A morbid thought it may be. But like what we've all being saying, if its meritocratic, I have no qualms about it. If it's US who puts him there, then that's a good thing.Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Two Lees are enough to last Singapore for the next hundred years.
No more Lees as rulers of Singapore!
What a horrifying thought.
1 generation of bad leadership is bad enough for Singapore, can't imagine how bad is 3. Meritocracy? I don't see any meritocracy. When someone who tells you that he will become corrupted if you don't raise the already absurbly high pay, it is telling you how mediocre this person is. Do you still call it meritocracy when placing such low graded people in the position of leader?Originally posted by maven2:A morbid thought it may be. But like what we've all being saying, if its meritocratic, I have no qualms about it. If it's US who puts him there, then that's a good thing.
In any case, to clarify, when I said promising, I meant.. finaLee not a puppet. Fella has his own mind and his own convictions and he made it known in no uncertain terms how little he thought of several policies. That's what I heard la. Which is a good thing.
I'm in no way suggesting that another Lee should/must rule. I once heard a saying... something like a dynasty never lasts more than 3 generations.... hehe. Here we are hoping and praying not more than 2 :p
Feed FirstOriginally posted by sg mata:juz curious....wad does 'hsien yang' mean??
Originally posted by (human):1 generation of bad leadership is bad enough for Singapore, can't imagine how bad is 3. Meritocracy? I don't see any meritocracy. When someone who tells you that he will become corrupted if you don't raise the already absurbly high pay, it is telling you how mediocre this person is. Do you still call it meritocracy when placing such low graded people in the position of leader?
That's bloody bullsh.it. Joke of the year perhaps.Originally posted by caleb_chiang:Remember that he said that people in the gahmen will suffer if no rise in pay???
without the raise, they cannot upkeep with the GST that they need to pay for the branded clothings, cars, accessories and gadgets and most of all... the land that they will need for their burial.
company - boss always has the last sayOriginally posted by AndrewPKYap:hahahaha country equal company? He owns you?![]()
He does not need to pay for hospitalisation and airfare, these are all paid for by using the taxpayers' money. He is given very very special treatment by hospitals and doctors.Originally posted by eagle:He needs to prepare for hospitalisation fees and to pay for a private SIA plane to bring him back to singapore anytime and from anywhere.
He wasn't voted in. The opposition respected/afraid of him and let him in I would guess.
Well said. I agree. The mastermind of the party knows the way to win.Originally posted by maven2:I don't think you understand what the tactics achieve. They dont win votes. They prevent the capable people from being able to run as candidates. And without these capable candidates, you cannot have anyone else to win. It becomes a default victory.
Leave those you assess as no competition alone. And get rid of those who are capable. Is it not that hard to see?
And talk about the sheer volume of walkover votes. How many percent of Singaporeans above the age of 21 got to vote?
Ya, we don't need any more Lee from the same family to rule. Enough is enough. Singapore belongs to all of us and not just to the Lee family, so it is only fair that they let others have the fair chance to be the PM. If not, it is really nepotismOriginally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Two Lees are enough to last Singapore for the next hundred years.
No more Lees as rulers of Singapore!
What a horrifying thought.
Singapore Company Ltd, so we have to listen to the bosses of the company, if not we will be fired. WE have to learn how to deal with toxic bosses.Originally posted by iaintmad:company - boss always has the last say
singapore - boss always has the last say
aiya
what comes around, goes around.
the money, will come back to us in a way or another.
eg. funds,more amneties
The other joke are all those claims of how much money Temasek makes. If they are really that smart and confident of making money, why don't they take the CPF money and invest it? No need to pay the 27% they claim to make, just pay 10%. You think when they are put to this kind of test, they can deliver? Only idiotic Singaporeans will believe what dictators that eschew transparency and separation of powers say.Originally posted by Rock^Star:That's bloody bullsh.it. Joke of the year perhaps.
Ever wondered, the ministers with their million dollar salaries, never make it to the Forbes rich list year after year?
Something to hide, is it not?
How can LKY with a salary of $3.3m a year and all the wealth and properties he has amassed all these years, not make it to the list????
Actually hor, they do take the CPF money and invest in it. And give us back a small percentage of the profits.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:The other joke are all those claims of how much money Temasek makes. If they are really that smart and confident of making money, why don't they take the CPF money and invest it? No need to pay the 27% they claim to make, just pay 10%. You think when they are put to this kind of test, they can deliver? Only idiotic Singaporeans will believe what dictators that eschew transparency and separation of powers say.
Where got give profits? They only pay interest rates...Originally posted by maven2:Actually hor, they do take the CPF money and invest in it. And give us back a small percentage of the profits.
Many Singaporeans are like what you said above. They are very fearful to offend their "toxic bosses". I was being told off many times by friends, family members and relatives to stop talking about the gahmen. Personally, I cannot stand this irrational fear and timidity of theirs. I told them that the people of Singapore is their boss and they should thank us for allowing them to rule Singapore and not the other way round.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:That is why Singaporeans need to work so hard with nothing to show for it because people have stupid ideas in their heads that the government should be treated/considered to be their "bosses" instead of their servants.
Unfortunately you are the exception... that proves the rule...Originally posted by qlqq9:Many Singaporeans are like what you said above. They are very fearful to offend their "toxic bosses". I was being told off many times by friends, family members and relatives to stop talking about the gahmen. Personally, I cannot stand this irrational fear and timidity of theirs. I told them that the people of Singapore is their boss and they should thank us for allowing them to rule Singapore and not the other way round.
Oh ya hor. :pOriginally posted by AndrewPKYap:Where got give profits? They only pay interest rates...
In general, Singaporeans are extremely inner looking, they only care that their needs are taken care of and whatever the gahmen is doing is secondary. They will behave in the way not to offend the gahmen, their boss. I look down on such mentality.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Unfortunately you are the exception... that proves the rule...
that is what we call VIP treamentOriginally posted by qlqq9:He does not need to pay for hospitalisation and airfare, these are all paid for by using the taxpayers' money. He is given very very special treatment by hospitals and doctors.
u cant compare like this, durian got various grade, D24, sultan durian .... some sell for $2 some $10, u cant compareOriginally posted by Rock^Star:LKY earns $275,000 a month. What does he need so much money for? To bring into the grave?
Or is it to show the influential circles that he's still rich and powerful?
To leave money for future Lee generations? Looking at his sons and daughter-in-law (Ho Ching), is that necessary?
I just saw a middle aged couple picking cans from dustbin today. They were sorting the cans out after crushing it with their feet.
Assuming it's a payout of 10 cents per can, 300 cans will earn them $30. And they had better pray that Singaporeans continue their consumption of soft drinks.
Now compare that paltry $30 a day with LKY's $9,000 a day. I'm disgusted.