Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Did you notice housing, transport and medical are priced at very high prices due to internal factors and not external factors... I wonder who really benefit from these high prices? HDB, SBS, SMRT, ERP, COE, CPF, Medical fees, hospitalation fees??? Can't we lower some or all of these prices? Frankly, only one party will suffer through these low prices while all citizens benefit???
Youths all over the world work hard so that they can travel and save up for a good life (or save up so that they have money to pursue their dreams) but in Singapore, they have barely enough to pay for the necessities in life because the necessities in life like housing, transport and medicalare priced so high they have no choice but to work hard for necessities in life into their (now they are planning for Singaporeans to work into their eighties) old age.
Can you support your claim?Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Their parents used to spend ten/twenty years (like in most other countries) working in a decent job to get a private property right here in Singapore but you-know-who has pushed/allowed property prices to sky-rocket so that the youths now cannot do what their parents could do in Singapore.
They have to study so hard because the education system is not catered to teach them to think but to force them to keep as much information in their heads as possible (whatever for, when now you have google).
The are not taught to think because in a politically suppressed country and the "leaders" want to do what they like, for the people to have the ability to think, it is not good for the "leaders". The want sheep that follow and obey, not youths that can think skilfully.
As a result the youths do not learn good thinking skills and do not spend the years in school, developing good thinking skills.
Youths all over the world are idealistic and pursue their dreams but in Singapore, they have to worry about their bread and butter three meals a day concerns because everything has been priced so that they have no time to be idealistic and to chase their dreams.
Youths all over the world work hard so that they can travel and save up for a good life (or save up so that they have money to pursue their dreams) but in Singapore, they have barely enough to pay for the necessities in life because the necessities in life like housing, transport and medical are priced so high they have no choice but to work hard for necessities in life into their (now they are planning for Singaporeans to work into their eighties) old age.
In order to do that, make the youths work into their eighties, they make sure that prices go up more and more but salaries lag behind (using foreign talents to lower the wages).
Pity the Singapore youths.
If you ask yourself which party gets to pay themselves and then increase their million dollars salaries with public money, you have the answer "who really benefit" while as you said, the rest suffers.Originally posted by Seven_Dragon:Did you notice housing, transport and medical are priced at very high prices due to internal factors and not external factors... I wonder who really benefit from these high prices? HDB, SBS, SMRT, ERP, COE, CPF, Medical fees, hospitalation fees??? Can't we lower some or all of these prices? Frankly, only one party will suffer through these low prices while all citizens benefit???
Only foreigners need "support". Locals can observe for themselves. Hey they are living here!Originally posted by Gazelle:Can you support your claim?
You think Singaporeans should not try to change Singapore for the better? You mean to you there is no way to change Singapore for the better until I become a ruler?Originally posted by hloc:Mmm.... some good points there.
But [b]AndrewPKYap... you forget that some youth in other parts of the world -
1) Don't even get a chance to go to school.
2) Are sold as sex slave to rich ppl.
3) Work 16hrs a day to pay off a family debt, taken by their grandfather.
4) Force to fight in war as child soldier.
5) Marry of at a age of 6-8 as a young bride.
6) Be a mother at 12yrs because it is the Village way of life.
7) Use as a human bomb..... Etc.....
[/b][/color]
[/b][/quote]This is like saying that we should let the molester get away scott-free because there are people that not only molest but rape as well.
Not only must Singapore provide a good education for the youths, it must give them the tools to think critically so that they will not be fooled so easily.
Example of poor thinking skills:
How can you think that it is possible for:Originally posted by hloc:
[b]1) No need to study hard, but still get a degree
2) No need to work hard, Govt will look after....
3) No need to compete with outside world, Govt would close the border to save them the suffering & stress of competation from others
4) No need to worry about the future. Govt let you do what u want. HowI'm not sure
5) Free everything... (transport, schooling, medical... etc) But how Govt pay for it..... Not sure again![]()
6) No NS at all.... how will the country be defenced.... hell if I know![]()
and what is the reason you said this?
