Doesn't this goes to show that CPF is a failure....if it is called Provident Fund and is supposed to provided us with the means to live into our golden years..then why the need to have annuities....why not just raise CPF contributions to increase the Funds....cause they are scared they will drive businesses away with the increased costs....I say its another grand failureOriginally posted by HyperFocal:Isn't this so amazing..?
CPF was said to take care of the needs of people in their golden years.. now they are desperately trying to keep people employed working pass the Golden Years, and forcing people to buy Annuity...
This just show how responsible and short-sighted PAP is... or perhaps it was their intention all these while to absolve themselves from the responsibility of caring for its people?
I wonder, what's the next sh|t-house idea?
Nah, by my calculation...I'd give Sillypore at most another 50 years...as a country....do not know whether it will be another gahmen or same gahmen....I'd say let Sillypore dissolve and become part of another countryOriginally posted by HyperFocal:Can Singapore, last for or past 100 years?
.. I shudder just wondering about it...
This is what I predict to happen...Originally posted by Coquitlam:I'd say let Sillypore dissolve and become part of another country
Ewww... quite freaky to see you think that it will just simply dissolve into another country... where are your roots?Originally posted by Coquitlam:Nah, by my calculation...I'd give Sillypore at most another 50 years...as a country....do not know whether it will be another gahmen or same gahmen....I'd say let Sillypore dissolve and become part of another country
Let's see how things goes instead of predicting for the worst, shall we?Originally posted by HyperFocal:This is what I predict to happen...
the way PAP is doing things, they are heading for a Meltdown...
what things, what is your definition of meltdown?Originally posted by HyperFocal:This is what I predict to happen...
the way PAP is doing things, they are heading for a Meltdown...
thing1 /θɪŋ/ Pronunciation Key - Show Spelled Pronunciation[thing]Originally posted by Gazelle:what things, what is your definition of meltdown?
I dont see any of that rubbish happen unless it is related to global warmingOriginally posted by HyperFocal:
I believe by involving the private insurance company, the gahmen also earns a fraction of it. Probably they find the private insurance company can handle better than them and at the same time they save cost and money to employ people to take care of this.Originally posted by lotiman:If this new Annuities Scheme is compulsory, why cannot the Govt run it themselves, and run it like non-profitable organsation with transparency ? ie.
...CPF payout will be lesser
...Govt promise to pay with life perpetuality, ie. pay until one goes into coffin. ( a CPF within a CPF, Coffin Paid For within Central Provident Fund)
Why must Govt sub-out to private insurance companies ? What is amiss ?
Is NTUC under Temasek Holdings?Originally posted by sunnytv:Gahman relatives & fren working in insurance, so have to introduce business to them lah. His best friend NTUC.
Originally posted by Daddy!!:scenario 3. which is most troubling, is that there is no partial refund if the person dies before he draws out most of the lump sum he puts in. It there is no refund, the balance goes to the insurance company. Statistics showed that most die at 80 plus, so it is quite easy to make a profit out of it. The shareholders of this insurance company would be quite happy.
so below are the important things to look for
i) any refund ?
ii) state guaranteed ?
If Mr Lim Yan Beng starts with $48690 and earn interest at the rate of 4% and draws only $183 per month, the sum can last him 54 years!. Annuities is for those who cant smell a bad deal.Originally posted by Daddy!!:The fact that you use 240 means that $202 per month is over 20 years. But we are talking about perpectuality. So your calculation is off topic.
lets assume perpectuality to be 40 years, your calculation will be $48690/480 = $101 per month. Compare this with what Mr Lim Yan Beng got at $183.
I think i did mentioned in my post $202 was arrived without calculating the interest earned. But thanks for calculating the exact payout.Originally posted by maurizio13:Actually I disagree to some parts, the monthly payment should be around $272 (approximately), because the accumulated investment will still be earning returns until it's final payout.
$48,690 / PVIFA [3%, 20 years] = $48,690 / 14.8774 = $3,273 per year
Which means will get $272 a month.
Only if you can live longer than your investment's present value payout, then maybe it's worthwhile.
But I think what the minister meant was life annuities, which means they pay you annuity till you die. For such investments, unless you can forsee yourself living very long, else no point signing up because their payout is less than the normal annuity.
Originally posted by kilua:$183!!!
If Mr Lim Yan Beng starts with $48690 and earn interest at the rate of 4% and draws only $183 per month, the sum can last him [b]54 years!. Annuities is for those who cant smell a bad deal.
http://www.bankrate.com/brm/business-calculator.asp
you missed the lock in period from 55 to 62.Originally posted by Daddy!!:Mr Lim Yan Beng started with $37000 and not $48690.
Well, it is true that if he keeps his money in cpf and drawing $183 and reinvesting the balance at 4% per annum, his money will last him till around 90 years old. see below. if the pricing for our annuities is something ie $183 per month for a lump sum of $37000 , there is no added advantage for us to switch from cpf to annuities.
Yes. Both you and m13 are correct. See below. Wow! 110 years old ! I think i dont even live beyond 75. Lets say I am Mr Lim and I die at 75, i would be able to pass $41K to my family members. If there is no refund from the annuities, this money $41K goes to someone else.Originally posted by kilua:you missed the lock in period from 55 to 62.
http://forums.vr-zone.com/archive/index.php/t-40256.html
Mr Lim has to give the insurer $37000 when he is 55 and only starts collecting payout when he is 62.
If he left the money with the CPF board, at 62 he would have $48690.
I was confident that you shall see the light and you have.Originally posted by Daddy!!:CPF's payout is higher because there is a time-limit to it, while perpectual annuities does not have any time limit. This big difference, you dont know meh. A financial planner before and yet dont understand this difference.
clearly annuity is dependent on the "bonuses" and the "bonuses" are forecasted figures. remember the incident where many thought that they need not pay by x years as forecasted by the insurer but ended up still having to pay.Originally posted by Rock^Star:I was confident that you shall see the light and you have.
Don't just support every damn policy blindly. It makes one look spineless.
Seems that only NTUC has the bonus feature. Other insurers and banks do not because they only have the purely guaranteed payment portion. Can't blame them for trying to make the annuity look attractive but they do deserve flak for not living up to initial picture presented.Originally posted by Lin Yu:clearly annuity is dependent on the "bonuses" and the "bonuses" are forecasted figures. remember the incident where many thought that they need not pay by x years as forecasted by the insurer but ended up still having to pay.