Thats why it is unlikely the government would do such a thing. I wouldn't say that compulsory annuity is absolutely necessary though. To add on, i don't think its healthy to have the "don't like it go elsewhere mentality".Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Only 40% of working Singaporeans pay income tax as it is. The top income earners are already shouldering a disproportionate amount of the financial burden for the nation. Raising personal income tax will hit the middle class only. The very wealthy and those with skills that are highly sought after can easily uproot and move to Hong Kong, where the income tax is lower.
Compulsory annuity is absolutely necessary to ensure that those who live into the eighties and have little savings will continue to have a decent lifestyle. The nation's interest is more important than personal rights. If people don't like it here, they are free to go elsewhere.
Go to Norway and they will slap on you up to 60% income tax...and you still think it's your money?![]()
I know of at least 1 NUS professor who came up with a paper addressing the aging population issue without touching the CPF. He was then called in by the CPF board and told not to publish his paper anywhere and also to cancel his interview with NWSJ.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Only 40% of working Singaporeans pay income tax as it is. The top income earners are already shouldering a disproportionate amount of the financial burden for the nation. Raising personal income tax will hit the middle class only. The very wealthy and those with skills that are highly sought after can easily uproot and move to Hong Kong, where the income tax is lower.
Compulsory annuity is absolutely necessary to ensure that those who live into the eighties and have little savings will continue to have a decent lifestyle. The nation's interest is more important than personal rights. If people don't like it here, they are free to go elsewhere.
Go to Norway and they will slap on you up to 60% income tax...and you still think it's your money?![]()
Yup, I think its not the government's stand either.Originally posted by kramnave:To add on, i don't think its healthy to have the "don't like it go elsewhere mentality".
You get to see this sort of "don't like it go elsewhere mentality" in every forum. Without names mentioned, we know who are those who love to use this to tell people off. It is our prerogative to decide to stay or to leave, there is no need to tell us so.Originally posted by kramnave:Thats why it is unlikely the government would do such a thing. I wouldn't say that compulsory annuity is absolutely necessary though. To add on, i don't think its healthy to have the "don't like it go elsewhere mentality".
Frankly, it's a catch-22, and quite a nice idea.Originally posted by reddressman:Every saturday, I and friends go there shopping. So, Is there a law saying on Saturdays, near Ctrpoint, no one is legally allowed to wear anything Black?
Must hair also not be black?
As long as no CSJ stewpidity, I think shoppers can still go to CtrPoint right ? For shopping.
But I am concerned they will think wrongly like misinterprete I go there in support of the call. I am going there to shop only. To support economy. And If on that day, my shirt that is available is black, what can i do?
Hope they dun harrass me and friends lor. Sercarly angmor / china / india tourists dunno and proud proud wear black how?
i so scared leh. I must not say I support or not the wear black campaign. Animals will report to their leaders. I scared , very the scared.
Didn't a Mr Leong Sze Hian also give us an alternative?Originally posted by Jontst78:I know of at least 1 NUS professor who came up with a paper addressing the aging population issue without touching the CPF. He was then called in by the CPF board and told not to publish his paper anywhere and also to cancel his interview with NWSJ.
ru xiang sui shu, ru gang sui wan....if you choose to live here, abide by the rules and regulations of the majority. Once again, the national interest must come before individual rights. If you exercise your prerogative to stay, you follow the dictates of the majority.Originally posted by qlqq9:You get to see this sort of "don't like it go elsewhere mentality" in every forum. Without names mentioned, we know who are those who love to use this to tell people off. It is our prerogative to decide to stay or to leave, there is no need to tell us so.
Why?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Once again, the national interest must come before individual rights.
NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNTOriginally posted by Jontst78:I know of at least 1 NUS professor who came up with a paper addressing the aging population issue without touching the CPF. He was then called in by the CPF board and told not to publish his paper anywhere and also to cancel his interview with NWSJ.
Yeah, quit the EDMW virus wank..please.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT
NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT
NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT NPNT![]()
Why is there a need for lawyers?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:ru xiang sui shu, ru gang sui wan....if you choose to live here, abide by the rules and regulations of the majority. Once again, the national interest must come before individual rights. If you exercise your prerogative to stay, you follow the dictates of the majority.
CPF was a simple forced savings scheme to ensure that workers can have a comfortable retirement. It should have worked if it was left alone.Originally posted by pearlie27:Didn't a Mr Leong Sze Hian also give us an alternative?
<By Leong Sze Hian
Posted by theonlinecitizen on August 29th, 2007
I refer to the article “Flexible, basic and cheap annuity scheme” (Today, Aug 27).
Instead of spending the $750 million a year to pay the additional 1 per cent interest on the first $20,000 of the CPF Ordinary Account, and $40,000 of the Special, Medisave and Retirement accounts, growing these sums at say 5 per cent interest will accumulate to $67.7 billion in 2042 (the first year that the compulsory annuity will start at age 85, for those who are below 50 years old now).