[quote]Originally posted by hloc:
[color=blue][b]So, all I have to do is wait for the time when YOU have your own prefer country to govern with. Thxs![]()
Originally posted by hloc:If you always have to console yourself by comparing yourself to other less privilege people. You might as well compare yourself to chimpanzee, the difference is even greater, you will feel all the more proud of your achievements irregardless of it's magnitude. Don't you think so? If you want to make good comparisons, you should always use similar critieria, or criteria higher than yours, then only you can improve.
Mmm.... some good points there.
I'm sure if you are ever elected as the 'ruler' of some country..... U will use ur 'power' to make life better for the youth... like -
1) No need to study hard, but still get a degree
3) No need to compete with outside world, Govt would close the border to save them the suffering & stress of competation from others
4) No need to worry about the future. Govt let you do what u want. HowI'm not sure
5) Free everything... (transport, schooling, medical... etc) But how Govt pay for it..... Not sure again![]()
So, all I have to do is wait for the time when YOU have your own prefer country to govern with. Thxs[/b]
Originally posted by maurizio13:If you always have to console yourself by comparing yourself to other less privilege people. You might as well compare yourself to chimpanzee, the difference is even greater, you will feel all the more proud of your achievements irregardless of it's magnitude. Don't you think so?
Thanks, but I never intended to stand for office... I love to enjoy life too much...Originally posted by BeRt^.^:i vote for Andrew![]()
Most of the companies held by Temasek in Singapore makes super normal profits that is only possible with monopolistic power. They reaped these profits from controlling some of the essential services like telecoms and power. Temasek holds both Singtel, Starhub and M1 (through Raffles, Keppel, SPH and DBS). While Singapore Power is the only supplier of electricity of water.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):public services all become private company making big profit and feeding all those fat cats.... so u guess where those money was from????![]()
Hahaha.... the same I also ask of you.... Why u always have to put yourself down by comparing yourself to those more privilege then youOriginally posted by maurizio13:If you always have to console yourself by comparing yourself to other less privilege people. You might as well compare yourself to chimpanzee, the difference is even greater, you will feel all the more proud of your achievements irregardless of it's magnitude. Don't you think so? If you want to make good comparisons, you should always use similar critieria, or criteria higher than yours, then only you can improve.
There is this Chinese saying, "ren wang shan pa, shui wang xia liu" (humans climb to higher achievments, while water flows lower to insignificance).
hahaha.... another person who intend to chance the World in the comfort of his computer chairOriginally posted by AndrewPKYap:Thanks, but I never intended to stand for office... I love to enjoy life too much...
but if they come and get me for trying to prevent casino gambling... while they are trying to promote the IR, so be it.![]()
Originally posted by hloc:One can only get better by comparing with those higher that him, while if you constantly compare yourself to those poorer and less privilege, very soon we will be climbing trees and living off banana.
Hahaha.... the same I also ask of you.... Why u always have to put yourself down by comparing yourself to those more privilege then you
U are a optimism... and I'm a pessism. As long as we are better than most ppl in SE Asia, I'm happy.
Like I said earier...... let [b]AndrewPKYap run and get elected, then all our children can hope that he/she is able to keep the promise lor[/b]
This part I agree with you. But lets not forget that those countries you spoken of has more years in National Building than S'pore's 42yrs. U might see their youth as carefree and happy. But as they grow up..... U so sure their life would be just as goodOriginally posted by maurizio13:One can only get better by comparing with those higher that him, while if you constantly compare yourself to those poorer and less privilege, very soon we will be climbing trees and living off banana.
It's not a matter of optimist or pessimist, you have to look at human society in general, we always strive to improve on ourselves, that's the reason why society has progressed so much. If you keep comparing yourself to those worse off than you, sooner or later, you will join them, because you are happy with the status quo and not wanting to improve further.
If you really think that we are so good, then there is no logic in taking the government's advice of improving ourselves with further education. Yes or No?
