But ranting against a point that hits a sore spot with the general populace is not really being self-absorbed are we Mushroom? Is it through our laziness that the GST is raised, that our CPF pushed back? A sweeping statement I would dare say.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:And I observe that a proportion of Singaporean youths are self-absorbed losers who can only rant about everything under sun. It's always the government's fault, not their own laziness. On the other hand, I observe students from China who arrive hardly able to speak a word, working their guts out, memorizing 40 words a day and winning prestigious scholarships. And I conclude we could much better exchanging our losers for some of these Chinese students instead.
Originally posted by hloc:Ah hloc, whoever mentioned such grand thoughts of changing the world? I really do not see how posting our VIEWS on how the annuity and various other silly government ideas can be VIEWED as changing the world?
Long time no hear from you.....
[b]What we have.... is a branch of 'Arm Chair' leader with ideas to change the world but no guts or will to do it.
I pity all the youth in the World because of the mess we are leaving them to settle. But if S'porean youth are having it hard....... like all those here like to say..... I WANT TO MIGRATE![]()
ThereProblem Solve
Every time I come across a PAP supporter who consistently comes along and say we ought not to be ranting about this and that and accuses us being lazy, I wonder if they themselves have actually talked to the students at the universities who, excepting the occasional miscreant, studies and works hard to score well.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:And I observe that a proportion of Singaporean youths are self-absorbed losers who can only rant about everything under sun. It's always the government's fault, not their own laziness. On the other hand, I observe students from China who arrive hardly able to speak a word, working their guts out, memorizing 40 words a day and winning prestigious scholarships. And I conclude we could much better exchanging our losers for some of these Chinese students instead.
Originally posted by hloc:At least a person has dreams, you on the other hand, have none. I suppose you can be proud of aiming low instead of high.
Long time no hear from you.....
[b]What we have.... is a branch of 'Arm Chair' leader with ideas to change the world but no guts or will to do it.
I pity all the youth in the World because of the mess we are leaving them to settle. But if S'porean youth are having it hard....... like all those here like to say..... I WANT TO MIGRATE![]()
ThereProblem Solve
No choice lah.... aim low would fall down so hard. Aim too high the disappointment is higher.Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:At least a person has dreams, you on the other hand, have none. I suppose you can be proud of aiming low instead of high.
Waiting for you lor.... doing it like the PAP way, Shut everyone up as long as the view is difference from yours.....Originally posted by Where Is God:Can someone shut hloc up? What a fcuking uneducated retarded piece of frog in a well.
For S$80K you can buy a freehold apartment in downtown Bangkok and so you should also ask why the construction cost S$80K so much? Maybe the contractors were being "generous" when they give the S$80K figure?Originally posted by anfieldheroez:Youths got easy life in my opinion. They get everything they want like latest cell phones, money for entertainment. Of course they have to study, problem lies with the education system and yeah everything is over priced.During the previous general elections,i think WP asked HDB to prove why a 5 room flat costs up to 300 or 400k when in fact when they checked with contractors was at most 80k.
Are the youths taking things for granted or frightened into submission and told to stop thinking?Originally posted by anfieldheroez:Not many are worried about bread and butter. Parents=banks for many of them.If they were worried they wouldn't be spending aimlessly. Yes,there are some who work for it bust they are the minority.I am sure many of you have seen secondary school kids with a PSP,latest 3G cell phone and nike bag and shoes,erm you mean they work part time everyday? seems unlikely as not many parents would permit that and many of these students do well or average in terms of academics.Like someone mentioned child labor in other countries,compare that to SG and you get easy life.Singapore youths are smart but not intelligent.They may memerize an another entire book on science but they wont know anything to do with common sense.
So many top students in academics do not even know who the hell Vivian Balakrishnan is,do not know when the elections were held and so many other things.Why? Cos everything is taken for granted if you ask me. I speak all that cos i am a youth myself and it pains me to see the youths of Singapore of today
So you openly admit that you are aiming at the lowest point and want to drag everyone into the drain with you?Originally posted by hloc:No choice lah.... aim low would fall down so hard. Aim too high the disappointment is higher.![]()
Originally posted by Where Is God:Can someone shut hloc up? What a fcuking uneducated retarded piece of frog in a well.
