a) Job market in Singapore is not stagnating it is growing or else why would singapore government is consider increasing the population to 6m?Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Consider this:
The Singapore job market is stagnanting and the untalented better go and find a good country which is still growing to accept them. Yes, they will be second class citizens but it is better than being second class citizens in their own country.
Agreed . Our contributions for this country are not reciprocated .Originally posted by fishbuff:i am an oracle database administrator and last job was a presales. as i had travelled around singapore and gave numerous presentations, i can see that there is an overwhelming numbers of foreigners as compared to singaporeans, sometime, the latter is non-existent. take credit sussie for example, 100% of their IT staffs are foreigners. so is stanchart and citibank.
when i applied for some new job opportunities, agencies told me that they are looking for people younger than 35. FT bosses will most likely hire their own kind. when i attend meetings with customers/colleagues, 50% the meeting are in hindi.
do i feel like a foreigner in my own country? yes! It is no longer a country that i grew up with and loved. It is getting more and more "foreign" (pardon the pun).
what does my 2.5 years of NS and 16 years of reservist count for? nothing? just a discharge letter that is computer printed.
i looked around my neighbourhood in sg and workplace, almost all are foreigners. where are the singaporeans? very few, im afraid. It is time that i followed my grandparents' footsteps; to migrate to another country for the future of my siblings.
I agree. Foreigners are everywhere now. Much more so than a few years back. Its like everybody I see on the streets, 50% I would say are outsiders. You have got to be really dishonest to say you have not noticed them. And worst of all is that employers prefer hiring PRs due to the fact that they do not have to attend annual reservist. Furthermore, the rising inflation means skyrocketing prices are coming. It might not be much now but just imagine 10 years down the road. Who knows Singapore might still be Singapore then.Originally posted by fishbuff:i am an oracle database administrator and last job was a presales. as i had travelled around singapore and gave numerous presentations, i can see that there is an overwhelming numbers of foreigners as compared to singaporeans, sometime, the latter is non-existent. take credit sussie for example, 100% of their IT staffs are foreigners. so is stanchart and citibank.
when i applied for some new job opportunities, agencies told me that they are looking for people younger than 35. FT bosses will most likely hire their own kind. when i attend meetings with customers/colleagues, 50% the meeting are in hindi.
do i feel like a foreigner in my own country? yes! It is no longer a country that i grew up with and loved. It is getting more and more "foreign" (pardon the pun).
what does my 2.5 years of NS and 16 years of reservist count for? nothing? just a discharge letter that is computer printed.
i looked around my neighbourhood in sg and workplace, almost all are foreigners. where are the singaporeans? very few, im afraid. It is time that i followed my grandparents' footsteps; to migrate to another country for the future of my siblings.
Yup indeed its true....that is is why I agree with another forumer that we should all follow in our forefathers' footsteps and emigrate....Sillypore is just an empty shell...most things associated with our childhood are gone...there is no point staying on here as this little red dot will get what it deserves coming....we all know about Sillypore being arrogant, materialistic, only economically driven, superficial....even our kids have become soft.....I seriously doubt the majority of the local kids' ability to survive, sure there will be tough kids in Sillypore....maybe 20%Originally posted by fishbuff:i am an oracle database administrator and last job was a presales. as i had travelled around singapore and gave numerous presentations, i can see that there is an overwhelming numbers of foreigners as compared to singaporeans, sometime, the latter is non-existent. take credit sussie for example, 100% of their IT staffs are foreigners. so is stanchart and citibank.
I know how you feel......whatever is done is done...no point thinking about it, after all, most of us probably would not be independent enough or had enough freedom to make our own decisions when we were young, we just followed instructions and went through the motions that is so 'uniquely' Sillyporean, pri sch, sec sch, jc/poly, NS, uni, secure job, get married and contribute babies to the little red dot....all the while being risk averse and stay kiasu at the buffet table....Originally posted by fishbuff:i am an oracle database administrator and last job was a presales. as i had travelled around singapore and gave numerous presentations, i can see that there is an overwhelming numbers of foreigners as compared to singaporeans, sometime, the latter is non-existent. take credit sussie for example, 100% of their IT staffs are foreigners. so is stanchart and citibank.
