Originally posted by CX:Sg to forget buying water from Johor and let the contract lapse. Let bring more Newater and build desalination plants.... have more ways to enlarge catchment area, even building specialised catchment from downpipes from HDBs.... etc.
guess we've all heard by now...
they wanna raise prices, they wanna backdate payment and the [b]DEMAND that we settle it soon with them or else...
both sides seems to be telling their own story here...
Sg claims that they've not asked to update the price in 1986-87 so they have no legal basis to do so now.
M'sia claims that there are clauses in the pact that allows for altering the price and we are not respecting their rights to do so.
i think they're doing this now cos they're dead broke after spending a fortune on flashy military hardware and they're trying to make a quick buck by blackmailing Sg now. palm oil partial payment or otherwise, its just not smart to spend so much money in so short a time.
thoughts anyone?
Originally posted by CX:well... one thought is that .... malaysia probably feels that with the water treatment plant in johor soon to be in their pocket... they no longer have to fear singapore raising the price of cleaned water sold to johor in tandem to any price increase in raw water.....
guess we've all heard by now...
they wanna raise prices, they wanna backdate payment and the [b]DEMAND that we settle it soon with them or else...OR else wat?? pull our ears or pinch our balls??? cut off the water?? i didnt knew they want to sing majulah singapura so much....
both sides seems to be telling their own story here...as i have said many times in the past... all men consider themselves holy.... that others the devils...
Sg claims that they've not asked to update the price in 1986-87 so they have no legal basis to do so now.
M'sia claims that there are clauses in the pact that allows for altering the price and we are not respecting their rights to do so.well.... it will depend on a very key factors....
1. the agreedment did provide for a revision of price after 25 years...
2. the agreedment did NOT provide a clause to enable backdating of prices.....
3. the agreedment did NOT state a time frame on how long can the negotiation last, neither how long after the 25 years have lapsed NOR wat to do ... in the event of disagreedment...
thus... malaysia does HAVE the right to ask for a negotiation of a new price ... after 25 years... the BIG question is.... after the 25 years is up... did malaysia choose NOT to negotiate a new price (aka... price remain the same) OR declared to the singapore govt... in the past.. that it DESIRE to negotiate the price at a later date....
IF malaysia choose NOT to negotiate a new price.. THEN singapore have complete right to DENY malaysia to negotiate a new price at a later date... (mahatir can go home and pinch his own balls) this is because... the water agreedment DID NOT contain any clause that will permit malaysia to RENEGOTIATE a price again, AFTER they have agreed to a new price... or Choose not to change the price... (SINGAPORE WIN LOR)
IF malaysia declared that it DESIRE to negotiate the price at a later date... THEN singapore must accede to malaysia's request to negotiate for a new water price... HOWEVER... the water agreedment DID NOT give malaysia the power to unilaterally set the price... NOR does it give malaysia the power to refer the matter to a third party for arbitration... NOR does it give malaysia the power to cut water supply in the event of a deadlock and LASTLY the water agreedment DID not set a period of time... on how long the negotiation can take...
oh... and there are no terms or clause in the water agreedment to permit backdating of prices.......
maharaja is really scored on BIG F in legal matters , another BIG F on economics, and ANOTHER BIG BIG F on foreign relationship... BUT in the eyes of his blind follower... he probably scored a triple A+
this is wat happends when a lawyer PM ( LKY ) talk terms with a big fat belly PM (yes.. that rahman lah) ... ..
i think they're doing this now cos they're dead broke after spending a fortune on flashy military hardware and they're trying to make a quick buck by blackmailing Sg now. palm oil partial payment or otherwise, its just not smart to spend so much money in so short a time.THEIR problem is not our problem... they no money just ask that maharaja go and bend over infront of bushy boy lah..... i think he is getting pretty used to doing that liow....
thoughts anyone?
I think all of us is sick and tired by all this bashing from our 'North Bank' neighbor. enough is enough!!Originally posted by EXCO:What else is new? Don't tell me they can't find a lawyer who understands proper legal documents which even Singaporeans can understand. Malaysia, typical big mouths. who wrote the agreement anyway?
It should be in quantities of 1,000 of gallonsOriginally posted by Silenthunter:I not a economist expert or anything... but from wat I heard, our Johorian neighbours (not the government) ain't very supportive about the fact that Malaysia's using their own water treatment.
simple maths:
-Raw water is 3 sens.
-It cost singapore RM$2.90 per 100 gallon to treat the raw water.
-Singapore sell back at 50 sens (subsidising).
-Malaysia GOV sells water to people at RM$3.00 per 100 gallons or more. (got this figure from another forum, another can confirm?)
Where did the rest of the RM$2.40 go? maybe maintainance and stuff will it cost that much?
if Malaysia stop buying water from SG, you think the water bill in Johor will still be RM$3.00 per 100 gallons. Most Johorians knew that and they 're complaining too.
any politics/econs analyst here?Do what i said make sense?
Thanks for the advanced warning. I will make sure MINDEF reads this.Originally posted by HARIMAU:Malaysia are more than happy to terminate the water supply to Sg after the present agreement expired.Why do you think our govt ask for the payment to be backdated?
As a footnote -we already got members from our Gerakhas,Paskal,RKPT etc -ready for action deep inside your city.Everyday 1000s of Malaysians enter Sg with a valid work permit(some of them may got an extra pay from MAF).Hmmm.........i just hope your Guards could reach our airspace and land somewhere in Johore before those boys(our boys)do something in advance.Too bad i left the army ......(Kidding)
alamak brudder..u still dunno ar brudder..tat is stupid brudder if u dunnoOriginally posted by HARIMAU:Malaysia are more than happy to terminate the water supply to Sg after the present agreement expired.Why do you think our govt ask for the payment to be backdated?
As a footnote -we already got members from our Gerakhas,Paskal,RKPT etc -ready for action deep inside your city.Everyday 1000s of Malaysians enter Sg with a valid work permit(some of them may got an extra pay from MAF).Hmmm.........i just hope your Guards could reach our airspace and land somewhere in Johore before those boys(our boys)do something in advance.Too bad i left the army ......(Kidding)
Mr Harimau, The Indonesians burn your flag, the Philippinos burn your flag, but no Singaporeans burn your flag.....and yet you still hate us so much.....why?Originally posted by HARIMAU:Malaysia are more than happy to terminate the water supply to Sg after the present agreement expired.Why do you think our govt ask for the payment to be backdated?
Good to note that you are just "kidding".Originally posted by HARIMAU:Malaysia are more than happy to terminate the water supply to Sg after the present agreement expired.Why do you think our govt ask for the payment to be backdated?
As a footnote -we already got members from our Gerakhas,Paskal,RKPT etc -ready for action deep inside your city.Everyday 1000s of Malaysians enter Sg with a valid work permit(some of them may got an extra pay from MAF).Hmmm.........i just hope your Guards could reach our airspace and land somewhere in Johore before those boys(our boys)do something in advance.Too bad i left the army ...... :
mrgreen: (Kidding)
Stop tat pls...Originally posted by Shotgun:I cannot imagine what would be left of KL after such a terror attack by the MAF takes place. Instantly reduced to rubble perhaps?
Let us not be naive.Originally posted by WinBoi84:Stop tat pls...
"World Peace" pls...