There is a difference when people (like "Where Is God") ask you to shut up because you are talking rubbish (or as "Where Is God" puts it, indulge in fallacies) as everyone can see and when people (the dishonorable people) ask their critics to shut up because they are talking too much sense in their criticisms.Originally posted by hloc:Waiting for you lor.... doing it like the PAP way, Shut everyone up as long as the view is difference from yours.....
Still waiting....
Originally posted by hloc:That is opposition party thinking... if you are not in the opposition, you can also hope that the ruling party reforms... but with the old man still refusing to die... still, old people die sooner or later... it is a matter of time.
Well [b]AndrewPKYap.... what to do. Still waiting for a good leader to lead and mov [/b]
Originally posted by hloc:You agree with me that it is SAFER to be a ARM CHAIR Critic? No wonder people ask you to shut up for your stupidity... show me where I said that it is SAFER to be a ARM CHAIR Critic?
Like you say earlier..... you have no intention to run for office. But I agree with you lah..... [b]SAFER to be a ARM CHAIR Critic.
Yawn..... but sadly..... tomorr will still be the same.[/b]
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Err.... I'm calling you a ARM CHAIR Critic.
You agree with me that it is [b]SAFER to be a ARM CHAIR Critic? No wonder people ask you to shut up for your stupidity... show me where I said that it is SAFER to be a ARM CHAIR Critic?[/b]
You are clueless why it is stupid to say "I agree with you" when someone did not say it, don't you?Originally posted by hloc:Err.... I'm calling you a ARM CHAIR Critic.
No intention to run for office..... but sit around and make noise.
Still waiting for you to lead a protest or start a movement....![]()
Because I thought you understand my sarcastic remark..... My badOriginally posted by AndrewPKYap:You are clueless why it is stupid to say "I agree with you" when someone did not say it, don't you?![]()
MeOriginally posted by gigabyte14:u tio bullied izzit![]()
Originally posted by hloc:AFTER people point out your stupidity, you try to save face.
Because I thought you understand my [b]sarcastic remark..... My bad[/b]
Because the difference between man and animal is the ability to think and therefore, the primary aim of education is to teach people to think properly/skillfully but the government cannot do that when their objective is to have a people that will swallow hook line and sinker their propaganda.Originally posted by dbowie:MOE enforced the Teach less, Learn more , so that students can think more..
Social Studies is all about thinking, mind you .
I'll have to say the improving technology such as XBOX,Playstation,Computer is the negative influences that addresses and compounded student's mindset.. 10 years back you don't even see these ..
Why do we need more students to think ? To build think tank ?
Just my two cents.
Originally posted by hloc:How to get elected when the PAP divide the country into so many segments, despite the fact that singapore is such a small country... even got elected also only got to rule 1 small neighbourhood, but i think when opposition starts to become a threat, then PAP will divide the neighbourhood into smaller Blks so that whoever gets elected can rule that Blk of families... Besides, PAP controls the money lor, so they got a treasure chest to fight for the election while opposition had to fight with their limited budgets, somemore win also got a small portion of the neighbourhood, thanks to how PAP play the political game, divide and divide, singapore so small still divide.
Like I said earier...... let [b]AndrewPKYap run and get elected, then all our children can hope that he/she is able to keep the promise lor[/b]
Another way to ensure control of the electorate is to increase the number of MPs. The number of MPs in our parliament has doubled since the 1960s.Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:How to get elected when the PAP divide the country into so many segments, despite the fact that singapore is such a small country... even got elected also only got to rule 1 small neighbourhood, but i think when opposition starts to become a threat, then PAP will divide the neighbourhood into smaller Blks so that whoever gets elected can rule that Blk of families... Besides, PAP controls the money lor, so they got a treasure chest to fight for the election while opposition had to fight with their limited budgets, somemore win also got a small portion of the neighbourhood, thanks to how PAP play the political game, divide and divide, singapore so small still divide.
well, do u know that coalition govts r quite ineffective in approving policies , this time lag can cause considerable damage to the society at large if these policies dun go thru' , if the different parties argue over and over again at the same policy, i can tell u nothing will be done . i would like to ask how are we able to get 84 seats in the government when singapore is very small, dun tell me that each party control one whole cluster of HDB so that we can get 84 seats?Originally posted by maurizio13:Another way to ensure control of the electorate is to increase the number of MPs. The number of MPs in our parliament has doubled since the 1960s.
With a low MP representation of say 40 seats, opposition needs to win 20 seats in order to form some sort of coalition government.
With a high MP representation of 84 seats, you would need at least 42 seats to form a credible opposition.