I used to be very NAIVE.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Many have said, "Why be honest if you may be paid a lot of money to lie?"
Trust me, there are many Singaporeans out there like that, and they will be the ones holding us back from growing.
Blame it on extreme pragmatism and a lack of a guiding ideology, if you find that there's too many people who would speak both ways for a pay cheque.
I read the rest of your post. While there are good and legitimate points, there are also misconceptions coupled with grudges.Originally posted by mitzzkai:Hi fellow Singaporeans, I am angry at the recent compulsory annuities scheme that was proposed. To me, it is nothing more than sheer robbery. This was a letter that I have sent to the major newspaper TODAY, but it is understandable why they would not want to publish it. I present it as an open letter to all of you, so that we may question what the Government is really trying to do here.
l
Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:This Annuity "idea" is a ploy to hold on to peoples' money, NOT a solution...
I read the rest of your post. While there are good and legitimate points, there are also misconceptions coupled with grudges.
One line seems to stand out from the many threads in this sub-forum: that any ideas, policies, actions of gahmen, are intended to gain more monies out of people at their expense. So compulsory annuity scheme is one way gahmen robs you in order to build another university. This sounds too contrite. By your reasoning, everything can be linked when they are far from being related. So, how was NUS build or SMU built? Annuities?
Annuity schemes are not attractive only if the interest rate is low. Anyone who wants to understand annuity better should go study finance in detail. Reading papers and hearing what people say is only partial, not total understanding.
I will put it to you very simply: do you have [b]any better way to see the needs of those living into golden years? Never mind what the statistics say. Can you say for sure you won't live beyond 80, 90, 100?[/b]
Agree.....Originally posted by kramnave:Just wait for the full details
I'll start from the back:Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:I read the rest of your post. While there are good and legitimate points, there are also misconceptions coupled with grudges.
One line seems to stand out from the many threads in this sub-forum: that any ideas, policies, actions of gahmen, are intended to gain more monies out of people at their expense. So compulsory annuity scheme is one way gahmen robs you in order to build another university. This sounds too contrite. By your reasoning, everything can be linked when they are far from being related. So, how was NUS build or SMU built? Annuities?
Annuity schemes are not attractive only if the interest rate is low. Anyone who wants to understand annuity better should go study finance in detail. Reading papers and hearing what people say is only partial, not total understanding.
I will put it to you very simply: do you have any better way to see the needs of those living into golden years? Never mind what the statistics say. Can you say for sure you won't live beyond 80, 90, 100?
Originally posted by hloc:While that would be fine, most often than not, when the finalised details are out, the Bill would have likely been passed already.
Agree.....
[b]Why not wait for more detail before jumping into any conclusion[/b]
Originally posted by HyperFocal:This Annuity "idea" is a ploy to hold on to peoples' money, NOT a solution...
I feel for you. I understand you want to break the piggy bank at 55 and spend your long hard-earned savings on cars, cigars and concubines. But why 'ploy'? Sounds like there is a conspiracy. I get this feeling you think CPF or rather gahmen is hard-up of your money. It is very easy for gahmen to raise money when it need - just print money or increase tax!
The government's duty should be to help create a job market for its people to MAKE A LIVING to support themselves, or at the least, ensure, or 'preserve' an employment market for these older folks to support themselves since they are so Welfare Phobic - and NOT forcefully deny people their rights to their hard earned money..
How do you create a job market? Have not studied that in finance, economics and HR. You mean jobs can just be created out of the blue? Like this every gahmen in every country will have no problem with unemployment! If there is no demand for bread, you create baking jobs? If there is no demand for education, you create teaching posts?
In my opinioin, people aren't living longer - more of the newer generations who are healthy and young are dropping dead every now and then - and its increasingly frequent now a days....
Your opinion or statistics? One must separate 'feelings' from 'facts'. You mean to say your opinion is correct just bcos you read in the papers that one or two fit and young marathon runners dropped dead?
The only solution is for a formidable opposition party to wake up PAP's money-minded idea...!!!
Hahaha, hear this line too often, and too naive. What guarantee that a formidable opposition will solve all problems? In many countries with formidable oppositions - Europe, Japan, USA, Australia - they change govt in the hope of solving problems but then later kick out the govt they voted for!
Originally posted by mitzzkai:I'll start from the back:
Do I have any better way to see the needs of those living into golden years?
Yes, letting those living into their golden years save for themselves. What is wrong with saving for themselves? It inculcates self-responsibility. The government tells you "you are not responsible enough for your own money". Why not? You earned the money. The government didn't earn it. If those in their "golden years" do not have enough money, it is merely their own fault. Should we subsidise irresponsibility now?
