Corrections. The one u mean is not Radm but COA right? A BG who quit SMRT. The Radm u talking about is Kwek Siew Jin ( correct spelling?) He is a good CEO at that time.Originally posted by Othello_Red:Most of us take a very harsh view of signing on. I admit that I did that too. I still don't view signing on as a viable career option unless yor really have no choice.
When I did my NS, it was really my first oppurtunity to be with people who were genuinely less fortunate than me. For me, signing on is just one of several choices, for them, it may be the only choice. It is rather unfortunate for them, but one lesson that can be learnt from the many who have becomed disillusioned is this, before you sign on, have a goal. Use your time and money during your bond/contract to work towards that goal. Use regular service as a stepping stone rather than as the main focal point of your career.
Let's face it, only a few actually can be promoted due to merit. My 1st CSM during my NS days was one such person. Army mad, high-flying EOD guy who devoted his whole life to the army. Last I heard was that his wife divorced him. He's now pretty young for a 2WO, but is it really worth it?
And yes, command positions in such forces are not viewed as relevant work experience by the private sector. Even some government organizations don't view it as such. One RAdm made a huge mess of SMRT, because he kept pulling rank. Remember, always think thrice before signing on.
No more 40 yrs old. Once u r in Mindef Reserved, no need to take IPPT. I turn MR at the age of 34.Originally posted by Lim Wei Ming:Well, even if you never signed on, we still have to serve those 10 years of reservist shat and will still have to take IPPT until 40 years old.![]()
Pardon me, I was stuck under a rock back there.Originally posted by Manager433:No more 40 yrs old. Once u r in Mindef Reserved, no need to take IPPT. I turn MR at the age of 34.
so much for the "be all you can be" advertsOriginally posted by citymax:Hi, interesting topic. i am a regular serviceman in the army. same as TS, i got into the army during my times in the poly. Im doing good in the army, but life sucks in the army...dealing with stubborn officers and ridiculous enciks. I wish to leave the force but due to my commitment, married, car, house, family... how to leave??? now i getting a degree and gona leave the army next yr. so pls get a degree when u find life is suck in the army, dun force urself to do work that u dun like for the rest of ur life. Remember u only haf one life,live to the fullest and dun regret it.
this is just the tip of the ice berg..Originally posted by crimson soldier:wow. very interesting posts by all these ex-regulars. please contribute more![]()
i beg to differ.Originally posted by caleb_chiang:just bear in mind that any work related in the military is considered no experiences in the working world.![]()
You mean the GLCs don't you? Those are not representative of 'big major corporations'.Originally posted by the_fallen:i beg to differ.
if you look at the past, only the top fliers of the SAF (3 Star Generals) will be recognized by big major corporations and stand to enjoy big fat pay-salaries.
Do u mean Government Link Companies?Originally posted by lwflee:You mean the GLCs don't you? Those are not representative of 'big major corporations'.
ask carefully ... of course an education is good for youOriginally posted by SpecOps87:Ps. pardon my ignorance all the laojiaos here...but care to share your take on the 3yr scheme for officers? They told me its 2yr NSF (to be considered as regular) + 1yr (also a regular), end up I counted that 3 years can get about 80-90K incl. of bounty, bonuses and salary.
My intention of signing on the dotted line is that I wish to pursue higher education as my family is just middle-income, with dad getting CPF next Jul and mum getting her's in 2years. What do you guys think? Is it advisable? Because I do not want to rely on my parents for $$ during further education, i figured that since I'm enlisting next year, if I were to take the 2+1 scheme I would be like 24 when I end contract and be 25/26 when I end my further studies.
Please advise. Feel free to PM me.
Thanks,
SpecOps87
My dad is fit as a fiddle...but of course, can't take things for granted. Not that I'm a financial adviser/planner, but I told him to use his a percentage of his CPF to go invest under the advisement of my uncle the stock market guru...and continue working for at least 3yrs till my contract ends. That way, at least that way we will have a larger safety blanket.Originally posted by bohiruci:ask carefully ... of course an education is good for you
but at the same time ur guard is a against sudden expense surge when ur dad no more jobs ...like sickness and all this
u will spend abt 10-20% on transport to Army camp .. so think carefully .
ey SpecOps87Originally posted by SpecOps87:My dad is fit as a fiddle...but of course, can't take things for granted. Not that I'm a financial adviser/planner, but I told him to use his a percentage of his CPF to go invest under the advisement of my uncle the stock market guru...and continue working for at least 3yrs till my contract ends. That way, at least that way we will have a larger safety blanket.
For my pay, I intend to use it to also invest under my uncle and partly as allowance to my parents etc. But I'm not sure if its worth it, because it really really genuinely seems very tempting.
I've also told myself that I will not buy a car till I'm like 28 at least. Its scary to see my sec.school friend whom signed as a air force ACS blow money away on a brand new Subaru with a sub-2000 pay and end up still taking money from his parents.
Hmm...I'm actually from a marketing background, but why do you state that no other options lest financial sector?Originally posted by bohiruci:ey SpecOps87
i was a regular before , though i opposed to signing on for ppl out there ,but u must weigh your priorities ..resolved short term problem could bring
long term problem in future
when u ORD , u are gonna be like me ... rejected by lotsa interviewer and they are acidic , well it just prove they are rite ,
we are lack of experience ,only military powerplay experience
ya ... then thats where you should try to ask a financial planning from a trustworthy fren you know .
Everything can be worked out, including $
I hope you wont sign just for the sake of signing
becos your prime is taken by army ,and you have no way to compete with others unless you go in financial sector line
u can pm me if u want to speak abt financial planning , no string attached and I am NOT A FINANCIAL ADVISOR![]()
i think you can only do sales, insurance that type. the "soft" jobs.Originally posted by SpecOps87:Hmm...I'm actually from a marketing background, but why do you state that no other options lest financial sector?
Thanks
Disagree and agree.Originally posted by bohiruci:ey SpecOps87
i was a regular before , though i opposed to signing on for ppl out there ,but u must weigh your priorities ..resolved short term problem could bring
long term problem in future
when u ORD , u are gonna be like me ... rejected by lotsa interviewer and they are acidic , well it just prove they are rite ,
we are lack of experience ,only military powerplay experience
ya ... then thats where you should try to ask a financial planning from a trustworthy fren you know .
Everything can be worked out, including $
I hope you wont sign just for the sake of signing
becos your prime is taken by army ,and you have no way to compete with others unless you go in financial sector line
u can pm me if u want to speak abt financial planning , no string attached and I am NOT A FINANCIAL ADVISOR![]()