I don't think you understand what the tactics achieve. They dont win votes. They prevent the capable people from being able to run as candidates. And without these capable candidates, you cannot have anyone else to win. It becomes a default victory.Originally posted by Gazelle:I personally dont think this sort of tactic can be effective in winning votes from internet savy and educated singaporeans, and upgrading carrot has already been proven a failure in our last election.
Can you remember PM Lee's son saying that PAP rallies are boring, thats why he choose to attend the opposition rally.![]()
Pension leh?Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:But then, he raised his salary from 2.7 million to 3.3 million with public money and that is a fact...![]()
LKY wont sue bcos Andrew is not a threat to pAP or to leeOriginally posted by Gazelle:Andrew, you are one classic example of why many singapore opposition end up being sued by our ministers for defamation.
If you think you are not and you are smart, I suggest that you back up your statement with facts and figures and not some childish story to feed the sheep in this forum.
Unless Andrew runs for election.Originally posted by t_a_s:LKY wont sue bcos Andrew is not a threat to pAP or to lee
i think that statement is supposed to be an insult.Originally posted by eagle:Unless Andrew runs for election.
no it's not. u hv a habit of misunderstanding...Originally posted by Gazelle:i think that statement is supposed to be an insult.
He needs to prepare for hospitalisation fees and to pay for a private SIA plane to bring him back to singapore anytime and from anywhere.Originally posted by Rock^Star:LKY earns $275,000 a month. What does he need so much money for? To bring into the grave?
Two Lees are enough to last Singapore for the next hundred years.
PM Lee's son is promising in a way I heard. He's a rebel. My sister studied in the same school as him and it seems in his school days he was very very critical of the government policies. The poor NE coordinator of the school got the worst of it I was told. He didnt know how to respond to the son of the PM :p
If he's good and popular, and able to implement a string of popular policies without causing any problems to the economy and etc etc... why not?Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Two Lees are enough to last Singapore for the next hundred years.
No more Lees as rulers of Singapore!
What a horrifying thought.
If he really has the ability, don't you think he will be stressed too?Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I don't know, the mere thought of another Lee from LKY's clan just sickens me.
There was once a man, who stood, like Sir Stamford Raffles, on a bridge and shouted, defamatory remarks at CJ Yong Pung How. The CJ did not sue him for defamation, for obvious reasons.Originally posted by t_a_s:LKY wont sue bcos Andrew is not a threat to pAP or to lee
Most citizens are tired of so called leaders who are making excuses to gain more profit from tax payer money, and making excuses to create unnecessary position to make millions out of the people. I'm sick of it too.Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I don't know, the mere thought of another Lee from LKY's clan just sickens me.
Then Lee Hsien Yang means?Originally posted by (human):Most citizens are tired of so called leaders who are making excuses to gain more profit from tax payer money, and making excuses to create unnecessary position to make millions out of the people. I'm sick of it too.
The political scene has being engineered by LKY to such that if you not going to choose Lees to be the leader of the country, you will hardly have any one in mind to replace them. Anyone out there feeling this way? Will LKY bring in someone who is distinctively out shine than LHL and place a threat to the Lee's reign?
LHL's chinese name is Hsien Loong which mean emerge Dragon in chinese. Emerge dragon means becoming emperor? Do people feel that LKY had the ambition to place his son at the throne even very early in the beginning before the birth of LHL? Don't you have doubts on that?
Not going into LHY.Originally posted by eagle:Then Lee Hsien Yang means?![]()
Remember that he said that people in the gahmen will suffer if no rise in pay???Originally posted by Rock^Star:LKY earns $275,000 a month. What does he need so much money for? To bring into the grave?
Or is it to show the influential circles that he's still rich and powerful?
To leave money for future Lee generations? Looking at his sons and daughter-in-law (Ho Ching), is that necessary?
I just saw a middle aged couple picking cans from dustbin today. They were sorting the cans out after crushing it with their feet.
Assuming it's a payout of 10 cents per can, 300 cans will earn them $30. And they had better pray that Singaporeans continue their consumption of soft drinks.
Now compare that paltry $30 a day with LKY's $9,000 a day. I'm disgusted.
Which means your original meaning is lost -.-Originally posted by (human):Not going into LHY.![]()
I would like to ask how come your sister feeling it's funny for some one to look like LHL? Which doesn't make sense isn't it?Originally posted by eagle:Which means your original meaning is lost -.-
Just something funny I want to share...
My sis didn't know who LHY was. She only knew how LHL looked like... Then one day she saw LHY on tv, then she told me: "kor kor, how come that person look so much like LHL one ah? Ha ha ha"
She thought it was a show that got someone to imitate LHLOriginally posted by (human):I would like to ask how come your sister feeling it's funny for some one to look like LHL? Which doesn't make sense isn't it?
It's funny for people to imitate LHL? Don't find that funny. Seems like the illustration has gone out of point. Isn't it?Originally posted by eagle:She thought it was a show that got someone to imitate LHL
Is ok, forget about that.Originally posted by eagle:She thought it was a show that got someone to imitate LHL
some within family joke... hmmm... heh heh... just discovered it's hard to explainOriginally posted by (human):It's funny for people to imitate LHL? Don't find that funny. Seems like the illustration has gone out of point. Isn't it?