LHLI did the sums but I can't seem to get $700 million, I only got $120 million
4. Solution
a. Enhance existing risk-free framework
b. CPFB will pay higher interest, up to a cap
i. 1 percentage point more
(1) On first $20,000 in your Ordinary Account
(2) And on up to a total of $60,000 on your combined Accounts (i.e. OA + SMRA)
ii. More than half the active members will get 1% more on all their balances
iii. You can still use the $60,000 for housing or medical expenses
iv. But not to take out to invest on your own (through CPFIS)
c. Beyond $60,000, maintain status quo
i. If you have this much, you should be able to look after yourself
ii. Can invest money yourself through the CPFIS
5. This 1% more will make a big difference
a. A young man who starts work today at 21, earns $1,700 per month, and buys a 4R HDB flat, will earn about $20,000 more interest at 55
b. i.e. one-quarter more interest than before
c. Cost GovernÂment $700 mn a year initially, and the amount will grow in future as members save more in their CPF
d. A lot of money – equal to the entire government grant to the HDB every year ($750 mn)
e. Done our sums carefully to make sure it is a reasonable rate to pay on CPF balances, and which the government can afford
f. Right thing to do, to help low- and middle-income SingaÂporeans save enough for old age
Source: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/ndp07/rally_english6.htm

Most of the time we get China meat, all tainted with slow acting poison.Originally posted by charlize:That's why Singapore needs more new citizens.
Fresh meat.
It is confirmed no need suspect,Originally posted by Gazelle:As PM Lee has annouced that the government will be buying back the tail lease of 2-3rooms flat so that elderly home owners can extract the value out of the flat for retirement. I suspect that this is going to be the government way of helping lower income singaporeans to growth their retirement fund.
Hence it make sense for the government to enhance the value of public housing as it will means more fund for retirement.
Originally posted by maurizio13:M13 please stop embarressing yourself. I think a primary school kids will be able to prove that your statistic consist on nothing but BULL CRAP!!
[b]There is one part of the PM's rocket science calculation I don't seem to understand.
He said:
I did the sums but I can't seem to get $700 million, I only got $88.7 million
How the fark is it $700 million?!?! I know he did Maths in Cambridge, but was it Voodoo Maths???
Maybe he got that guy who did the calculation for that extra stroke of cane to do the maths.![]()
Why don't you prove it then?Originally posted by Gazelle:M13 please stop embarressing yourself. I think a primary school kids will be able to prove that your statistic consist on nothing but BULL CRAP!!
I think he agar agar see $21billion in CPF Ordinary accounts then times 3.5% approximately. In speeches like this, must give a figure as big as possible mah..$88.7 million where got impressive?? then serfs like us would be impressed with the sacrifices the govt made for the citizens *sob* *sob* .Originally posted by maurizio13:There is one part of the PM's rocket science calculation I don't seem to understand.
He said:
I did the sums but I can't seem to get $700 million, I only got $88.7 million
How the fark is it $700 million?!?! I know he did Maths in Cambridge, but was it Voodoo Maths???
Maybe he got that guy who did the calculation for that extra stroke of cane to do the maths.![]()
Maybe some maths genius can direct me to the PM's figure of $700 million.
Yes, of couse, or else, idiot like you will continue to come out with crap numbers which will mess up the mind of other sheep.Originally posted by maurizio13:Why don't you prove it then?
Do I have to take the Gazelle's Challenge???
Wahaha....![]()
M13, this is the kind of SHEEP that I am talking about.Originally posted by kilua:I think he agar agar see $21billion in CPF Ordinary accounts then times 3.5% approximately. In speeches like this, must give a figure as big as possible mah..$88.7 million where got impressive?? then serfs like us would be impressed with the sacrifices the govt made for the citizens *sob* *sob* .
But back of his mind he must be laughing... use the serfs CPF money in GIC and make 9% and give them 3.5%.
The best part is, the 9% they make from the GIC and Temasek, a large proportion comes from overcharging Singapore citizens. I feel so sorry for him, according to Gazelle, he is working his ass off by just saying "increase GST another 2% lor, have to take strong medicine........". Maybe he has to work his arse off to figure out "have to take strong medicine....".Originally posted by kilua:I think he agar agar see $21billion in CPF Ordinary accounts then times 3.5% approximately. In speeches like this, must give a figure as big as possible mah..$88.7 million where got impressive?? then serfs like us would be impressed with the sacrifices the govt made for the citizens *sob* *sob* .
But back of his mind he must be laughing... use the serfs CPF money in GIC and make 9% and give them 3.5%.
It's sad when lamers like you have to resort to threats to suppress the opposition, alot like our P4P.Originally posted by Gazelle:Yes, of couse, or else, idiot like you will continue to come out with crap numbers which will mess up the mind of other sheep.
Do you have the balls to take up the challenge? Or are you going to start giving excuses and hide under the skirt again?
Like I have told you before, becareful of what you said and post or you will have to defend your statement like a stupid sheep.