There is nothing wrong in being responsible for your own money or savings. That is not the point and you are barking up the wrong tree. If every SGrean is as financial-savvy as Leong Sze Hian or Peter Lim or Wee Cho Yaw, then there is no problem. But can you say that? For those who can manage their finance or are financial-savvy, they don't need annuity, and even if they have to use some of CPF-money to pay for compulsory annuity, it is loose change to them! The problem (as you failed to see) is that the majority of people are not financial-savvy, nor can they save (either not a habit or don't have money to save). How do you deal with these people?
I assure you I have done my research into annuities. I could put it in the most technical jargon, but remember I am writing for ordinary Singaporeans. I am merely putting out the bare facts about annuities. The ordinary Singaporean does not care for convoluted explanations - clear simple facts make my point clearly. Stealing is stealing, jargon or not.
Hmmm ... your research is a bit skewed judging from your statement - stealing. Annuity is based on time value of money plus the element of pooled risks. Everything about money rest on interest rate. If the interest rate is good, any scheme will do. You don't need a PHD to understand this. Loansharks can tell you! And loansharks need no convoluted explanations.
NUS and SMU were built on taxes and CPF contributions. The real reason why the government is pushing back CPF payout age is because they are spending the money, as well as allowing contributors to invest some. This is credit expansion, and over the next 20-30 years inflation will jump remarkably. I personally feel the SGD will fall by 3-4 times in value.
Your economics is mixed with personal feelings. Every public good is built with public money raised thru taxation, unless you want to pay for all. While CPF fund is 'borrowed' by govt to finance developments, there is no evidence to show that the real reason is what you claimed. There are many sources of fund for gahmen to tap, CPF is not the only one!
And a note about inflation - I think your ah cong without studying economics will tell you that. So, you want to withdraw all your money from CPF and spend it all at one go, so that inflation will not eat into your hard-earned money?
You are right though, I believe the government is always looking to benefit itself at the expense of others. What is "compulsory"? "Compulsory" actions are needed when people acting voluntarily would not do so freely. Does the government do anything productive? No - anything it spends has first to be funded by taxes, monetary inflation, or deficit spending (future taxation). If we strip the government of its self-imposed sanctity, what do we find? We find that the government is nothing more than the most organised group of thieves in history, that have a monopoly of ultimate decision-making (jurisdiction) and a monopoly of taxation over a geographic location. That is all it is.
Hahahaha, with or without gahmen, your money is also not safe. Someone may rob you or you get cheated, or inflation will eat your money. Again, why wud gahmen want to steal when it has the power and authority to print money or tax people? Your economics is really mixed up.
Sure I could spin it in jargon - but why would I want to? Simple, clear, effective, language makes my point clearly. If robbery (forced taking of money) is wrong, then taxation is wrong, and compulsory annuities is wrong.
Your jargon is spin wrongly. When you go to a restaurant to eat, it is compulsory that you pay! If it is voluntary - do you think people will pay? I will not, since it is voluntary! So, is the restaurant robbing me?
Originally posted by mitzzkai:
"There is nothing wrong in being responsible for your own money or savings. That is not the point and you are barking up the wrong tree. If every SGrean is as financial-savvy as Leong Sze Hian or Peter Lim or Wee Cho Yaw, then there is no problem. But can you say that? For those who can manage their finance or are financial-savvy, they don't need annuity, and even if they have to use some of CPF-money to pay for compulsory annuity, it is loose change to them! The problem (as you failed to see) is that the majority of people are not financial-savvy, nor can they save (either not a habit or don't have money to save). How do you deal with these people? "
Simple. You let them feel the poverty that comes from not saving. This is where private charity comes in. Voluntary donations.
That is indeed very simplistic - waiting for charity and voluntary contributions. Put up your hand and show me that you will donate your CPF money to help those people.
"Hmmm ... your research is a bit skewed judging from your statement - stealing. Annuity is based on time value of money plus the element of pooled risks. Everything about money rest on interest rate. If the interest rate is good, any scheme will do. You don't need a PHD to understand this. Loansharks can tell you! And loansharks need no convoluted explanations. "
You are partly correct. However, I am comparing private annuities (far better), with compulsory annuities (no choice, lousier). You are wrong about interest rates though, the whole point of annuities is fixed income.Ahhh , that is making a simplistic assumption. If indeed private annuities can do better, CPF can save itself a lot of headaches! Again, you are wrong about your research on annuities. It is fixed return (for as long as you live) from your initial outlay - but how much to pay you depends on interest rate.
"Your economics is mixed with personal feelings. Every public good is built with public money raised thru taxation, unless you want to pay for all. While CPF fund is 'borrowed' by govt to finance developments, there is no evidence to show that the real reason is what you claimed. There are many sources of fund for gahmen to tap, CPF is not the only one!
