and cosy place... First floor behind the staircase... There's some ventilation there too.Originally posted by de_middle:not true leh, even if its clean...most public benches have those humps that prevent u from lying down
erecting tents along changi beach also need approval hor
let me suggest a perfect place to sleep, those atm lobby with aircon![]()
I thought the Ministry of Magic are the cover up experts...?Originally posted by iveco:Ah, you read JK Rowling as well. Is the PAP regime looking like it's being controlled by Death Eaters?
hmmm, but no "free" pee-member leh........must i submit income statement that i earn below $700 to get free pee-memberOriginally posted by eagle:hmmm....
And your post number very nice... 8088... 10Mhz Intel Chip
Nonono.....never a fan of Harry Potter. I do get your drift thoughOriginally posted by iveco:Ah, you read JK Rowling as well. Is the PAP regime looking like it's being controlled by Death Eaters?
Yeah, and being a cover-up expert gets you nowhere and earns you widespread disapproval. Time for the government to realise that.Originally posted by eagle:I thought the Ministry of Magic are the cover up experts...?
when is the next elections arOriginally posted by iveco:Yeah, and being a cover-up expert gets you nowhere and earns you widespread disapproval. Time for the government to realise that.![]()
that depends on the govt... they can do it anytime to surprise the opposition.Originally posted by de_middle:when is the next elections army memory is failing
Originally posted by hloc:Honestly to you think it is possible for any country in this world to not have beggars and homeless?
[b]I agree with the fact that there ARE many more HOMELESS & BEGGARS, even in 1st World Countires.
But 1 HOMELESS or BEGGARS are 1 to many.....
The only thing 1st World Countires could possibly learn from us, is how we 'COVE UP' the fact that we too have HOMELESS & BEGGARS.... by choice or not by choice doesn't matters.
This is not about who is WINNING or LOSING...... it is also not about since the 1st World Countires have HOMELESS & BEGGARS.... it is OK for us to have them too.
prefer to make money that wayOriginally posted by Gazelle:Honestly to you think it is possible for any country in this world to not have beggars and homeless?
Reason for asking is because some people beg is not because they cant find a job or physically disable, but the just prefer to make money that way. While there are also those who are mentally unsound or people who ruin they own life because of drugs, gambling, broken family etc. While some might not be even Singaporeans.
It might be better for the society to get a better unstanding of the profile of these people before suggesting that our government is not doing enough.
It's true that some are not even Singaporeans. I do believe that in other countries, the homeless may also not be their countrymen. But you do have a point here.Originally posted by Gazelle:Honestly to you think it is possible for any country in this world to not have beggars and homeless?
Reason for asking is because some people beg is not because they cant find a job or physically disable, but the just prefer to make money that way. While there are also those who are mentally unsound or people who ruin they own life because of drugs, gambling, broken family etc. While some might not be even Singaporeans.
It might be better for the society to get a better unstanding of the profile of these people before suggesting that our government is not doing enough.
wonder how much further the percentages will slide again, anyway as long as its above 50%, its still landslide victoryOriginally posted by eagle:that depends on the govt... they can do it anytime to surprise the opposition.
But the previous one is on may 2006
Yeh, they like to sit near dustbins and beg.Originally posted by de_middle:prefer to make money that way
sorry, i'm trying my best to be serious![]()
u ar.......why u must make meOriginally posted by Rock^Star:Yeh, they like to sit near dustbins and beg.
They also like the natural wind blowing at night, don't need air-con.
They also do not mind being recognised by friends and relatives while begging for pity money.
Seriously lah.
Army trained mah...Originally posted by Rock^Star:Yeh, they like to sit near dustbins and beg.
They also like the natural wind blowing at night, don't need air-con.
They also do not mind being recognised by friends and relatives while begging for pity money.
Seriously lah.
.. soon.. they will be fighting to keep their heads above the water-line of 50%...Originally posted by de_middle:wonder how much further the percentages will slide again, anyway as long as its above 50%, its still landslide victory![]()
How about GRCs of 8 people?Originally posted by HyperFocal:.. soon.. they will be fighting to keep their jeads above the water-line of 50%...![]()
obviously you are too young and inexperience to know there not all beggers you see on the street are poor.Originally posted by de_middle:prefer to make money that way
sorry, i'm trying my best to be serious![]()
Begging can earn quite an amount....Originally posted by Gazelle:obviously you are too young and inexperience to know there not all beggers you see on the street are poor.
Please elabotate ur point.Originally posted by Gazelle:obviously you are too young and inexperience to know there not all beggers you see on the street are poor.
It's a pasttime.Originally posted by will4:Please elabotate ur point.
Havent you read those stories about fake monks begging for money in the day and sleeping with call girls at night? Plus, some of these beggars are actually run by syndicate and chinese temple is one of their favourite spot.Originally posted by will4:Please elabotate ur point.