M13, please dont try to hide. I am asking YOU. Are you willing to take the Gazelle challenge? because I am saying that your statistic is nothing but a piece of sh.it only good enough to feed the SHEEP in this forum.Originally posted by maurizio13:The best part is, the 9% they make from the GIC and Temasek, a large proportion comes from overcharging Singapore citizens. I feel so sorry for him, according to Gazelle, he is working his ass off by just saying "increase GST another 2% lor, have to take strong medicine........". Maybe he has to work his arse off to figure out "have to take strong medicine....".![]()
Seriously, if you have it, prove me wrong, else don't waste my time with lame ass threats.Originally posted by Gazelle:M13, please dont try to hide. I am asking YOU. Are you willing to take the Gazelle challenge? because I am saying that your statistic is nothing but a piece of sh.it only good enough to feed the SHEEP in this forum.
Common!!!
Ok.Originally posted by Gazelle:M13, please dont try to hide. I am asking YOU. Are you willing to take the Gazelle challenge? because I am saying that your statistic is nothing but a piece of sh.it only good enough to feed the SHEEP in this forum.
Common!!!
M13, stop talking like a little girl leh....I mean...you always claim that you know so much in this forum....dont you think you should stand tall like a MAN and defend what you have posted?Originally posted by maurizio13:It's sad when lamers like you have to resort to threats to suppress the opposition, alot like our P4P.
Defend? I am still waiting for your rebuttal. If you are capable of analysis and higher order thinking.
The Gazelle Challenge for today is,Originally posted by maurizio13:Ok.
I take your Gazelle Challenge, prove to me that's it's a piece of sh|t.
It's just figures to window dress the speech, even the 2007 Budget's revenue was grossly understated, the GST is way off by one or two billion. Then he will present to parliament that he has actually incurred a budget deficit trying to help the citizens of Singapore. But come next year's budget, when you look at the previous year's "ACTUAL" figure, they have made a surplus instead of a deficit.Originally posted by mistyblue:so far, a lot of numbers in the speech through the years did not have an actual break down of how all these are calculated and where the numbers are derived from and what assumptions are made when calculating these numbers. Evne if there is a break down, there was no tranparency in the first place so how does anyone know if these numbers are massaged (remember the NTU case)
Such as people will live up to and beyond 80 which justified such a massive change in CPF draw down age eventually to 70 and other countries are doing whatever and therefore we have to follow them. Or that 1% increase in CPF is enough and we should be happy with that increase and etc. Our schools and education system is number 1 but not good enough for the elites and the ministers, etc. How come when it comes to upgrade estate and whatever, and the most boiling of all, the LUP, it was claimed there was subsidy, but is it really?
Listen but take it with a large pinch of salt.
At least this year, he didn't make any mai hum comments. Year on year, this is a performance review - But I keep wondering, is Singapore really performing as well as he said.
You must prove that the PM's figure of $700 million.Originally posted by Gazelle:The Gazelle Challenge for today is,
If I can proof to you that the statistic reflected on your post 13.24pm, last edited at 14.12pm is flawed, you will
1) apologise to everybody in this forum for providing distorted fabricated information to defame singapore government
2) shall kiss Gazelle hairy arse
3) stop posting further stupid statistic to mess up the mind of the SHEEP
4) Admit that you are a SHEEP.
Is that a deal?
The S$60,000 cap is the maximum amount you can enjoy the 1% increase in CPF rate. ie. if you have $120,000 in your CPF, only $60,000 will enjoy the 1%.Originally posted by maurizio13:You must prove that the PM's figure of $700 million.
Deal!!!
If you lose, you shall do those exact same things, but to yourself.
The thing is do you have the brains and the balls to take up your own challenge.
Originally posted by Gazelle: 20 August 2007 01.52 PM
M13 please stop embarressing yourself. I think a primary school kids will be able to prove that your statistic consist on nothing but BULL CRAP!!
Originally posted by Gazelle: 20 August 2007 02.00 PM
Yes, of couse, or else, idiot like you will continue to come out with crap numbers which will mess up the mind of other sheep.
Do you have the balls to take up the challenge? Or are you going to start giving excuses and hide under the skirt again?
Like I have told you before, becareful of what you said and post or you will have to defend your statement like a stupid sheep.
Originally posted by Gazelle: 20 August 2007 02.11 PM
M13, this is the kind of SHEEP that I am talking about.
Originally posted by Gazelle: 20 August 2007 02.21 PM
M13, please dont try to hide. I am asking YOU. Are you willing to take the Gazelle challenge? because I am saying that your statistic is nothing but a piece of sh.it only good enough to feed the SHEEP in this forum.
Common!!!
Originally posted by Gazelle: 20 August 2007 02.25 PM
M13, stop talking like a little girl leh....I mean...you always claim that you know so much in this forum....dont you think you should stand tall like a MAN and defend what you have posted?
