Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:
I read the rest of your post. While there are good and legitimate points, there are also misconceptions coupled with grudges.
One line seems to stand out from the many threads in this sub-forum: that any ideas, policies, actions of gahmen, are intended to gain more monies out of people at their expense. So compulsory annuity scheme is one way gahmen robs you in order to build another university. This sounds too contrite. By your reasoning, everything can be linked when they are far from being related. So, how was NUS build or SMU built? Annuities?
Annuity schemes are not attractive only if the interest rate is low. Anyone who wants to understand annuity better should go study finance in detail. Reading papers and hearing what people say is only partial, not total understanding.
I will put it to you very simply: do you have any better way to see the needs of those living into golden years? Never mind what the statistics say. Can you say for sure you won't live beyond 80, 90, 100?
Hi,
While I do not have any facts to back up anything cos wat i'm going to write here is solely based on my views ... I have been reading a lot abt Anti-PAP stuff and I even bought a book written by CSJ and so my views can be pretty distorted and biased against PAP..
That being stated clearly, these are my views...
After I graduated and started working, I have been paying more attention to politics and govt policies...
So far, what i have been witnessing is that in the recent years, PAP has been making policies to try to increase the debt of Singaporeans... as well as bashing the opposition...
How do they increase the debt ?? Simple... By letting in FTs freely to suppress the wages of Sporeans and increasing cost of living by GST, HDB housing etc... My personnel view is that they are doing this to bind the ever inceasing effluence and mobile sporeans....
It is really funny on using reasons like "helping the poor" to raise GST... Likewise.... I believe many essential public services should not be privatised becos spore is too small... Services like Transport, Public Utilities, etc... So far, many fare hike has been implemented and these companies has been reporting record profits over the years and consumers cannot do anything because they are basically a monopoly or oligopoly..
As for the opposition bashing... just look that the different treatment opposition gets during the last GE... I do not need to comment further...
PAP also did not answer many of the questions raised by the opposition.... Important questions like the actual cost of building HDB... The actual usage and sum of the CPF pool... etc...
Another crap is that they actually dare to raise minister's salary to $2 Million a year and benchmark themselved to the top 5% of the private sector... Anyone of engineering background knows that these top 5% are outliers and should be ignored in SPC.... Yet another unknown fact is that Ministers are still given hefty pension after they retire and yet commoners need to buy compulsory annutites using our OWN money...
It is also saddening that the sons and daughters of these Ministers or MPs have an elitist mindset... Look at the WEE SUE MENG (I think I spell incorrectly) and LEE HONG YI's case... Some may argue that LHY is a gd whistleblower but I think he is just another spoilt brat thinking that just because his father and grandfather is LEE...He can do such thing...
Anyway, moving on... Look at the recent Durai's employment as CEO of monthly salary of $25,000 ... Doesn't that seems suspicious? Govt has been talking abt the Yellow Ribbon project and yet some ex-convicts are rejected from joining the public sector... and YET... someone whose's integrity is doubtful can still secure another position as CEO in a company with links to GLC...
While PAP has managed to transform Spore from 3rd world economy to 1st world Nation in a mere 40 yrs, and many great policies has been made in the past by the OLD guards, I personally feel that the current leaders has already lost their compassion to lead the people... As living cost soar and wages being suppressed, and FTs being let in to replace the aging population.... I seriously has doubt whether i will retire in my motherland in future...
Many many singaporeans have left our shore to look for greener pasture and to escape this salvery by debts... Some courageous ones stayed on and joined the oppostion.... Many still are apathetic abt the govt policies... For me, I will try to survive in my motherland but as a young Singaporean who has just started working just about a year ago and still have abundant youth and energy to shape my life, i am beginning to question the purpose of continuing to serve and contribute to a country that will eventually forsake u and does not take care of u when u become old ....