BTW, how's your research into gambling in Singapore getting on?Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Thanks, but I never intended to stand for office... I love to enjoy life too much...
but if they come and get me for trying to prevent casino gambling... while they are trying to promote the IR, so be it.![]()
You have very good memory! I have forgotten about that because I did not go back.Originally posted by mancha:BTW, how's your research into gambling in Singapore getting on?
Any new information on the "passports with altar offerings" on board the cruise ships?
Originally posted by hloc:You would have benefited from an education system that taught you how to think properly... another example of poor thinking skills...
My own question for you.....
U could give your own children those carefree, less stressful lives [b]AndrewPKYap say also. All you have to do is tell them it is no important to do well in School and question the teacher all he/she wants. No pressure from the parent to do well in school would helps with their stressful lives. [/b]
Why?Originally posted by selfobliged:i think u should research more on youths in other countries before coming up with conclusions
You would have benefited from an education system that taught you how to think properly... another example of poor thinking skills...Hahaha.... If I don't have good thinking skill.... I would be like you, blaming everyone else. I won't be writing here with my own view. To think that only your view is correct, shows very much whos the one with the poor thinkin skill
How does learning to think properly translate into: "no important to do well in School and question the teacher all he/she wants. No pressure from the parent to do well in school"My post was to answer mancha post of how to reduce stress in our student. It seems that you have misread.
How is it you think that it is "no important to do well in School and question the teacher all he/she wants. No pressure from the parent to do well in school"![]()
How is it you are so clueless and have to ask questions with obvious answers like this: "But in this and other cut-throat capitalist society.... would they have make itAgain this posting is a reply to mancha on compairing with 'better' western countries."
And do you think we are Americans or UK citizens? Otherwise why tell us:
"For your information.... if you fail to get a High School cert in USA or Uk..... your life won't be much better there...."
Who cares about the Americans and UK people? You?
Originally posted by hloc:If you pay our NUMBER ONE IN THE WORLD million dollar government just to compare to third world country than just farking pay our government third world country pay laaa
Mmm.... some good points there.
I'm sure if you are ever elected as the 'ruler' of some country..... U will use ur 'power' to make life better for the youth... like -
1) No need to study hard, but still get a degree
So, all I have to do is wait for the time when YOU have your own prefer country to govern with. Thxs[/b]
Sure, it is your opinion that you have good thinking skills and I have bad thinking skills without any basis. Sure having opinions with no basis is good thinking skill to you. What else can we expect from you?Originally posted by hloc:Hahaha.... If I don't have good thinking skill.... I would be like you, blaming everyone else. I won't be writing here with my own view. To think that only your view is correct, shows very much whos the one with the poor thinkin skill Mr. Green
Andrew:
How does learning to think properly translate into: "no important to do well in School and question the teacher all he/she wants. No pressure from the parent to do well in school"![]()
Andrew:
How is it you think that it is "no important to do well in School and question the teacher all he/she wants. No pressure from the parent to do well in school"
Hloc:The question was why you have such ridiculous notions in your head, not why you made such ridiculous remarks (in reply to mancha or whatever). Looks like you have difficulty understanding.
My post was to answer mancha post of how to reduce stress in our student. It seems that you have misread.
Andrew:
How is it you are so clueless and have to ask questions with obvious answers like this: "But in this and other cut-throat capitalist society.... would they have make it Question "
And do you think we are Americans or UK citizens? Otherwise why tell us:
"For your information.... if you fail to get a High School cert in USA or Uk..... your life won't be much better there.... Sad "
Who cares about the Americans and UK people? You?![]()
Hloc:Same answer as above, the question was why you have such ridiculous notions, not why you made such ridiculous remarks (in reply to mancha or whatever). Looks like you have difficulty understanding.
Again this posting is a reply to mancha on compairing with 'better' western countries.
Hahaha.... it now does seems that our education system have failed..... it had fail you AndrewPKYap.... so sorry Mr. Green
BTW.... it is sooo funny sometimes.... when it suits you, Americans and UK are National we should become. and when it doesn't suit you.... suddenly you no care of them..... hahaha Mr. Green[/b]