And a note about inflation - I think your ah cong without studying economics will tell you that. So, you want to withdraw all your money from CPF and spend it all at one go, so that inflation will not eat into your hard-earned money? "
Sure, anyone would withdraw his money from the CPF the instant it was allowed. That's common sense. Low-risk investments yield 10% per annum. CPF even with the increase yields only 3.5%. I am reasoning deductively of course, using the American Social Security (of which CPF is a carbon copy). However, you are obviously wrong on "many sources". Taxation, CPF (which is another tax), then what? The only reason for the Gov to hold CPF is that they have used it. Therefore the money coming back must necessarily be newly-created, this is really not new to anyone who has studied social security systems.
If CPF is tax, you will never get a cent back! And 10% yield? Tell me where in SG - I want to put my savings there!
"Hahahaha, with or without gahmen, your money is also not safe. Someone may rob you or you get cheated, or inflation will eat your money. Again, why wud gahmen want to steal when it has the power and authority to print money or tax people? Your economics is really mixed up. "
I have no time and patience for a detailed refutation. I give you a reading assignment:
"Human Action" by Ludwig von Mises
"Man, Economy and State" by Murray Rothbard
"The Myth of National Defence", Hoppe, ed.
The last book deals with your question most directly. It can be found for free here: www.mises.org/etexts/defensemyth.pdf
You might also want to research American history, particularly the Revolution and Declaration of Independence, as well as Southern Secession.
I am not American, no time to read their long-winded stories. From your postings here I can see the futility of doing so, of those readings that you have made. You live in SG or US? Look at the sub-prime mess the silly Americans have created!
"Your jargon is spin wrongly. When you go to a restaurant to eat, it is compulsory that you pay! If it is voluntary - do you think people will pay? I will not, since it is voluntary! So, is the restaurant robbing me? "
Really, my reasoning is wrong? Then pray tell me this, which restaurant forces you to eat at its outlets, and puts you in jail if you don't?
OK, so you don't eat? If you do eat, you are saying you don't have to pay? Indeed, you are not compel to eat, not to say you are compel to eat at any restaurant.
I have no time and patience for a detailed refutation. I give you a reading assignment:Hey, here's someone who can actually pierce through the fog of propaganda and idealogy!
"Human Action" by Ludwig von Mises
"Man, Economy and State" by Murray Rothbard
"The Myth of National Defence", Hoppe, ed.
The last book deals with your question most directly. It can be found for free here: www.mises.org/etexts/defensemyth.pdf
You might also want to research American history, particularly the Revolution and Declaration of Independence, as well as Southern Secession.
Every forumers think they are more educated than another. Don't make claims, prove by your arguments! Federal Reserve is not american? Btw, I didn't introduce this in my original post but to add to your suggestions to read american history! I told you: I am not american, and I don't need anerican education. What is so superior about them?Originally posted by mitzzkai:"I am not American, no time to read their long-winded stories. From your postings here I can see the futility of doing so, of those readings that you have made. You live in SG or US? Look at the sub-prime mess the silly Americans have created! "
I think this just says it all. If you are unwilling to educate yourself, then there is no point in further wasting my time replying to you. You compound your errors by referring to the sub-prime issue, which has been the work of the Federal Reserve. If anything, it is an indictment of central banking.
To the rest of the forum posters:
I have pointed out the facts. I wish you the best of luck with your protests and your action.
Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:Hey, here's someone who can actually pierce through the fog of propaganda and idealogy!
I see someone using fog to mast his griping ideology.
Rarity! Indeed, American history has been anything but following the so-called ideals of the founding fathers, what with the first military adventure was the invasion of Mexico and Texas, of which the latter was under the control of Mexico back then.
So, you know a lot of american history. In what context it is useful here??
And GoodEarth, you are just typical of many Singaporeans who don't bother to read history and draw parallels. You do realise that, to the more sophisticates, you sound like a child who's saying "wa wa wa, my daddy would never cheat me!" Yeah right.
You are the typical american who jumped to conclusion. Better you jump off from your table. So, you tell me which part of history has parallel for our old age situations here?
I feel sorry that your daddy has cheated you.
And just by the way, go read some economics. CPF is a tax. Just because you get it back decades later doesn't mean it doesn't assert the same influence. By the way, are you that stupid to rely on CPF for retirement? Or annuities for that matter?
Hahahaha, have you read economics? CPF is tax - my goodness where did you study economics? America? Hey, don't just mimic, think lah! You mean just because gahmen forced you to save by making you contribute to CPF, that is called tax?
Hmm ... I no stupid. But CPF gives me a little more security when I retire than your useless assertions here which can't buy me anything! I suppose for you, you have other means better than CPF - donations from public?
What the frak are you talking about? What is it with American this and that that is bad? You are not making any sense! What you, have an inferiority complex? That you are afraid of someone else claiming superiority? Oh, go back to school.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:Every forumers think they are more educated than another. Don't make claims, prove by your arguments! Federal Reserve is not american? Btw, I didn't introduce this in my original post but to add to your suggestions to read american history! I told you: I am not american, and I don't need anerican education. What is so superior about them?
