dear dear, every effort counts.Originally posted by vIn.Warrior:but a petition is not feasible. definitely wont work.
Thanks for your advice.Originally posted by Atobe:When your CPF has reached a nice tidy sum, give up your citizenship, empty the CPF then migrate.
Of course, you better play safe and get acceptance first before starting the process..
If Mr Howe bought the annuity, he could consider himself lucky that he is only loosing out of the benefits by one year.Originally posted by pearlie27:Sorry i don't buy ST and don't know what kind of crap they put in there. But i don't think the late Mr Howe would have approve a compulsory annuity that pays out only when the annuitant reaches the age of 85 years. He himself died at 84.
It is encouraging to know that there are people who dare to voice up, given that singaporeans are one of the most, if not THE most, silent, apathetic indifferent nationality in the world...Originally posted by qlqq9:To date, 387 have signed.
The one and only petition site I know of is the one I posted here. Let me know if there are others. It does not mean that for people who don't voice out they are for annuity.Originally posted by reddressman:It is encouraging to know that there are people who dare to voice up, given that singaporeans are one of the most, if not THE most, silent, apathetic indifferent nationality in the world...
There is a long way to go.
I attribute the low count to a few possible factors:
1. Are there too many Petition sites ? Some signed in 1 may not sign in the other site. Spread too thin?
2. Are People aware of the existence of Petition sites?
3. Are People still as apathetic as ever ?
4. Are People worried about the act of petitioning?
Singaporeans may be more ok with the annuity scheme than people think ?
If the Majority supports , again , the annuity scheme, then I have nothing more to say. I fully respect Democratic decision.
There should be a consolidated effort in the petition. This reminds me that our Opposition is also spread too thin. There is no synergy among the parties.
Its easier for the People to choose if there are clearer choices.
Unfortunately, its my conviction also that the majority who are chinese are not as united as the other races. You can see that only the chinese race do not have a single religion. They are scattered in this sense.
just my 2cents. feel free to comment on my reply. Thanks!!
Many just love to talk and talk, talk is cheap. People can go on talking and coming to such stuff like petition, they shy away.Originally posted by LimSianTong:The petition is getting signatures and that is a good sign that people are interested about a National issue which affects everyone.
There is no reason for not having an interest in the issue.
Not that many signatures leads to 2 possible explanations:
1. except for the 300 people, no one objects.
2. 'THE SITUATION' is worse than what many understands.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Only Time Can Set us Free --- my theme song
It is more effective to apply PR in other countries n stayed there. If u apply for the citizenship, u give up ur local citizenship. U can get ur CPF money.Originally posted by qlqq9:Many just love to talk and talk, talk is cheap. People can go on talking and coming to such stuff like petition, they shy away.
Hello, will4, applying PR and petition are two different issues. As such it makes no sense for comparison.Originally posted by will4:It is more effective to apply PR in other countries n stayed there. If u apply for the citizenship, u give up ur local citizenship. U can get ur CPF money.![]()
when i joined National Service, i am prepared to fight for MY COUNTRY. yes, leaving is an alternative but what about my parents, what about my sibilings, what about my realitives, what about my friends? can they all leave too? given that i too have the opportunity and the right to effect a change and that this is MY COUNTRY, i will stay.Originally posted by qlqq9:Hello, will4, applying PR and petition are two different issues. As such it makes no sense for comparison.
It is good and encouraging that you have this thinking. WE have to stand firm for what we believe is good and do something about it. We have to do something to make Singapore a better place to live.Originally posted by SevenEleven:when i joined National Service, i am prepared to fight for MY COUNTRY. yes, leaving is an alternative but what about my parents, what about my sibilings, what about my realitives, what about my friends? can they all leave too? given that i too have the opportunity and the right to effect a change and that this is MY COUNTRY, i will stay.
As far as I know, majority dun even give a dang to make it a better place to live. They agree on virtually everything.Originally posted by qlqq9:It is good and encouraging that you have this thinking. WE have to stand firm for what we believe is good and do something about it. We have to do something to make Singapore a better place to live.

Those start to pay after age 60+. Life offices give very conservative rates (often change weekly i think) to protect their profits as a wrong move will lead to a loss for them. The proposed one however i think is payout after age 85. Today not many will live past 85, in future dunno. But we risk-pool and get a much much better rate. The ppl who die early pay for those who die later. If one of us somehow very suay live until age 92, it is unlikely we have savings to tahan 30yrs after retirement, thus the compulsory annuity. Payout not much but still money.Originally posted by nibelheim:Got this off from the CPF website......
http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Members/Gen-Info/FAQ/Retirement/MinSum.htm
So since there is an OPTION for CPF Minimum Sums to be invest in life annuities provided by private insurance companies (excluding some on the list, you all should know the reason), then why (government) propose the compulsory annuity scheme?
I don't want to be penalised for dying earlier than others. Penalised for dying early so that I could no longer pay taxes.Originally posted by kramnave:Those start to pay after age 60+. Life offices give very conservative rates (often change weekly i think) to protect their profits as a wrong move will lead to a loss for them. The proposed one however i think is payout after age 85. Today not many will live past 85, in future dunno. But we risk-pool and get a much much better rate. The ppl who die early pay for those who die later. If one of us somehow very suay live until age 92, it is unlikely we have savings to tahan 30yrs after retirement, thus the compulsory annuity. Payout not much but still money.