Can't you tell that I am a very happy person even in Singapore?Originally posted by Gazelle:I really pity you because with your kind of mentality I dont think you can be happy in any country.
again you are trying to praise yourself which I think is damn bloody pathatic publicity stun, sometihng which only loser are capable. LOriginally posted by AndrewPKYap:page 8...
Can't you tell that I am a very happy person even in Singapore?
That is because I do not suffer from delusions in my head, unlike you, about how perfect the dictators are but have a clear idea of their strength and weaknesses.
This is why I pity the youths in Singapore. People that are not taught good thinking skills cannot be happy unless they can have Faith that can move mountains kind. If you do not have the Faith that can move mountains variety, you better be able to think properly or you will be a miserable confused person.
In 1968, a fresh graduate in chemical engineering with honors degree from UK was paid S$700.00 per month working for Union Carbide, one of the top paymaster in those days, his counterpart in Shell was drawing slightly less. In 1975, a fresh graduate with general degree was paid S$425.00 working for PSC, his colleague with an honors degree was paid about S$125 more. Today the engineer has retired. The government servant is waiting for approval for early retirement, good thing is that she is on pension, which the young civil servants cannot enjoy.Originally posted by Daddy!!:Atobe said on 28 August 2007 · 01:22 PM that
"A graduate in the late 1960s, would have drawn a pay of about $1,200 in the Government Service and slightly more in Private Service, and his salary will be sufficient to payoff his mortgage in about 15 years.
Forty years later, a graduate today will start at about $1,200 and can hardly even accumulate enough cash to pay for a downpayment for even an HDB unit that he is allowed to purchase."
Is he trapped in some kind of time wrasps ?
Again I ask you, who made you the judge of what VIEW has a Higher or Lower 'Moral Valves'...Originally posted by Atobe:[b]
In issues dealing with moral values - can there be grey areas ?
How will you define the grey areas in such circumstances, and what should go into this grey area ?
As far as Gazelle goes, the perceived general opinion of many in this Speakers' Corner is that Gazelle is already over on the dark side with his indiscriminate sniffing abilities.
What is the worth of his moral values ?
You better place your finger on your dial pad, as next thing you know the Gazelle will be indulging in the very things that you fear for the kids.
and I guess you think that your opinion is worth something?Originally posted by Gazelle:again you are trying to praise yourself which I think is damn bloody pathatic publicity stun, sometihng which only loser are capable. L
and how much did the people you quoted took (or needed to take) to pay off their mortgage for equivalent type of housing? Pity the youths lah... no matter how you calculate, they have been PWNED by the MIW.Originally posted by sgdiehard:In 1968, a fresh graduate in chemical engineering with honors degree from UK was paid S$700.00 per month working for Union Carbide, one of the top paymaster in those days, his counterpart in Shell was drawing slightly less. In 1975, a fresh graduate with general degree was paid S$425.00 working for PSC, his colleague with an honors degree was paid about S$125 more. Today the engineer has retired. The government servant is waiting for approval for early retirement, good thing is that she is on pension, which the young civil servants cannot enjoy.
Today fresh graduates joining the government will start with S$1750 -S$2400.
It is just not possible that there is no change in salaries over the last 30 days.
Originally posted by hloc:Please do not label me as a PAP supporter.
[b]Again I ask you, who made you the judge of what VIEW has a Higher or Lower 'Moral Valves'...Are you so self-righteous as to think that U and ONLY you or your 'gang' could decide who is moral right or wrong
Did the Bible or any other Holy Books include one chapter that ''Atobe Almightly'' will bring final judgment on 'Moral Valves''
The perceived general opinion of many in this Speakers' Corner is that Gazelle is a super supporter of PAP. That I agree. But unless U and those who have such opinion are send by the Almightly HIMSELF.... again I asked, how could you say his views are of no moral![]()
Have you not thought that the reason majority general perceived opinion against Gazelle is because the majority here is Anti-PAPIf you are NOW writing at the PAP Youth forum..... Those majority PAP supporer will in turn perceived you the same way as we perceived Gazelle. Does that means now your views is of low moral valve or is of little used
In this PAP majority soceity..... those who complaint or is against the Govt is commonly condamn as ''Trouble Maker''. Because the PAP majority said so...... U are perceived as So. Do you think you are a ''Trouble Maker'' just because the majority said so.....
Btw... I'm not defencing Gazelle character as a person. But I am defencing his Rights, my Rights and any others, who wish not to graded just because I have a difference view from another person.
