1) If I increased my fleet from 10,000 to 20,000, I'd employ more heads of departments and overseers and of course more drivers. I'd also have to build additional depots and interchanges. And because my CEO is managing more and has more on his plate, I'll increase his pay as well. I'm not sure about the amount, but I'll increase his pay nonetheless... substantially.Originally posted by Gazelle:Sure, then can I ask you,
1) When you increase of fleet from 10 to 20, do you need to increase your CEO's pay by twice, expand your admin office staff by 2 times, build an addition office building?
2) When you have higher ridership, that will means your train will be packed with passenge most of the time, will this not increase your revenue and increase your train utilization?
You could be doing alot of marketing, but that doesnt mean you know how to operate a transportation company.
Originally posted by maven2:
1) If I increased my fleet from 10,000 to 20,000, I'd employ more heads of departments and overseers and of course more drivers. I'd also have to build additional depots and interchanges. And because my CEO is managing more and has more on his plate, I'll increase his pay as well. I'm not sure about the amount, but I'll increase his pay nonetheless... substantially.
What you are talking about are direct and variable cost. What you dont need to increase is the fixed overhead. CEO are not operation people they can run a company with a million trains, and if the same business model is being duplicated, the cost of duplicating be is lower. CEO get paid more if the company makes more money and the share price goes up, not because the company is buying more trains. Maybe you should read up more on economy of scales to get a better understanding of what I am talking about.
2) When you have higher ridership, because the current fleet of trains are insufficient, I have to once again buy more trains and build more depots. And perhaps more lines to reach more places because the demand for it is there. I also might have to extend work hours, some of which wont be packed but have moderate amount of people. As it is the trains are already almost 100% utilised. When we have more people and more trains.. it still will be 100% utilised. There wont be a difference in the percentage utilisation. So costs wont go down. But I built more facilities and lines?
The train line in Singapore are build by our government, not the train operators, if you have more ridership, your utilisation of asset and manpower employed will be higher which mean cost will go down, not up.
Are you sure Singapore government collect millions of ERP per day?Originally posted by Rock^Star:The ERP is meant to be a double edged sword. Curb traffic congestion and raise revenue.
However, the constant increases in ERP is becoming a farce. Let's look at it this way.
- Why have COEs gone down so much over the past 3 years?
To increase revenue from road tax, fines, parking and ERP.
Why earn $30,000 of COE per car over 10 years than collect millions of dollars of ERP a day, billions of parking fines and road tax a year?
Though it is true that many who could never afford a car years ago can now do so. Then what, thank the govt?
Because of lax loan policies, zero downpayment policies etc many now buy cars cashless and are then saddled with huge debts.
Not to forget that 80% of Singaporeans live in ridiculously over priced HDBs.
And who's the one taking money into the coffers? The govt....and their increase salaries blah blah blah. I'm disgusted.
I would think he means a yearOriginally posted by Gazelle:Are you sure Singapore government collect millions of ERP per day?
Well, in the literal sense of the word, yes.Originally posted by Gazelle:Are you sure Singapore government collect millions of ERP per day?
Nice sourceOriginally posted by Rock^Star:Well, in the literal sense of the word, yes.
Motor vehicle taxes just increase year after year, despite the COE drop.
http://www.singstat.gov.sg/stats/themes/economy/ess/essa151.pdf
You forgot that taxi passengers are subjected to pay ERP too and taxi is public transport.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:wah, this topic like hot potato.
scanning thru them, my observations:
1) people want to own cars but don't like to pay charges
2) very easy to make all sorts of allegations, accusations, misconceived rumours
3) very little analyses of what's the true situations
4) failure to realised our limitations
5) talks are easy, can you find a better, equitable solutions?
6) I find some of the complaints boliao, worse than my mother who has every form of prejudice abt the gahmen!
7) fail to face reality - there is no such thing as free lunch - everything must pay - if you don't pay, it is someone else who pays!
There is always a choice, you can go to/live on an island without cars and ERP!
Actually, No. I find myself at a loss. I cannot find a better solution. At least I'm not pretending that by expanding my coffers, I'm solving the problem, when in fact, it is not doing anything to that effect and has longer term repercussions.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:wah, this topic like hot potato.
1) people want to own cars but don't like to pay charges
2) very easy to make all sorts of allegations, accusations, misconceived rumours
3) very little analyses of what's the true situations
4) failure to realised our limitations
5) talks are easy, can you find a better, equitable solutions?
6) I find some of the complaints boliao, worse than my mother who has every form of prejudice abt the gahmen!
