I dare say...after all the big talks by so "many" anti PAP ppl here, in the next election and many to come, PAP will still emerge victory.33.3% voted opposition in GE 2006.
You should grow up.Originally posted by uhbaden:I wish some ppl will grow up and open their minds more broadly then to start blasting our government.
e,g. My parents have been nuturing and supporting me over the years to who I am today, I am of course in all gratefullness want to return them the effort and resources spent on me. Why not?
What is 3.3 million compared to Singapore's economy? Do you know what is the our country's income by the way?

Yes, in fact it is a great success that propaganda through the media has made people think that MIWs are their parents and they have to obey and be filial to them. STupid and rubbish.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:See how powerful government propaganda through the newspapers and schools can get? They actually make the children think of them as "parents" when "parents" give selflessly while they take unreservedly.
Then we shouldn't have any government better. You think the oppositions can do a better job? With oppositions you are useful?Originally posted by googoomuck:You should grow up.
Govt wants you to believe that without them, you are useless.
er....oppositions do use propaganda too, as do some of our fellow forumers here. So what are we getting here at?Originally posted by qlqq9:Yes, in fact it is a great success that propaganda through the media has made people think that MIWs are their parents and they have to obey and be filial to them. STupid and rubbish.
So how better will Singapore be 'if' oppositions take over? Singaporeans no need to work? The whole of Singapore will be en-bloc and sold to other countries and every Singaporeans will not have to work a single day of their lives?Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:33.3% voted opposition in GE 2006.
This number can only increase in the coming years.
Actually, given the odds staked against the opposition in the current political climate, 33.3% is already a very impressive figure.
Be adaptive to policy changes ? The citizens have no say in policy making and we sure have the rights to criticize them if necessary ... There is no need for us to conform to a autocratic rule ...Originally posted by uhbaden:Then we shouldn't have any government better. You think the oppositions can do a better job? With oppositions you are useful?
Why can't we be more initiative and adaptive to policy changes then to complain all the time.
I say be more self sufficient and self-independant. If I need to work a bit harder to keep up my family, I'll do so. Why bother with spending the effort wastefully blasting our government, whereby you can actually use the same effort to benefit yourself and people around us.
Don't be selfish. Think of your kids in the future (if you are planning for one anyway).
That's a silly notion that is innate in majority of the Singaporeans ... In other countries , it is very common to see change of power and if the current government is not doing very well , the citizens can just simply vote new people in ... They are in charge of the betterment for their own countryOriginally posted by uhbaden:So how better will Singapore be 'if' oppositions take over? Singaporeans no need to work? The whole of Singapore will be en-bloc and sold to other countries and every Singaporeans will not have to work a single day of their lives?
I want to give the opposition a chance too. But the thing is, they must field candidates in the West part of Singapore. Turns out during the last election, the battle was mainly in the North and Eastern parts of Spore. As a result, many West areas were walkovers. Not enough manpower or wanting to concentrate their resources in 1 area ain't good enough reasons. I have seen what the MPs in my area had done for me. Now I wanna see what the opposition can propose to improve the area I live in. For a start, a walkabout would be appropriate, but that just ain't happening. Or do they think that just because it isn't election year, hence there's no need 2 show their face?Originally posted by Trump_Card:That's a silly notion that is innate in majority of the Singaporeans ... In other countries , it is very common to see change of power and if the current government is not doing very well , the citizens can just simply vote new people in ... They are in charge of the betterment for their own country
The opposition in Singapore is not there yet and they are in a transition stage ... Slowly but surely , they will proved worthy challengers to take on the ruling party ...
By voting for opposition, life still go on. Would we be better or worse, it need time to tell. Do u give them opportunity like Hougang & Potong Pasir residents. Why these 2 area has been rule by opposition for so long? Care to explain.Originally posted by uhbaden:So how better will Singapore be 'if' oppositions take over? Singaporeans no need to work? The whole of Singapore will be en-bloc and sold to other countries and every Singaporeans will not have to work a single day of their lives?
The government is elected to take responsibility for many things but passing the buck to its citizens is not one of them. This is more so because of the multi-million dollar paychecks that they receive. Maybe the opposition can do better with lower salaries.Originally posted by uhbaden:Then we shouldn't have any government better. You think the oppositions can do a better job? With oppositions you are useful?
Why can't we be more initiative and adaptive to policy changes then to complain all the time.
I say be more self sufficient and self-independant. If I need to work a bit harder to keep up my family, I'll do so. Why bother with spending the effort wastefully blasting our government, whereby you can actually use the same effort to benefit yourself and people around us.
Don't be selfish. Think of your kids in the future (if you are planning for one anyway).
By saying we did not think over bigger and more important issues, then I might as well be the MP. They r "Talents" leh. Wait I snatch their rice bowl, they will be angry leh. Being a MP is so easy, just rise price and cost and increased salary as I like. Why don't u vote for me, I just rise the price to make u like me even more.Originally posted by BadzMaro:at least u guys are under a benevolent despotism.
Anyways i see that S.G so small , all areas regardless of pro or opposition areas, are still making progress.
Maybe i dont really understand THAT much into SG politics , but what i can see , both sides are doing a pretty decent job. I can forsee a equal 2 party system.
S.G Gov doing hella a good job then MY. SG policies some may sound a bit ridiculous or harsh but at least the people still benefit , god food to eat and have a roof over the head. MY goverment dun even give the bone to the people to eat not to mention about other policies being implemented.TO the whiners of the opposition , u can whine , but whine over bigger and more important issues then these trivial matters. I mean come on man..
So many posts and threads in S.C u guys always talk about stuffs that doesnt relate to the bigger more important issues.
anyways my 2 cents worth.