Yup, the simple things like sitting by a lake the size of Sillypore and enjoying the cool breeze is indeed free....sure we have to work hard in our newly adopted countries, but I see many like me truly enjoying the simple pleasures that cannot be found in Sillypore.....Originally posted by Lim Wei Ming:I agree. Foreigners are everywhere now. Much more so than a few years back. Its like everybody I see on the streets, 50% I would say are outsiders. You have got to be really dishonest to say you have not noticed them. And worst of all is that employers prefer hiring PRs due to the fact that they do not have to attend annual reservist. Furthermore, the rising inflation means skyrocketing prices are coming. It might not be much now but just imagine 10 years down the road. Who knows Singapore might still be Singapore then.
Add to that the irreversable effects of global warming and we have one major problem to deal with in the future. Rising temperatures & sea levels, more deseases, a booming nation caused by lowering birth rates and thus higher taxes. Now, all those above doesn't sound ideal. I don't picture myself living in Singapore in the future. I just cannot imagine brining out my son or daughter in such a place! No way that is going to happen! As soon-to-be-parents, we are advised not to be selfish. Bring up your children in a better environment free from the selfish acts of human beings and their so-called modernisation activities! All those benefit no one in the long run! Yes, the rich gets richer but they all forgot one thing. Just like Yin & Yang, there has to be a balance in this world. Once the balance is out, everything falls apart. Which is what is happening now. Remember, sometimes the best things in life really is for free.![]()
Nothing actually....if you remain a PR...Originally posted by Trump_Card:What will happen to our money in CPF if we emigrate ?
yeah but the poor are screwed more hereOriginally posted by dragg:if you are poor you are screwed, where ever you are.
not entirely true....those who are truly poor does get help from the govt just that u have to prove ur thatOriginally posted by Coquitlam:yeah but the poor are screwed more here
They just use this place as a stepping stone.Originally posted by will4:PR in Spore is not interested to become citizen. Take a look at 150000 local in other countries either working or studying. What are the chances of them
coming back?
Yup....actually...to many of us, Sillypore is just a stepping stone....call it a hotel...a place where you train yourself, gain some experience and then move on to a more stable country and have a brighter future.....Originally posted by Lim Wei Ming:They just use this place as a stepping stone.
Read carefully, you grass-feeding herbivore:Originally posted by Gazelle:a) Job market in Singapore is not stagnating it is growing or else why would singapore government is consider increasing the population to 6m?
b) If you are untalented, you will not make it in anywhere you go and furthermore I cant think of a country that will accept immigrant without talent, unless you have $$
c) There will always be rich and poor people in every country and being poor doesnt mean you are 2nd class citizen because you are entitled to same rights, votes, freedom, and laws that govern this country.
glad you finally found out that it is not easy, but you felt the pain?Originally posted by Coquitlam:Yup....actually...to many of us, Sillypore is just a stepping stone....call it a hotel...a place where you train yourself, gain some experience and then move on to a more stable country and have a brighter future.....
Of course not all will treat Sillypore as a hotel....but that's all right....even if 10% of the population moves on and emigrate....its a good signthat's 400,000 persons......wonderful....
Emigration is never easy as many of us have found out but its sure worth the pain...like they say, no pain, no gain....
some more other country can not find singapore food eg. mee rebus, mee soto, mee siam mai hum, char koay teow, laksa, satay, prawn mee, roti prata, bak kut teh, goh hiong, hor fun, nasi briyani, rojak.......Originally posted by kramnave:Best is stay here because of family and friends. The jokes you tell your buddy and your buddy tell you...nobody else outside singpapore can understand...priceless
hello, I don't screw anybody directly or indirectly. May be I started life earlier, being older than some of you, may be my investment policy was right, I bought property instead of stock and shares, ..Originally posted by Daddy!!:the foreigners are paying sodiehard's retirement through rental
so this is wat happens, FT come here and screw some singaporeans out of jobs and some singaporeans screw the FTs by demanding high rentals. some singaporeans go screwed (-), some singaporeans gain (+). So on balance, FT balance out because they screwed some singaporeans and got screwed also by some singaporeans, the singaporeans (+) who collect rental indirectly screw singaporeans (-) who got kicked out by the FT.
which side are you now. The one who got screwed or the one who screw others ?