7) fail to face reality - there is no such thing as free lunch - everything must pay - if you don't pay, it is someone else who pays!
There are many type of business in this world, you have hospitality, F&B, PR and Marketing, Mass Production, Precision Engineering, Logistic and Distribution, Chemical processing, Health Care etc. Just because you are doing business are you saying that will by default make you more knowledgable and you will know how to run all form of business?Originally posted by maven2:Just out of curiosity, Gazelle, fill me in about either your Business Background or Transportation Background. You keep saying, "Go and read". Apparently no amount of reading has given you insight into the terms "Monopoly" and "Diseconomies of Scale".
Firstly, you have no idea what Economies of Scale is and how it is subjected to Diseconmies of Scale and how monopoly is related to all of this.
It seriously is beginning to sound like you've just read these terms from somewhere and think you know all about it. Economics is a bloody science that even today is getting more complex as you quote them. The Scale was made as a very very simplified model. Which today, no self-respecting economist will tell you is as simple as that. There are a million factors that affect economies of scale.
And secondly, you don't take the words of a person who does business for a living.
All these stupid terms you quote, you know nothing about them.
You think you are a wit. And you probably are half-right.
The motor veh taxes consist of ARF, Road Tax, Special Tax on Heavy Vehicle Engine, Passenger Seat Fee, no non-motor vehicle license.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Well, in the literal sense of the word, yes.
Motor vehicle taxes just increase year after year, despite the COE drop.
http://www.singstat.gov.sg/stats/themes/economy/ess/essa151.pdf
Wow, ur mother has the potential to become future opposition candidate!! I realli respect her. It just like when his son is being attack by other, she would protect him. Actualli, ur mother has oredi provide free lunch to u when u r born. Dun tell me u dun know. The gahmen said "there is no free lunch", u realli believe whatever they said. HaHaOriginally posted by TheGoodEarth:wah, this topic like hot potato.
I have done road survey before, in which each of us is supposed to count the number of vehicles exiting the expressway. We were supposed to record the number exiting every 15 minsOriginally posted by Gazelle:The motor veh taxes consist of ARF, Road Tax, Special Tax on Heavy Vehicle Engine, Passenger Seat Fee, no non-motor vehicle license.
Which eye of yours could see the word ERP in the above PDF file? Or are you simply making baseless assumption again.
Why do you nitpick on little details like this which bears no significance to the issue that ERP increases year after year?Originally posted by Gazelle:The motor veh taxes consist of ARF, Road Tax, Special Tax on Heavy Vehicle Engine, Passenger Seat Fee, no non-motor vehicle license.
Which eye of yours could see the word ERP in the above PDF file? Or are you simply making baseless assumption again.
This is not call nitpick, this is to ensure that that "statistic" forumers posted here are reliable and worthy for discussion and not something that is make up base on gut feeling.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Why do you nitpick on little details like this which bears no significance to the issue that ERP increases year after year?
Couldn't your eyes direct you to look at the other statistics like "Others"? Perhaps the ERP is classified there. That piece of statistic is after all the operating revenue of the govt, is it not?
Originally posted by Gazelle:How certain are you that the Singapore Government does not collect millions of ERP per day ?
Are you sure Singapore government collect millions of ERP per day?
All the cars will have to pass an ERP gantry once a day? HAHA...Atobe, please stop making me laugh lah...plus have you consider the population of Off Peak cars in Singapore.Originally posted by Atobe:How certain are you that the Singapore Government does not collect millions of ERP per day ?
According to Official Statistics, there are 124 cars per 1000 persons in Singapore, which will give us approximately 558,000 cars for a population of 4.5m.
All cars will have to pass an ERP gantry once, if not twice a day - and assuming an average of $2, the deduction will have amounted to $1,116,000 per day.
Can you produce any of your favorite statistics to prove the Government do not collect less ?
My mom is just like so many forumers here, talk only. But she is better than opposition candidates who cannot talk. Listen, how often do you hear our opposition parliamentarians talk? And if they do, also like the boliaos here!Originally posted by sunnytv:Wow, ur mother has the potential to become future opposition candidate!! I realli respect her. It just like when his son is being attack by other, she would protect him. Actualli, ur mother has oredi provide free lunch to u when u r born. Dun tell me u dun know. The gahmen said "there is no free lunch", u realli believe whatever they said. HaHa![]()
Originally posted by royston_ang:You forget: taxi is considered semi-private transportation. Also, goods vehicles got to pay ERP - so your durians, vege, meat, fishes, actually are also pasengers lah!
You forgot that [b]taxi passengers are subjected to pay ERP too and taxi is public transport. [/b]