At least till his grandchildren are old enough to take over the reins from his son.Originally posted by HyperFocal:You know, even when they do find someone or some people to take over, iy won't be any different or better...
they'll be just as good as puppets and they'll remain behind the scenes pulling the strings of these puppets...
However next GE, they will know how unpopular they have made themselves...!
Then it will be supreme MM, MM, SM, PM and a few DPM. I think to some foreigners our ministers must look like bo siao kan (no sperm fark), so many equivalent level PM, salary level of ministers afew times higher than Switzerland, but living standards almost the same as Hong Kong and many times below Switzerland.Originally posted by mancha:Talent spot before the next GE.
Then takes at least two terms to mature.
That means Lee Jr will be around for the next three to four terms at least.
That could easily be 15 - 20 years.
That means Lee Jr would be PM till he is 70 or 75 years old.
Lau Lee would be 100 years old.![]()
I will be around for that.
Meanwhile, peace be with you![]()
Work until die?Originally posted by qlqq9:The Minister Mentor also urged those above 60 years old to continue working.
He said the CPF drawdown age or retirement age will have to move up to life expectancy minus 20 years.
Legal age for retirement will have to go up from 62 to 65 and to 67.
Eventually, he added, all those healthy and able to work, should be able to work regardless of age. - CNA/ch
The last batch has been studiously learning hip hop to impress people.Originally posted by robertteh:Was the last batch of MPs that successful that we must now find another batch in order not to lose the steam.
Was the last batch engaged in fighting for citizens' needs and aspirations and does that batch understand such needs at all.
Was the last batch successful in lowering the costs of living or doing business and creating the real economic competitiveness for all citizens?
If 3rd generation of leaders found could not help what is the use of finding the 4th generation of leaders who again may only be interested to get in for their own careers advancements and nothing was being changed.
Well, look at it this way, if they lose their day job, they can still go hollywood / mediacorpse to make a living.Originally posted by charlize:The last batch has been studiously learning hip hop to impress people.
Where got time for anything else?
That is the first thing on my mind after reading about it. It won't make any difference or better, on the other hand, it could be worse. People are not going to be impressed even if they manage to get new people joining them.Originally posted by HyperFocal:You know, even when they do find someone or some people to take over, iy won't be any different or better...
they'll be just as good as puppets and they'll remain behind the scenes pulling the strings of these puppets...
However next GE, they will know how unpopular they have made themselves...!
I can imagine those infamous tea parties that they hold to check out new candidates.Originally posted by qlqq9:That is the first thing on my mind after reading about it. It won't make any difference or better, on the other hand, it could be worse. People are not going to be impressed even if they manage to get new people joining them.
Yeah, because the govt wants to make sure the old people are not a burden to them. Work, work, work. Already at the age of 40, many people have problem looking for jobs. In Singapore, when people work in their old age, there is salary reduction. A neighbour's daughter who just reach 60, working in Singapore Pool just told me that her salary is reduced. She is one of the many with this experience. MM Lee in his 80s is overpaid.Originally posted by Lin Yu:Work until die?![]()
retirement is but only a dream
Being PAP, they will do a thorough check on the credibility of the candidates.Originally posted by charlize:I can imagine those infamous tea parties that they hold to check out new candidates.
"Can you say "yes" ? "
"Yes."
"You are just the person we need."
The next election is going to be voting out the old hands with clear mindedness. For goodness of Singaporeans, the eternal minister system ought to be abolished, other wise one day you might even see people who are 100 years old in the paliament.Originally posted by qlqq9:That is the first thing on my mind after reading about it. It won't make any difference or better, on the other hand, it could be worse. People are not going to be impressed even if they manage to get new people joining them.
Gazelle will tell you his salary is justified?Originally posted by qlqq9:Yeah, because the govt wants to make sure the old people are not a burden to them. Work, work, work. Already at the age of 40, many people have problem looking for jobs. In Singapore, when people work in their old age, there is salary reduction. A neighbour's daughter who just reach 60, working in Singapore Pool just told me that her salary is reduced. She is one of the many with this experience. MM Lee in his 80s is overpaid.
I do hope the 66.6% will be wise to make the best choice. They have make it such that almost everything is under their control, even the election dept is under their control. Where is authenticity?Originally posted by (human):The next election is going to be voting out the old hands with clear mindedness. For goodness of Singaporeans, the eternal minister system ought to be abolished, other wise one day you might even see people who are 100 years old in the paliament.
People who are practicing nepotism claiming to be meritocracy will deprive Singapore's prosperity.
In fact, all these ministers and MM should not overrate themselves by overpaying themselves. Moreover, Singapore is a small country, we don't need so many heavy weights in the govt. US a big country does not have so many heavy weights.Originally posted by maurizio13:Gazelle will tell you his salary is justified?
I wonder how to justify.
What has he done this year or last year to deserve such a salary?
If you want to serve a party, you always have to consider who the party leader is. Take a look at PAP, you may have many so called highly educated men, what can these men do beside saying yes? Do you want to join a party whereby you have to go against your party leader, party rules, party policies and party's etc and at the end receiving party whip?Originally posted by Spartans:Let say U are a capable and talented professional.
Will you be willing to join PAP? or other parties? or prefer to shun political arena for goodness sake?
If I were smart, I'd shun the political arena altogether. You only go there if you want to indulge in learning how to be a syncopant.Originally posted by Spartans:Let say U are a capable and talented professional.
Will you be willing to join PAP? or other parties? or prefer to shun political arena for goodness sake?
PAP wants people who will submit to them.Originally posted by Isis:Headhunt "talent"..
I don't mind if they are really capable and not those who will just know how to boot lick the PAP.
* Yucks* cos blardy hell, at the end of the day, what they do will affect me.
Agree.Originally posted by Isis:Pap might be able to find people who are capable and boot licker at the same time. However, don't think these people will truly work for the welfare for the people lor.
I think headhunt is a misnomer, they already have a heir to the throne, they know it, we the people know it too.Originally posted by qlqq9:Agree.