Instead of just focusing on what the government tax you, you should also take a look at what we get in return.Originally posted by sunnytv:By voting for opposition, life still go on. Would we be better or worse, it need time to tell. Do u give them opportunity like Hougang & Potong Pasir residents. Why these 2 area has been rule by opposition for so long? Care to explain.
If you r as competency as one of your colleague eg John in the office, but your
boss & friends still believe John can do better. You try to work harder and better but your boss & friends still think they cannot do without John. U r not given a opportunity to prove, how will u do & feel? If your future children oso has the same fate as you, what will u do?
If u r independent,
They want a salary increase, u agree
They give u GST, u take
They give u ERP, u take
They give increase in these & that, u take
Do u know how to say "no"?
If you want to talk about the bonus they give, why i don't reject? Bcos it supposed to be the money (tax, fine etc) which I lend to them but large part oredi give to them free.
When wages of workers dropped to third world, leaders still refused to answer to problems.Originally posted by Gazelle:Instead of just focusing on what the government tax you, you should also take a look at what we get in return.
a) The security of this country
b) The world class road system we use everyday
c) The world class air conditioned public transport system
d) The clean and green enviroment we live
e) The economic and social stability
f) The world class education facilities
g) The ability to attract foreign investment
h) The quality of our government housing
i) The quality of water we drink
k) The ability to attract tourists into this tiny country
l) The world class health care facilities
Wow, they have done so much. Why our local talents still leaving & birthrate still did not improved? I do agree Security very good, a NSF walking around with SAR 21. Well done!!Originally posted by Gazelle:Instead of just focusing on what the government tax you, you should also take a look at what we get in return.
As far as I know the budget and the NDP rally speech for the past few years have been focusing alot on the lower income group and low skilled workers. Beside direct financial aid, government are also giving alot of incentives for people to upgrade themselves and learn new skills to survive in the modern world of globalisation and fast changing technology and enviroment.Originally posted by robertteh:When wages of workers dropped to third world, leaders still refused to answer to problems.
When CPF retirement scheme failed the leaders tried to blame it on lengthening of lives.
When NKF or shin corp problems cropped up the world-class leaders denied every problem caused.
Without wisdom of the basic kind how could you be good leaders and how could you convince people beautiful highways will still be passable or the housing costs is not being over-charged or made affordable and truthfully subsidised.
No disagreement with measures taken to help the lower income groups.Originally posted by Gazelle:As far as I know the budget and the NDP rally speech for the past few years have been focusing alot on the lower income group and low skilled workers. Beside direct financial aid, government are also giving alot of incentives for people to upgrade themselves and learn new skills to survive in the modern world of globalisation and fast changing technology and enviroment.
During the financial crisis, when many low skilled workers were retrenched, Singapore government gave the directive to boost the service and tourism industry and this as resulted in many jobs created for the less skilled and educated singaporeans. As we all know that the key reasons for the unemployment during our last recession was due to globalisation and competition from China made products, hence we should give credit to the government do being able to deliver what they have promised to boost the service industry that helps revive singapore's economy. I guess that also explain why why Singapore government has bend their rules to build 2 IRs in Singapore to boost the tourism industry.
The CPF scheme was never meant to be the one and only retirement nest and the best route to a good retirement is to plan it early and start early.
Government has never deny there was a problem at NKF and if not for SPH, who is a GLCs, TT Durai will still be brushing washing his mouth with the golden tap.
Originally posted by Gazelle:Instead of just focusing on what the government tax you, you should also take a look at what we get in return.
Correction: the government are implementing policies to elevate this situation, do you expect the policies to help the low wage situation overnight, or expect the government to again spoonfeed our low wage workers. We will soon be complacent if we just take money easily with open hands.Originally posted by robertteh:When wages of workers dropped to third world, leaders still refused to answer to problems.
When CPF retirement scheme failed the leaders tried to blame it on lengthening of lives.
When NKF or shin corp problems cropped up the world-class leaders denied every problem caused.
Without wisdom of the basic kind how could you be good leaders and how could you convince people beautiful highways will still be passable or the housing costs is not being over-charged or made affordable and truthfully subsidised.
Originally posted by uhbaden:Spoonfeed????!!!! If they stop making the people PAY and PAY, that would be a start. Make the poor Pay and Pay while they Take and Take.
expect the government to again spoonfeed our low wage workers. [/b]
Originally posted by uhbaden:Taking public money with open hands?... er are you talking about LKY and the ministers?
We will soon be complacent if we just take money easily with open hands.[/b][/b]
Originally posted by uhbaden:The CPF and NKF issue by far are not big issues, again, why want to complain again??Of course they want the public to think of the CPF and NKF issues as small...
[/b][/b]
Originally posted by uhbaden:CPF and NKF are not big issue? Are you trying you show us how ignorance you are? Why want to complain again? I think the issues are not over yet.
The CPF and NKF issue by far are not big issues, again, why want to complain again??
and I suppose you are so hardworking and that is why you are the top scholar, the most successful businessman, at the top of your profession and is also most successful in taking public money?Originally posted by uhbaden:I believe most oppositions are opposed to the government controlling their money. Why? Because a majority of this group of ppl just don't know how to think hard enough to make ends meet and the easiest way is to blatantly blast the government to get money back. They want the government to spoonfeed them all the way. The government is realising that they have spoonfed too much and by implementing the new policies, should encourage creative earning rather than waiting for the government to feed you.
I hope such ppl also don't expect their real-life parents to feed them to their graves too.
I say...dun be lazy.
I also say oppositions are not thinking long term.
Please feel free to be angry at my opinions thank you.![]()