I am glad you said that, because I would like to know how sure are you that the price increase as quoted by Atobe is due to GST and not due to inflation caused by rising product cost?Originally posted by www:i do and his words make sense.
and i could also see that u avoid answering him.
If I were you, I will report this to the authority.Originally posted by sunnytv:Food portion surely decrease. Before the GST increase, a stall selling porridge with alot of rice. But after the GST, the porridge same price but become watery. Most of the food store in my neighborhood, increase by 50cents, except for a few stall.
Some still had the cost label on their stall $2, but when you ask for the price, it $2.50. Some even stick .50 behind their $2 label on the stall.
Some can drinks even cost $1.50. But I don't buy from them. Because you are buying ice at 80 cents to $1. I rather buy from supermarket selling at 50cent to 70cent only.
Don't think the hawkers are stupid. They know how to avoid being caught. There r so many talents among the hawkers.
rental has gone up......report what.....the pork seller prices in the market has gone up......report what.....the mee distributor said prices for all noodles gone up.......report whatOriginally posted by Gazelle:If I were you, I will report this to the authority.
using GST as an excuse to profiteerOriginally posted by de_middle:rental has gone up......report what.....the pork seller prices in the market has gone up......report what.....the mee distributor said prices for all noodles gone up.......report what![]()
hawkers are not so stupid to say that.....raising prices can never be justified so JUST SUCK IT UPOriginally posted by Gazelle:using GST as an excuse to profiteer
when hawker increase their price it is always in multiply of $0.50 hence if the same stall that used to sell $2.50 increase their price to $3.00 after Jul07 then that is call profiteering.Originally posted by de_middle:hawkers are not so stupid to say that.....raising prices can never be justified so JUST SUCK IT UP
Me too... and his word make sense... Price had increase after the GST hike. Inflation are higher as a result. So, GST does contribute to the price hike that we are seeing in our everyday life. Will feel the pinch once those big supermarket stop absorbing the GST.Originally posted by Gazelle:Can I know how many people actually read Atobe's post in this thread?
For me, I usually dont bother because there isnt must to read anyway. just a bunch of childish argument.
Can you tell us which S-11 store is that because a $0.20 increase is 16%.Originally posted by EarlNeo:Me too... and his word make sense... Price had increase after the GST hike. Inflation are higher as a result. So, GST does contribute to the price hike u seeing in our everyday life. Will feel the pinch once those big supermarket stop absorbing the GST.
Btw just had my lunch at S11.. charge me $1.40 for can drink.... instead of $1.20. I ask the them why, they reply coz gst increase mah... Fish soup with rice from $3 to $3.50. Said now have to charge 50 cent for rice..![]()
Ranging from 20 cent to 50 cent. Some even charge 20 cent if u take away rather then eat in (in the past dun have take away charge one leh)! Atleast 5 out of the 10 stall all increase price leh... To me that isn't few!!! How did u arrive with ur statistic saying it is FEW HAWKER?
hello, do you actually take not which hawker raises his prices & when they actually do itOriginally posted by Gazelle:when hawker increase their price it is always in multiply of $0.50 hence if the same stall that used to sell $2.50 increase their price to $3.00 after Jul07 then that is call profiteering.
EarlNeo and Atobe seems to know and lets wait for them to tell us which stall actually profiteer from GST.Originally posted by de_middle:hello, do you actually take not which hawker raises his prices & when they actually do it![]()
The one in AMK charge me $1.40 leh!Originally posted by Gazelle:Can you tell us which S-11 store is that because a $0.20 increase is 16%.
which rule say so? don't be naive please. the argument is "raise prices after GST hike : survey". and the dumb survey was conducted after the GST thing. grow up. admit it. prices have gone up. go read up ah dragg fav pig trotter stores. so what can the grabamen do? maybe their logical advice maybe "don't buy from them".Originally posted by Gazelle:when hawker increase their price it is always in multiply of $0.50 hence if the same stall that used to sell $2.50 increase their price to $3.00 after Jul07 then that is call profiteering.
tell us exactly which part of AMK lah...If I understand you correctly, you were saying that before GST they were selling $1.20 and after 1st July they charge you $1.40 right?Originally posted by EarlNeo:The one in AMK charge me $1.40 leh!
AMK S11 coffee shop.... the one near the court. Isnt S11 a franchise? So is there any different which S11 coffee shop it is? I duno if it is 1st july.. coz i din go there on 1st july!!!Originally posted by Gazelle:tell us exactly which part of AMK lah...If I understand you correctly, you were saying that before GST they were selling $1.20 and after 1st July they charge you $1.40 right?
They can come up with alot of reason lah!!! If food court can charge $2 for a can drink, what law is there to say that coffee shop cant sell can drink at $1.40? Din u heard the news report?? This quarter inflation is higher then last year. Normally we have a inflation of 1~2% per year. But this 1/4 alone we had an inflation of 1~2%. That MP even admit that it is partially cause by GST hike!!!Originally posted by Gazelle:using GST as an excuse to profiteer
er...i tink it's a better excuse than using it to help the poorOriginally posted by Gazelle:using GST as an excuse to profiteer
x2Originally posted by Lin Yu:er...i tink it's a better excuse than using it to help the poor![]()
Originally posted by EarlNeo:I happened to see some stall closed after the rise in GST. Some raised to three dollar n later back to 2.50 or two dollars again.
They can come up with alot of reason lah!!! If food court can charge $2 for a can drink, what law is there to say that coffee shop cant sell can drink at $1.40? Din u heard the news report?? This quarter inflation is higher then last year. Normally we have a inflation of 1~2% per year. But this [b]1/4 alone we had an inflation of 1~2%. That MP even admit that it is partially cause by GST hike!!!
So wat's so surprising to see hawker selling their food at a higher price?![]()
It is common knowledge that prices in all aspects of every industry rose after the GST hike; every supplier of food products will see their own suppliers jack up their selling prices to support still more suppliers providing the lifeline for their own ricebowls.Originally posted by Gazelle:Please dont question the survey unless you can support your claim by telling us which hawker centre and stalls profiteer from GST increase hike.
dont use me as a shield.Originally posted by Gazelle:I am glad you said that, because I would like to know how sure are you that the price increase as quoted by Atobe is due to GST and not due to inflation caused by rising product cost?
LOL even MIW announce on news that current high inflation is partially due to the GST hike!!! Unless u dun watch new. But anyway, i can safety assume that is a fact rite??? Unless u telling me now MIW's word cant be taken as a fact but as fart instead?Originally posted by Gazelle:I am glad you said that, because I would like to know how sure are you that the price increase as quoted by Atobe is due to GST and not due to inflation caused by rising product cost?