I mean, I am tell everybody here that you are a piece of shi.t only capable for providing shi.t information to feed the SHEEP.
M13, the gazelle is waiting for you to take up the challenge..
NO BALLS? hahahaha....
PS. lets see how M13 is going to snake out of the situation...
Originally posted by Gazelle: 20 August 2007 02.34 PM
The Gazelle Challenge for today is,
If I can proof to you that the statistic reflected on your post 13.24pm, last edited at 14.12pm is flawed, you will
1) apologise to everybody in this forum for providing distorted fabricated information to defame singapore government
2) shall kiss Gazelle hairy arse
3) stop posting further stupid statistic to mess up the mind of the SHEEP
4) Admit that you are a SHEEP.
Is that a deal?
Well, I admit I was wrong on my calculation, but I based my understanding that this measure was to help the low and middle class Singaporeans as mentioned by him in his speech. How come it includes the rich now?Originally posted by Gazelle:The S$60,000 cap is the maximum amount you can enjoy the 1% increase in CPF rate. ie. if you have $120,000 in your CPF, only $60,000 will enjoy the 1%.
If you refer back to CPF statistic on page 84, total number of people will $60,000 and above is 937,596, which mean, S$56,225,760,000 of CPF from this group will benefit from the 1% hike, which will cost the government $562,225,760
As for those below $60,000 group their total CPF value is S$12,015,540,000, of which 100% will benefit from the 1% interest hike and will cost the government = $120,014,540.
Total Cost : $562,225,820 + $120,014,540 = $682,713,040
Go easy on the arse, because I just had diarrhea this morning...
LHL
4. Solution
a. Enhance existing risk-free framework
b. CPFB will pay higher interest, up to a cap
i. 1 percentage point more
(1) On first $20,000 in your Ordinary Account
(2) And on up to a total of $60,000 on your combined Accounts (i.e. OA + SMRA)
ii. More than half the active members will get 1% more on all their balances
iii. You can still use the $60,000 for housing or medical expenses
iv. But not to take out to invest on your own (through CPFIS)
c. Beyond $60,000, maintain status quo
i. If you have this much, you should be able to look after yourself
ii. Can invest money yourself through the CPFIS
5. This 1% more will make a big difference
a. A young man who starts work today at 21, earns $1,700 per month, and buys a 4R HDB flat, will earn about $20,000 more interest at 55
b. i.e. one-quarter more interest than before
c. Cost GovernÂment $700 mn a year initially, and the amount will grow in future as members save more in their CPF
d. A lot of money – equal to the entire government grant to the HDB every year ($750 mn)
e. Done our sums carefully to make sure it is a reasonable rate to pay on CPF balances, and which the government can afford
f. Right thing to do, to help low- and middle-income SingaÂporeans save enough for old age
Source: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/ndp07/rally_english6.htm
But, you failed to prove the PM's figure of $700 million as mentioned by me in our deal.
I prefer this kind of exchanges. At least I figure out something.
[quote]Originally posted by maurizio13:You must prove that the PM's figure of $700 million.
Deal!!!
If you lose, you shall do those exact same things, but to yourself.
The thing is do you have the brains and the balls to take up your own challenge.
Duh, also, Temasek's track record overall hasn't been stellar. They appear to have improved in recent years, but prior to that, they hardly equaled the performance of major banks.Originally posted by Daddy!!:i heard gic did not do well for many years. thats why there were frequent changes in the top management.
Originally posted by Gazelle:While the number of people with a CPF balance of $60,000 and above will total 937,596 is correct - did you make an error is assuming the cost to the Government in the 1% extra payment being made ?
The S$60,000 cap is the maximum amount you can enjoy the 1% increase in CPF rate. ie. if you have $120,000 in your CPF, only $60,000 will enjoy the 1%.
If you refer back to CPF statistic on page 84, total number of people will $60,000 and above is 937,596, which mean, S$56,225,760,000 of CPF from this group will benefit from the 1% hike, which will cost the government $562,225,760
As for those below $60,000 group their total CPF value is S$12,015,540,000, of which 100% will benefit from the 1% interest hike and will cost the government = $120,014,540.
Total Cost : $562,225,820 + $120,014,540 = $682,713,040
Go easy on the arse, because I just had diarrhea this morning...
At least M13 has the balls to take up the challenge....As for you?? I have got nothing to sayOriginally posted by Atobe:Gazelle, is it not simply pathetically characteristic of you - that after half an hour of grand standing in a useless attempt to deflate m13 post, you still do not have the bullets to cut the numbers put up by m13.
Yet again, all you can display is a continuous spiral downwards - to draw on your expertise placed at the bottom of your skills in sniffing at others.
What else can we expect next, when you cannot face up to the facts in the numbers presented ?
Even with the time to digest the numbers presented in ''print'' - you cannot even comprehend, it must be a miracle of some kind that you could listen so well to absorb the verbal and slide presentation of numbers - that last for no more then 45 seconds on screen ?