well, my final year starts this month.Originally posted by LazerLordz:The night would be a nice time to unwind yea..
Speaking of SEP..you should have applied for this HPAIR conference in Beijing and HK this month.
Not a bad experience..though it's more development and business oriented as compared to last year.
I was part of the Security workshop, talked to a few post-grad students who happened to rotate out of Iraq with their Stryker brigades after their officer contract ended.. we shared a few tales and some of us learnt a fair bit about Operations Other Than War through the eyes of people who were not trained for that but have relatively succeeded in doing so.
You really get to meet a mini-UN while at any HPAIR workshop.![]()
Good luck then.Originally posted by eagle:well, my final year starts this month.I've made sure and planned well ahead with my modules so that I gained both major skills (engineering) and additional value added skills (learning both German and Jap)
words of fact frm MY EXPERIENCEOriginally posted by Gazelle:How can you say its the job market, when there are no statistic to support your views that today's average starting pay for poly grad is 1.2K?
like I said before, if you are second guessing or using words like MOST LIKELY, it will be a waste of time for further discussion and we will all be ending up doing mental masturbation.
There is no one policy in this world that will benefit the people equally, hence lets me more realistic when we talk about policy
you nehber listen careful careful lah.Originally posted by Mospeada:67?
i thot the draw down age is 65?![]()
After afew more adjustments it will be 70.Originally posted by reddressman:Can I say that all who are 50 and below currently will be retiring legally at 67 or higher, assuming they all live past 67 years + 20?
kekeke...Originally posted by maurizio13:After afew more adjustments it will be 70.
He will start telling you Singaporeans are living to 100. It's up to the individual to believe or dispute.
Frankly, how many Singaporeans you know lives till above 85?
Hehehe.....
Do you think the idea of having a 4th public funded university is a good initiative that will help poly grad like you who have missed out the chance of getting a university degree locally?Originally posted by duotiga83:words of fact frm MY EXPERIENCEmy 1st yr pay for gross is just $1.5k in 2006. is only current job pay there is an increase in it for my DIP Engineering Cert 3 yrs ago which is obsolete in what i learn (IT)
diff ppl diff problem, so pls dont generalise all who have the same method of going to uni......i wish i cld but due to finance prob i cant ...do you think i wanna left behind also????
You must be damn thick. Didn't he just say he couldn't afford it? Our University education here isn't free like the Nordic countries or other democratic countries, where true meritocracy exist.Originally posted by Gazelle:Do you think the idea of having a 4th public funded university is a good initiative that will help poly grad like you who have missed out the chance of getting a university degree locally?
$1.5K definitely sound alot better than eagle's friends who claim to only make $1.2K with an eng. diploma after 4 years.
Please talk to the hand, they are listening.Originally posted by maurizio13:You must be damn thick. Didn't he just said he couldn't afford it? Our University education here isn't free like the Nordic countries or other democratic countries, where true meritocracy exist.
I am not intelligent enough to know where they intend to get money to pay for the + 1% for CPF interest. Likewise all the things painted on the beautiful canvass.Originally posted by SevenEleven:What is lacking also is how he is going to tack the increased in medical cost (class C ward increased)
the PM said by year 2012, the draw down age is 65, but he forgets 2011 is election year, dun tell me he already got confidence PAP will form the next governemntOriginally posted by Mospeada:67?
i thot the draw down age is 65?![]()
There will be more incentives in 2012 mah...Originally posted by t_a_s:the PM said by year 2012, the draw down age is 65, but he forgets 2011 is election year, dun tell me he already got confidence PAP will form the next governemnt
As PM Lee has annouced that the government will be buying back the tail lease of 2-3rooms flat so that elderly home owners can extract the value out of the flat for retirement. I suspect that this is going to be the government way of helping lower income singaporeans to growth their retirement fund.Originally posted by gerrykoh:PM speech shows how the govt will redevelop Punggol & old housing est., how much upgrading they are going to do even for pte. est...
Why spend so much on upgrading when HDB lease is 99 yrs?
Give the money to citizens, why only give 1% to CPF so little??
They will have to work their arse off to ensure what he they promised is being delivered. I believe the biggest challange for this government is to ensure employment and job opportunities for the younger generation of singaporeans, and maintaining singapore competitiveness.Originally posted by BillyBong:PM's speech was all nice and dandy. CFP rates will be marginally increased, and CFP withdrawal rates will be increase to 65 years of age, with the option to start preliminary withdrawals at 62.
NDP rallies have always been very 'impressive'. I especially like his powerpoint presentation about Punggol-21 and his 'google earth' illustration.
Let's see how results and action prove his words and those of this cabinet.
didn't some else proposed the reverse mortage scheme? anyway, i think this is one scheme whereby the owner are allow to drawback on the investment without having to worry about the shelter overheadOriginally posted by Gazelle:As PM Lee has annouced that the government will be buying back the tail lease of 2-3rooms flat so that elderly home owners can extract the value out of the flat for retirement. I suspect that this is going to be the government way of helping lower income singaporeans to growth their retirement fund.
Hence it make sense for the government to enhance the value of public housing as it will means more fund for retirement.
let's hope they will not drop another bomb for that beautiful paintingOriginally posted by reddressman:I am not intelligent enough to know where they intend to get money to pay for the + 1% for CPF interest. Likewise all the things painted on the beautiful canvass.
So, I can only say they are so smart.![]()
It's called Fiscal Policy, they spend to help boost economy, if you spend $100, the marginal propensity to save is 20%, you will get a multiplier of 5 ($100 / 0.20), which means your $100 translate to $500 for the economy.Originally posted by gerrykoh:PM speech shows how the govt will redevelop Punggol & old housing est., how much upgrading they are going to do even for pte. est...
Why spend so much on upgrading when HDB lease is 99 yrs?
Give the money to citizens, why only give 1% to CPF so little??
That's why Singapore needs more new citizens.Originally posted by maurizio13:It's called Fiscal Policy, they spend to help boost economy, if you spend $100, the marginal propensity to save is 20%, you will get a multiplier of 5 ($100 / 0.20), which means your $100 translate to $500 for the economy.
This government smart, most government fiscal spending is the government's money, but for their case, they ask you to pay out a certain sum also, so they use your money to promote fiscal spending. Most of the projects are grossly inflated, one of my friend living in 3 rm HDB, ended up paying $12,000, the HDB say they subsidized 80-90%. My friend was like "fark!", means that his extra store room 2m X 3m is worth $60,000-$100,000.
Seriously, I'd rather they not give anything, because you don't know where else they going to suck from. If they keep doing this, very soon they will be professionals in Changi Village.
Since when does going office shake leg for a while, then go play golf equivalent to "working their arse off"?Originally posted by Gazelle:They will have to work their arse off to ensure what he they promised is being delivered. I believe the biggest challange for this government is to ensure employment and job opportunities for the younger generation of singaporeans, and maintaining singapore competitiveness.