Obviously a case of misinformation, those that live in Singapore most of their life should know more about Singapore than the foreigners.Originally posted by sg mata:our ppl wanna migrate, they wanna come in......![]()
Yes, we see so many more of China Chinese and India Indian than the westerners accepting citizenship of Singapore. This american is just the miserable minority who become citizen. All those "Angmos" I know of said they will never wanna become citizens. Singapore to them is a good place to work but not a good place to settle down. They don't agree with the way the local govt runs the country.Originally posted by maurizio13:Obviously a case of misinformation, those that live in Singapore most of their life should know more about Singapore than the foreigners.
Most of the new citizens we attract are from third world countries, where the living conditions are much worse than Singapore.
I wonder how many of those that became citizens are from Nordic countries or other western industrialised countries.
I am not so sure.Originally posted by qlqq9:Yes, we see so many more of China Chinese and India Indian than the westerners accepting citizenship of Singapore. This american is just the miserable minority who become citizen. All those "Angmos" I know of said they will never wanna become citizens. Singapore to them is a good place to work but not a good place to settle down. They don't agree with the way the local govt runs the country.
Are you trying to make yourself feel comfortable by saying that those who take up singaporea citizens are not aware what is going on in this country, like weather, PAP, NS, GST, Kiasu Singapore attitute? Common lah, do you think people would make such big decision as to give up their own citizenship without considering all these factors?Originally posted by maurizio13:Obviously a case of misinformation, those that live in Singapore most of their life should know more about Singapore than the foreigners.
Most of the new citizens we attract are from third world countries, where the living conditions are much worse than Singapore.
I wonder how many of those that became citizens are from Nordic countries or other western industrialised countries.
Are you claiming that those who left Singapore (the brain drain that Singapore government recognises), are stupid like you?Originally posted by Gazelle:Are you trying to make yourself feel comfortable by saying that those who take up singaporea citizens are not aware what is going on in this country, like weather, PAP, NS, GST, Kiasu Singapore attitute? Common lah, do you think people would make such big decision as to give up their own citizenship without considering all these factors?
Third world it may be, but their mentality is definite more matured that many singaporeans here, including many from this forum.
It is interesting you have assumed that all foreigners taking up citizenship are well-informed just based on one article.Originally posted by Gazelle:Are you trying to make yourself feel comfortable by saying that those who take up singaporea citizens are not aware what is going on in this country, like weather, PAP, NS, GST, Kiasu Singapore attitute? Common lah, do you think people would make such big decision as to give up their own citizenship without considering all these factors?
Third world it may be, but their mentality is definite more matured that many singaporeans here, including many from this forum.
As far as I know, I am already starting to see more and more local angmoh kids who eat and speaks like Singaporeans, and one of the picture display at the national day parade actually show a ang moh girl dressed in oriental costumeOriginally posted by justcooler:Have any one of you really see the point of this report
An American foregoing his citizenship of one of the most advance country in the world and took up sg citizenship.
1a) Singapore is a more desirable country as compared to US. (any comments ?)
1b) and why are Singaporeans still packing our bags ??
Also not to forget that they (the family) is a very small percentage of foreigners that is from a advance country. Are there any report or stat on people from developed countries determine to stay here for long term ??
Unfortunately Singapore is not the place to make a fortune. Simple life yes, fortune no. Those of us who had actually experienced overseas working lives will tell you that.Originally posted by Gazelle:As far as I know, I am already starting to see more and more local angmoh kids who eat and speaks like Singaporeans, and one of the picture display at the national day parade actually show a ang moh girl dressed in oriental costume
What the anti-PAP forumers like about amercian is the political freedom, however they dont realise taht majority of the americans doesnt give a damn about politics and they dont vote.
I guess if you are looking for a welfare state, Singapore will definitely not the place to be, however if you what to make a fortune and have a peaceful life, Singapore is a good place to consider.
I dont consider Indonesian and Malaysian to be foreigners because our culture are just too similar and geographically too close.Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:It is interesting you have assumed that all foreigners taking up citizenship are well-informed just based on one article.
We do have a forumer by the nick of Will4, an indonesian, who unfortunately do not share the same view of the ''majority'' of these foreigners. By being in Singapore for a period of time, he must have experienced something to think along that line.
But Will4's story and many others like him will NEVER be published or publicised by Singapore's government controlled media.
'Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Unfortunately Singapore is not the place to make a fortune. Simple life yes, fortune no. Those of us who had actually experienced overseas working lives will tell you that.
Maybe to indonesia too, since her wife is an indonesian.Originally posted by googoomuck:Americans like Larry Medina have few regrets when they relinquish US citizenship. He can make a U-turn any time and go back to US if thereÂ’s a crisis in a foreign country that accepts him as a naturalized citizen.
The US State Department will assume that a US citizen intends to retain (not give up) his US citizenship even if he has renounced his US citizenship in a foreign country, subject to some terms and conditions.
US is a liberal country. The government accepts the fact that her citizens may sometimes may do or say something that theyÂ’ll regret later.
It's also a place for the rich, judging from the picture posted, if that is the house of the new citizen, then I guess he is rich.Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Unfortunately Singapore is not the place to make a fortune. Simple life yes, fortune no. Those of us who had actually experienced overseas working lives will tell you that.
Pal, you were the first one to suggest the Singapore is a better place to build our fortunes.Originally posted by Gazelle:'
can you qualify the above statement?
Sure, the income tax itself will be the first to start with, the singapore brand itself is next, plus the stability of this country will also means that people will be more willing to take risk, and the connectivity of singaporea as a shipping and aviation hub, and not to forget the FTAs singapore has established to give us some added avantage, and the strong supporting industry will also mean setting up manufacturing or trading business will be an ease. And of course the financial hub, tourism, MICE industry etc, will also mean more opportunity for service industry.Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Pal, you were the first one to suggest the Singapore is a better place to build our fortunes.
I suggest justifying that first.
"Dear Sir,Just something to think about. Is Singapore closely approaching the situation stated above?
Today, both my Singapore-born Singapore-citizen sons serve your family well by giving up their school places to your India-born India-citizen son. BUT THAT'S NOT ENOUGH! 12 years later, I will make sure my two sons serve your family again, by doing NS to protect you and your wife's safety, while your son is away from Singapore, having given up his PR to avoid NS! BUT THAT'S NOT ENOUGH! So, another 12 years after that, when you son comes back to Singapore as a "new" PR, in need of a job but too old to do NS, my children will give up their jobs so that your son can have one. Having no jobs, my two sons will then kill time, by doing more reservists and IPPT to ensure the safety and pleasure of your family! The honour is ours, Sir!"
Aren't we there already?Originally posted by rooki:One cool quote from http://young-pap.blogspot.com regarding the results of primary school balloting:
Just something to think about. Is Singapore closely approaching the situation stated above?