You have pointed out facts to your liking. Those facts I have rebutted.
I see an idiot who cannot think out of the box.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:I see someone using fog to mast his griping ideology.
So, you know a lot of american history. In what context it is useful here??What? You are stupid enough to believe the polemics and rhetoric of a Government? What? You are a sucker?
You are the typical american who jumped to conclusion. Better you jump off from your table. So, you tell me which part of history has parallel for our old age situations here?All I see, is a person who cannot comprehend anything too abstract, and then blames the person who concocted the abstract concept. If anything, you are simply displaying your inferiority complex and cannot separate fact from fiction.
I feel sorry that your daddy has cheated you.
Hahahaha, have you read economics? CPF is tax - my goodness where did you study economics? America? Hey, don't just mimic, think lah! You mean just because gahmen forced you to save by making you contribute to CPF, that is called tax?See, you cannot separate fact from fiction. Savings? What has your savings got to do with anything? If by anything, the Government takes your money and invest. You cannot use the money until so and so age. What's the difference between that and a tax then? If you cannot understand, then go to the corner and cry for being too stupid.
Hmm ... I no stupid. But CPF gives me a little more security when I retire than your useless assertions here which can't buy me anything! I suppose for you, you have other means better than CPF - donations from public?
Thank you Fingolfin for your kind words. It is indeed rare to find someone in Singapore who actually agrees with my libertarian views on some subjects!Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:Hey, here's someone who can actually pierce through the fog of propaganda and idealogy!
Rarity! Indeed, American history has been anything but following the so-called ideals of the founding fathers, what with the first military adventure was the invasion of Mexico and Texas, of which the latter was under the control of Mexico back then.
And GoodEarth, you are just typical of many Singaporeans who don't bother to read history and draw parallels. You do realise that, to the more sophisticates, you sound like a child who's saying "wa wa wa, my daddy would never cheat me!" Yeah right.
And just by the way, go read some economics. CPF is a tax. Just because you get it back decades later doesn't mean it doesn't assert the same influence. By the way, are you that stupid to rely on CPF for retirement? Or annuities for that matter?
Hahaha, you must be american. He who eats burger feels hammed. You can't debate. You can only swear. American superiority complex is apparent here - the arrogance, the attitude, the upper crass. I saw all these and their idiocies back then when I was in school. You are now a reminder of that stupidity.Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:What the frak are you talking about? What is it with American this and that that is bad? You are not making any sense! What you, have an inferiority complex? That you are afraid of someone else claiming superiority? Oh, go back to school.
Wah, you so highly-educated with a temperature from US. I have nothing from US but a better brain than you. You can't even get into a uni here and think getting a degree from US bigger than Big Mac??? Why earn miserly SGD here and get TAXED by the CPF? Take a taxi to US and earn USD there. We don't need your TAX, do you understand, cry baby?Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:See, you cannot separate fact from fiction. Savings? What has your savings got to do with anything? If by anything, the Government takes your money and invest. You cannot use the money until so and so age. What's the difference between that and a tax then? If you cannot understand, then go to the corner and cry for being too stupid.
What? Donations from the public? I have a university degree from a US university? What do you have? Nothing right? I can go work in the banking sector if I want to and earn 100K USD a fraking year. You can go earn tidbits if you want.
Tell me, my friend, your understanding of annuities.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:It is fixed return (for as long as you live) from your initial outlay - but how much to pay you depends on interest rate.
My challenge to you is this: Instead of reading all the american books, why don't you tell us (just) one simple way to help those with little savings or financial means to live decently without depending on others, after they retire and continue to live well towards their golden years?Originally posted by mitzzkai:Thank you Fingolfin for your kind words. It is indeed rare to find someone in Singapore who actually agrees with my libertarian views on some subjects!
Wah, another degree-holder from US? What is libertarian? Indeed, libertarian is so rare that I cannot even find it in Oxford.
@GoodEarth:
I have written very clearly and unambiguously. Of course, I do not think anyone is going to convert anyone over the forums by throwing soundbites over the fence.
I am not converting you. You are entitled to hold on to your 'libertarian' view as much as I am entitled to be a vegetarian. And like a good green, I don't anything over the fence.
The authors which I have enumerated provide a clear, essay-length refutation of your points, and do so far more cogently than I could using short "forum" sentences. The prose is wonderful and the logic impeccable.
How could the authors of the books you mentioned refute my points? He wrote the books before I refute your wild claims. Why don't you write even more clearly to refute my points instead of thanking Fingolfin and pointing to foreign American authors???
I have already provided the URL. The book is free, why not read a short chapter with an open mind? It can't hurt.
My mind has always been opened. I tried to see where your gripes are but I couldn't see any logic in your statements about annuities and CPF. They were all mistakes!