Another white horse, perhaps.Originally posted by maurizio13:I thought absent without leave (AWOL) is an offence punishable by detention barracks (DB).
That's the maximum punishment.Originally posted by maurizio13:I thought absent without leave (AWOL) is an offence punishable by detention barracks (DB).
I know alot of ah bengs mostly all get DB for AWOL.Originally posted by LazerLordz:That's the maximum punishment.
If really another white horse, 2.5K fine is like they say one extremely extremely fragmented grain of peanut.Originally posted by stellazio:i'm quite surprised that the officer who went awol only got a 2.5k fine espeiclaly afetr this case has gone public.
I just checked the SAF Act (Chapter 295)Originally posted by LazerLordz:That's the maximum punishment.
Originally posted by maurizio13:"or any less punishment authorised by this Act."
I just checked the SAF Act (Chapter 295)
Absence without leave
[b]22. —(1) Every person subject to military law who is absent without leave from service in the Singapore Armed Forces or from the place where he is lawfully required for the time being to be shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction by a subordinate military court to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 2 years or any less punishment authorised by this Act.
(2) It shall be a defence for any person charged under this section to prove that his absence was a result of circumstances over which he had no control.
could beOriginally posted by googoomuck:Another white horse, perhaps.![]()
In my day it was the standard punishmentOriginally posted by LazerLordz:That's the maximum punishment.
I don't know bout 14/21 extra duties, but standard is detention barracks. What's SOL?Originally posted by LazerLordz:"or any less punishment authorised by this Act."
In fact, most AWOL cases are usually dealt with 14/21 extra duties or SOL.![]()
"reprimand"..Originally posted by jay_rocks:what abt hongyi?
His reprimand probably Chief of Defence Force ask him go office drink kopi, then tell him politely, Ah Yi ah, next time don't be so naughty hor.Originally posted by stellazio:"reprimand"..![]()
your ah gong got special requestOriginally posted by maurizio13:His reprimand probably Chief of Defence Force ask him go office drink kopi, then tell him politely, Ah Yi ah, next time don't be so naughty hor.
Originally posted by Mat Toro:Lets look at the case.
BTW, I suggest all of you who are employed by others to stop using company time to chat on forum. Thats thievery of company time.
SOL = Stoppage of Leave. Basically it's confinement to camp, and you have to report to the guardroom every hour or two. There will be defaulter's parade and a lot of regimented drills.Originally posted by maurizio13:I don't know bout 14/21 extra duties, but standard is detention barracks. What's SOL?
There's one thing I don't get about you. Why do you assume that people here are all working or are subordinates that do not enjoy a free rein on their work responsibilities?Originally posted by Mat Toro:BTW, I suggest all of you who are employed by others to stop using company time to chat on forum. Thats thievery of company time.
Not always..... I got a cook onboard my old ship that kena 7 weekend confinement..... It was his 1st time + there was a reason....Originally posted by maurizio13:I thought absent without leave (AWOL) is an offence punishable by detention barracks (DB).