Who will do that la? You are an idiot.Originally posted by Gazelle:Please do not label me as a PAP supporter.
the usual suspects will be clones like you who uses fake nickname in this forum.Originally posted by SuperProPAP:Who will do that la? You are an idiot.
If you said you are not..... then I'm sorry for labeling u as one.Originally posted by Gazelle:Please do not label me as a PAP supporter.
They didn't buy house when they started working. The engineer got married in 1974, wife a teacher, bought a corner terrace in serangoon garden, I believe he had been saving for that. I don't know how long they took to pay off the mortgage, this is very personal issue. But I do know by the time they retired they own a condo in upper bukit timah, raised 2 kids, all through local universities. The cars driven were all Ford in the early days, but later changed to Japanese. Never travel on holiday except when overseas on business until after retirement. Talk to your older relatives and you will learn more.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:and how much did the people you quoted took (or needed to take) to pay off their mortgage for equivalent type of housing? Pity the youths lah... no matter how you calculate, they have been PWNED by the MIW.
For the red part... I total agree with you.Originally posted by spinsugar:I pity Singaporean youths but for a different reason - if they do not get to experience life abroad, they will never know the difference.. we'll soon have a generation of angry, aggressive citizens who won't remember why, how or when they became that way.![]()
hahaha let me see the youths of today buy a "a corner terrace in serangoon garden" with an engineer's and teacher's pay.... and pay off the mortgage in 15 years and the fact that the youths of today cannot do that is not because they have been PAWNED by the MIW and deserve pity? hahahaha, that is your opinion and you are certainly entitled to it.Originally posted by sgdiehard:They didn't buy house when they started working. The engineer got married in 1974, wife a teacher, bought a corner terrace in serangoon garden, I believe he had been saving for that. I don't know how long they took to pay off the mortgage, this is very personal issue. But I do know by the time they retired they own a condo in upper bukit timah, raised 2 kids, all through local universities. The cars driven were all Ford in the early days, but later changed to Japanese. Never travel on holiday except when overseas on business until after retirement. Talk to your older relatives and you will learn more.
You obviously are not PWNED by the MIW, but you sound a lot more pitiful than those kena PWNED.
Our youths have their future, some have more resources than others, some are more capable than the others, but they alone will write on the empty pages. They don't need anybody to pity them and before you pity them, look at what you wrote on the pages of your life, still blank, can't afford to buy house, ......still blaming the MIW, blaming the school, pathetic.......sigh....![]()
That is such an inaccurate and poor conclusion.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:hahaha let me see the youths of today buy a "a corner terrace in serangoon garden" with an engineer's and teacher's pay.... and pay off the mortgage in 15 years and the fact that the youths of today cannot do that is not because they have been PAWNED by the MIW
please dont be shock if there are many here who agree with himOriginally posted by apples:That is such an inaccurate and poor conclusion.
What is a fake nickname????????????????????????????Originally posted by Gazelle:the usual suspects will be clones like you who uses fake nickname in this forum.
and of course, you have no idea why it is a poor and inaccurate conclusion... hahaha such fallacy does not work in an open forum, my dear...Originally posted by apples:That is such an inaccurate and poor conclusion.
Stop trying your luck and argue like a kid lah..Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:and of course, you have no idea why it is a poor and inaccurate conclusion... hahaha such fallacy does not work in an open forum, my dear...
Everyone knows it is impossible for an engineer and teacher couple to pay off their mortgage for a Serangoon Gardens corner terrace.
From the time an engineer and teacher couple could it then to the time that the youths cannot now, it was the same people that made the policies.
You want to bury your head in the ground, that is you prerogative, my dear.![]()
You are the one with your head in the ground. Many new owners in Serangoon Garden are young adults, they even tear down the old building and build double storeys.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:and of course, you have no idea why it is a poor and inaccurate conclusion... hahaha such fallacy does not work in an open forum, my dear...
Everyone knows it is impossible for an engineer and teacher couple to pay off their mortgage for a Serangoon Gardens corner terrace.
From the time an engineer and teacher couple could it then to the time that the youths cannot now, it was the same people that made the policies.
You want to bury your head in the ground, that is you prerogative, my dear.![]()
Fortunately, MAN was not made to be contented - if MAN was contented with whatever he has, he should have been happy just having discovered FIRE - why will he want to progress beyond the discovery of FIRE.Originally posted by Daddy!!:one of the best moral quotes in this forum,
"You can aim high to achieve high, but if you don't know how to appreciate what you already have, you have no respect for those who provide for you. No matter how much you achieve, if you don't know how to be contented with the things you have, you will never be happy. "