This amount can at 5 per cent interest provide $300 a month from age 85 to 100, for 1.79 million Singaporeans.
By age 100, about 99.9 per cent would have died.
In fact, as many will die as they grow older, beyond age 85, more than 1.79 million people can receive the $300 life annuity. >>
And Mr Leong isn't any tunnel-visioned spin doctor but an authority in finance. His credentials are as follows:
Leong Sze Hian has 5 degrees and 13 professional qualifications. A Wharton Fellow, alumnus of Harvard University and the United Nations University International Leadership Academy, he has served as Honorary Consul of Jamaica, President of the Society of Financial Service Professionals, Representative of the Inter-American Economic Council, Chairman of the Institute of Administrative Management, and founding Advisor to the Financial Planning Association of Indonesia. He has been invited to speak more than 100 times in over 15 countries on 5 continents, authored 3 books and quoted over 700 times in the media.
who are the majority?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:ru xiang sui shu, ru gang sui wan....if you choose to live here, abide by the rules and regulations of the majority. Once again, the national interest must come before individual rights. If you exercise your prerogative to stay, you follow the dictates of the majority.
Let him wank if he wantsOriginally posted by LazerLordz:Yeah, quit the EDMW virus wank..please.
Oh I see, so you are asking people to be lackeys.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:ru xiang sui shu, ru gang sui wan....if you choose to live here, abide by the rules and regulations of the majority. Once again, the national interest must come before individual rights. If you exercise your prerogative to stay, you follow the dictates of the majority.
it is very unlikely that a financial consultant can offer a better alternativeOriginally posted by googoomuck:CPF was a simple forced savings scheme to ensure that workers can have a comfortable retirement. It should have worked if it was left alone.
It was fine-tuned so many times and so mismanaged until it become so flawed that they have to resort to a compulsory annuity scheme save it from becoming a national disaster.
Even a financial consultant can offer a better alternative.
ItÂ’s a shame!
I know about this issue.Originally posted by Jontst78:Let him wank if he wants
I won't prove what I said about the NUS fellow. He has written several papers over the past 2 decades, which are available to the public with regards the CPF and singapore economy. No lightweight on economics. His papers usually subtle not hard hitting at the govt, but apparently his latest work warranted CPF intervention. Search hard enough, you'll probably find out who or narrow it down to a couple.
Then again let him wank again at the above if he enjoys it so much![]()
What national interest are there? That the government needs more money?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:ru xiang sui shu, ru gang sui wan....if you choose to live here, abide by the rules and regulations of the majority. Once again, the national interest must come before individual rights. If you exercise your prerogative to stay, you follow the dictates of the majority.
He is a blind follower of PAP. Don't know to consider him brilliant or stupid.Originally posted by eagle:What national interest are there? That the government needs more money?
Who is the majority. We voted for them for the right to govern, not for the right to touch our money further. From what the PAP is doing, their 66.6% will be further eroded. I just don't like the way they try to explain their actions off. It may be good, but the way they tell us seems like saying: "Singaporeans, you are the peasants and we are the elites. We know what is best for you!"
Why so secretive? CPF is not national security. It is social security. If he can come up with a scheme to look after the old age without touching the CPF, he would be god to so many forumers whinning here, and might even win the next election. If I were him with such a genius scheme, I'll tell opposition hopefuls and wannabes during the next election!Originally posted by Jontst78:Let him wank if he wants
I won't prove what I said about the NUS fellow. He has written several papers over the past 2 decades, which are available to the public with regards the CPF and singapore economy. No lightweight on economics. His papers usually subtle not hard hitting at the govt, but apparently his latest work warranted CPF intervention. Search hard enough, you'll probably find out who or narrow it down to a couple.
Then again let him wank again at the above if he enjoys it so much![]()
Its original aim was a simple saving scheme that you can break the piggy back at age 55. A lot of people look forward to the magic double 55 for big windfall. While everyone is passionate about their own monies and want to touch them before going to the graves, it is a fallacy to think that many are financial-savvy. Forumers here think they can manage their monies better than experts. The truth is farther than they thought.Originally posted by googoomuck:CPF was a simple forced savings scheme to ensure that workers can have a comfortable retirement. It should have worked if it was left alone.
It was fine-tuned so many times and so mismanaged until it become so flawed that they have to resort to a compulsory annuity scheme save it from becoming a national disaster.
Even a financial consultant can offer a better alternative.
ItÂ’s a shame!
55 or sumthing like that was the original master plan.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:Its original aim was a simple saving scheme that you can break the piggy back at age 55. A lot of people look forward to the magic double 55 for big windfall. .....!